That won't affect Obama one bit, he gets that other world leaders, republicans and his own democrats much less. leaders have to have thick skin.
Chronixx should stick to music and leave
Hmm, lets see now...
When asked about the state of starving Ethiopians, Bob said "I say great! If you inna the almighty backyard and nah worship him you fe suffa and dead!"
Tosh cussed out both Seaga and Manley directly while on stage at the peace concert.
Are we saying it is acceptable to criticize our leaders but not the bigger Babylon leaders? Unoo can imagine what Tosh would be tweeting if that technology existed in his day?
I don't agree with what Chronnix said and when he chose to say it but the suggestion that he , as a reggae/rasta singer, should stay away from world politics makes no sense to me."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Originally posted by Islandman View PostHmm, lets see now...
When asked about the state of starving Ethiopians, Bob said "I say great! If you inna the almighty backyard and nah worship him you fe suffa and dead!"
Tosh cussed out both Seaga and Manley directly while on stage at the peace concert.
Are we saying it is acceptable to criticize our leaders but not the bigger Babylon leaders? Unoo can imagine what Tosh would be tweeting if that technology existed in his day?
I don't agree with what Chronnix said and when he chose to say it but the suggestion that he , as a reggae/rasta singer, should stay away from world politics makes no sense to me.
artists will say things we wouldn't even know but only because social media is big now. He is trying to express a point but went overboard but as you said many elders are guilty of said thing. We have to enjoy the great songs but sometimes separate the artists.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
For me it a question of Garvey or Obama?
At the tender age of 22,the rasta isn't starstruck as the nation.
What I do not not understand is why the emphasis is placed on pardoning,it has to be that Jamaica intends on pardoning the USA for unjustly criminalizing one of our national heroes.
If Obama indentifies with Jamaica then he can't ignore the cries to right a wrong.
Maybe Chronixx should just have written a song about how he feels about the situation. I think it would have been less offensive if presented that way.
I was somewhat surprised with the way Obama had the nation in a trance. He is a great communicator though, no question about that."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
The lovely Lisa Hanna saw the need to reach out to the rasta,can't understand why she chose to do it publicly.Also,she alluded that it would prudent to recognize he needs the USA to make the most of his career.The Empress is talking to the entertainer and not the rasta,the rasta burns what should be,and NEVER hugs it.
Originally posted by Islandman View PostExactly. I didn't hear anybody telling any rasta artiste to not speak out against the Queen or Any world leader before.
I sorry for him when the masses start find out is nuff of the people him act like him blaze a fire against are the ones who fund him.
I agree with you bout him taking down the post. Either you defend you talk or you say it was a mistake, can't have it both ways.
The backlash took him by surprise for real."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
Chronixx statement was justified,i support his stance , when black leaders bun out Obama one day and kiss his hand the next ,it isnt news ,its seen as a familial quarrell,that does not castigate the blood lines .Many black leaders have railed against him,why not a singer.
Love im and bun im out yes !...its called pressshhha ! free up Garvey.THERE IS ONLY ONE ONANDI LOWE!
"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.