• Everybody ah bawl seh technology is

the way forward for Ja. I see no one even mentioning this:
    http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/busin...-case_18670683

It won't be easy, trust me on that.

Not even Mo or Rudy this time. It's really sad.

Nanny P! das why mi walk wid yuh any day causen say, yuh is ah true leader and warrior. Done talk.

?????

Re: Portia; Supreme Court Judge

Not even Mo or Rudy this time. It's really sad.

Nanny P! das why mi walk wid yuh any day causen say, yuh is ah true leader and warrior. Done talk.
        Thank you for posting this Observer article, as I had completely missed it.

Nevertheless, I’ve thought and thought, but still cannot see the relevance of Portia Simpson’s name and leadership qualities as far as this thread is concerned. The only outstanding lady in this matter is a brave, admirable woman by the name of Audrey Marks.

What also puzzles me is the thinking of judges, with specific reference to the Supreme Court judge in this matter. At least the Court of Appeal judges seemed to have gotten it right (although I’m still at a loss as to that part of the ruling in favor of the software developer).

Mi rah! Mi suppose to comment pon everything?

I'm just happy this ruling did not come posthumously.

More power to her and other entrepreneurs. Fire fi di mega-conglomerates who a steal small people ideas!

(Tilla, we don't have any sponsorship from GraceKennedy, right?)

aaaah den nuh dat yuh fi say. say dem muzzle unnuh cho.

Aaah "there is a balm in Gilead" Well the appeals didn't get it exactly right as they gave a tie. It should have been a zero sum game here it's one win and one loses. Check this: when Facebook was obviously threatened by Instagram what did Facebook do? (Buy it) When Whatsapp threatned Facebook what did Facebook do paid a billion which they could recoup in a year (they plan to add voice to whatsapp) Now Zuckerberg could have easily given the programers of Instagram and whats app some stock options then show up with the same product (under a different name) but that would be the end of Facebook. The judges wouldn't take long to make a decsion.

It seems to me that in Ja breaking the law and bullying is the norm. People falsify documents and just do as they please. To this day Holness cannot see that giving the presigned resignation letter is just plain wrong.

What does the above case say for young kids that are into entreprenuership,computers and programing? Unlike the US where Microsoft, Facebook and others will open their wallets for your porducts, it will be just taken from you in Ja. This case is a land mark case on intellectual property rights for Ja and it doesn't bode well for the upliftment and creativity of the nation.

Still waiting on how Portia come into the argument...

So true, Jawge!

ah "there is a balm in Gilead" Well the appeals didn't get it exactly right as they gave a tie. It should have been a zero sum game here it's one win and one loses. Check this: when Facebook was obviously threatened by Instagram what did Facebook do? (Buy it) When Whatsapp threatned Facebook what did Facebook do paid a billion which they could recoup in a year (they plan to add voice to whatsapp) Now Zuckerberg could have easily given the programers of Instagram and whats app some stock options then show up with the same product (under a different name) but that would be the end of Facebook. The judges wouldn't take long to make a decsion.
                    Very one sided. Why you don't talk about the countless other cases where companies have to close down or folk up millions for using other people intellectual property. Just recently Sony and Apple was at it and Billions of Dollar was at stake. Companies like Lotus has sued Microsoft and gotten bigtime money.

If Grace stole it they did, they could have written or their own software or ask for the rights to use it. This has nothing to do with innovation and shouldn't discourage our innovators instead it should tell them to do their own thing and when they are working with other people copyrighted stuff to seek approval. How would you like some stealing your idea and making millions on it? or you can't compete with them because they stole your software that you purchase and using it free, so they can undercut your price as you have to pay programmers to update and maintain?

We can't build technology by ignoring copyrights but by creating our own copyrights. It is like what the Clarks shoes man downtown and some Chinese doing in Jamaica. It will get us nowhere fast.
                    Last edited by Assasin; April 2, 2015, 09:45 AM.

But its uplifting to Finsac entrepreneurs???

We still reeling from that! Same bully behaviour.

Did FINSAC take the enttreprenuers' businesses and run it at a profit.

Continue to play athe fool and act as if you don't understand the case.

Yes they did. One of function of many of the banks was to take people business plan and run with it. That is part of the reason the banks were owning a lot of stuff, they had no business owning and crushing real businesses with high interest loans etc.

You need to listen to some of the stories.

You are only endorsing my point with Mucrosoft, Lotus exapmle (sony apple too).What do you mean it has nothing to do with innovation? All this robotics (which involves programing) that you guys are promoting to kids, don't you think it will spill over into a start up?

You don't seem to get it. Ja is virgin territory when it comes on to intellectual property rights. The paymaster case is precedence. It will be used as bench mark for future cases (unlike the US where there are so many, paymster would be a open and shut case). This case should not have to be appealed.

Boss the Clarks issue is counterfeit. The case above is about intellectual copyrights.

"(unlike the US where there are so many, paymster would be a open and shut case). This case should not have to be appealed."

This case has been in court for a long time. Many US cases have taken a long time as well. Microsoft vs Lotus had everything to do with innovation. Lotus made it and Microsoft stole it. It took years. EU vs Microsoft took years as well. You have to listen to what both side have to say and go through the system. How long has Apple and Sony been in court, suing and counter suing each other?

Is this the first major software case in Jamaica, because it is not the first branding case. I can remember Burger King vs King Burger.