• A Laptop is soooo 2010

for real!

for real!
    I think it depends on your computing needs. If you only need to run some office software, browse the net and check email, then of course a laptop will be very 2010. If you need a computer for more demanding computing, then even the best of today's tablets may fall short. Call me old fashioned, but a laptop still has its place for me. That said, I like the portability of the tablet for the things I mentioned above.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Tilla,hiw quickly times have changed,it was only the odda day(when I was living in NY)the task at hand was deciding which desktop to buy,niw laptop apparently is facing the same predicament of becoming obsolete.Unnuh need fi tell Apple dat,cause a few days ago I went to one of their stores and was utterly startled by the run away teain price of its Jordan sneakers-like laptops, you pay a hefty price for the latest one this year only for it to be obsolete in a mere three years,with an Apple store clerk(who benefits greatly from employers' duscount) then telling you we do not even sell the charger for those dinosaurs anymore.

Not for me, I use the DVD-RW drive to burn backup copies of movies, backup data on DVDs etc.

I commandeered my first ever laptop late last year.
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I can see where the laptop still has applications. I hardly think a tablet would be appropriate if I was still in working in corporate. ..writing Installation Qualifications, Operation Qualifications and other functions that require special software and detail. It has been over 10 years and I am sure that computing has drastically changed with time in that industry.

I have placed my laptop in pre retirement several months ago. A tablet has been doing most of the work away from the desk. The portability, speed login time are just some advantages.

Its about time you upgraded your equipment.

Lol ol

The tablet is good on the production floor instead of scanners and stuff like time clock etc. It is also good for presentation.

It is however limited and only off wireless communication in most cases. The Windows 8 tablets pretty much run most of the basic software you need.

DVD? Dude...really?

I still have both but use my tablet far more often.

Tablet for consuming content, laptop for producing it and other forms of work that requires advanced software.

DVD...I vaguely remember using those...wha dat again?

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
                          Its about time you upgraded your equipment.

FYI that's the exact model of my new laptop.
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Says a lot about your lap!

LOL! I think them used to put movies on them back in the day.