NJ Student Slams Teacher to the ground

• NJ Student Slams Teacher to the ground

A 62-year-old high school teacher confiscated one of his student’s cell phones during class Thursday — and that 16-year-old wasn’t happy about it.

The freshman charged the teacher and slammed him to the ground. His fellow students were busy either a) filming the event b) watching it all unfold or c) awkwardly exiting the classroom.

video

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
    A 62-year-old high school teacher confiscated one of his student’s cell phones during class Thursday — and that 16-year-old wasn’t happy about it.

The freshman charged the teacher and slammed him to the ground. His fellow students were busy either a) filming the event b) watching it all unfold or c) awkwardly exiting the classroom.

video

... let me guess ... a bad teacher in a failure factory? This is a teacher whose pension and healthcare people want to take away. If he had known, he should have grabbed a newspaper and mind his own flipping business.

I see you are stuck in a prior thread. Lets stay on topic and handle each thread individually. Every reasonable person agrees that the student was in the wrong and should be punished.

Prior thread? It is all the same thing. Bad teachers in failure factories being protected by teachers' union. Now you want to isolate this to shed crocodile tears.

" Every reasonable person agrees "... the same reasonable people who talk bad out teachers, insisting they don't know what they're doing? The same ones who accuse teachers of just being in the classroom to collect a pay check? You ever wonder if this thug had heard those he look up to and those in elected office as well as their mouthpieces talk with respect about our educators, he would think twice about body slamming his teacher?

At least the teacher has his education association, the same union people like you talk bad bout, fighting for this teacher.

NYC to Spend $29M on teachers it can't fire

City will spend $29 million on salaries, benefits of educators it can’t fire

There are 326 teachers and school administrators who have been reassigned from the classroom yet still collecting pay, the Daily News has learned. These educators are accused of abusing kids, breaking rules or being lousy at their jobs — but a controversial firing process makes it hard to terminate bad employees, education officials say.

article

Undemocratic Teacher Unions

In many of the nation’s largest school systems, academic success is secondary to the interests of teachers’ unions, whose political clout exceeds that of the nation’s largest corporations.

In Philadelphia, academic performance lags well behind the average for large cities. In 2013, four of five students were not proficient in reading or math, and district schools reported nearly 2,500 violent incidents. The situation is so dire that one-third of Philadelphia’s students have fled to public charter schools, while tens of thousands more children sit on waiting lists.

article

----
          Lazie, do you believe there are NO bad teachers in the system, and the unions unwillingness to purge these losers out of education is not our fundamental issue affecting student achievement?

City will spend $29 million on salaries, benefits of educators it can’t fire

There are 326 teachers and school administrators who have been reassigned from the classroom yet still collecting pay, the Daily News has learned. These educators are accused of abusing kids, breaking rules or being lousy at their jobs — but a controversial firing process makes it hard to terminate bad employees, education officials say.

article

Undemocratic Teacher Unions

In many of the nation’s largest school systems, academic success is secondary to the interests of teachers’ unions, whose political clout exceeds that of the nation’s largest corporations.

In Philadelphia, academic performance lags well behind the average for large cities. In 2013, four of five students were not proficient in reading or math, and district schools reported nearly 2,500 violent incidents. The situation is so dire that one-third of Philadelphia’s students have fled to public charter schools, while tens of thousands more children sit on waiting lists.

article

----
            Lazie, do you believe there are NO bad teachers in the system, and the unions unwillingness to purge these losers out of education is not our fundamental issue affecting student achievement?

You all love to talk bout bad teachers. Listening to you and those that have a thing for teachers, I would have already concluded that there are only bad teachers and failure factories in the system. Fortunately, I know better.

When fat bastard cut various programs .... hundreds of teachers lost their jobs including both husband and wife. I guess these are the LOSERS the unions fight to keep their jobs. Mi curious what teacher duh unuh?

You wasting you time. Lazie is incapable of understanding that the public school system is hopelessly outdated and archaic, something that without major reform no amount of public funding can fix.

Thank God for charter schools. Not all will be successful but at least they allow for new ideas and approaches to education. I support more of them.
              Last edited by Islandman; March 30, 2015, 08:34 PM.

One of my education heroes...

http://www.ted.com/talks/geoffrey_ca...ugh_is_enough#

You wasting you time. Lazie is incapable of understanding that the public school system is hopelessly outdated and archaic, something that without major reform no amount of public funding can fix.

Thank God for charter schools. Not all will be successful but at least they allow for new ideas and approaches to education. I support more of them.
                  ... and traditional schools are not open to new ideas and approaches? Do you make this stuff up or are you trying to make a case for charter schools?

Report: Charter School Vulnerabilities to Waste, Fraud & Abuse

Release: “A new report released today reveals that fraudulent charter operators in 15 states are responsible for losing, misusing or wasting over $100 million in taxpayer money.”

Summary: “Charter School Vulnerabilities to Waste, Fraud And Abuse,” authored by the Center for Popular Democracy and Integrity in Education, echoes a warning from the U.S. Department of Education’s Office of the Inspector General. The report draws upon news reports, criminal complaints and more to detail how, in just 15 of the 42 states that have charter schools, charter operators have used school funds illegally to buy personal luxuries for themselves, support their other businesses, and more. The report also includes recommendations for policymakers on how they can address the problem of rampant fraud, waste and abuse in the charter school industry. Both organizations recommend pausing charter expansion until these problems are addressed.

http://integrityineducation.org/charter-fraud/

You're welcome.

Put unions and politicians together to run a system and backwardness is almost guaranteed. Thats all I have to say on that topic.

That's the first mistake, unions do not run the system, they fight to protect the rights of teachers. Get unuh facts right nuh? Must admit the misconceptions are certainly entertaining.

Lazie, I have good memories of my teachers in Ja.
                          However, I am a realist and I am not in denial in
                          regard to the shitty education provided in the
                          innercity. Unions continue to be self-serving & are
                          the biggest impediment to success in the hood.
                          How can we get rid of the bad apples?

Lazie, I have good memories of my teachers in Ja.
                            However, I am a realist and I am not in denial in
                            regard to the shitty education provided in the
                            innercity. Unions continue to be self-serving & are
                            the biggest impediment to success in the hood.
                            How can we get rid of the bad apples?
                            You keep on blaming unions ..... are you aware unions do not spend school district monies? Unions do not spend millions on new content only to scrap it in 2 months because administration and elected officials changed their minds. You speak of shitty education? Isn't it the same shitty education system that produced a Barrack Obama, the charter school hero Islandman mentioned, a Loretta Lynch etc? If teachers in inner cities are not given the resources to use in the classroom, what do you want? For them to turn water into wine? Again ... talk to a teacher and stop listening to politicians.

Correct, they don't run the system, they play a major role in screwing up the system.