....Reported From The Belly of The Beast
Unnu cyaan pay mi fi dem quality reporting yunuh. Count unnuself lucky
US Black Caucus helped Jamaica obtain IMF agreement - PM
Wednesday, March 25, 2015 | 1:34 PM
Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller
KINGSTON, Jamaica - Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller admitted yesterday that the support of the United States’ Congressional Black Caucus convinced the International Monetary Fund (IMF) to sign an agreement with Jamaica in May, 2013.
“I express the appreciation of the Government and people of Jamaica to the members of the US Congressional Black Caucus, who spoke up on behalf of Jamaica,” Simpson Miller told the House of Representatives as she made her contribution to the 2015/16 Budget Debate
RUM BAR SCOOP
October 29, 2014
Unnu cyaan pay mi fi dem quality reporting yunuh. Count unnuself lucky
US Black Caucus helped Jamaica obtain IMF agreement - PM
Wednesday, March 25, 2015 | 1:34 PM
Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller
KINGSTON, Jamaica - Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller admitted yesterday that the support of the United States’ Congressional Black Caucus convinced the International Monetary Fund (IMF) to sign an agreement with Jamaica in May, 2013.
“I express the appreciation of the Government and people of Jamaica to the members of the US Congressional Black Caucus, who spoke up on behalf of Jamaica,” Simpson Miller told the House of Representatives as she made her contribution to the 2015/16 Budget Debate
RUM BAR SCOOP
October 29, 2014
The benefits of having a Strong Lady in the Halls of Babylon
So D1 travels to Harlem's Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture (i.e. Miggle Passage Studies ) to penni Petah's presentation on the JA economy. Standing room ongly inna di auditorium
A late arriving Congresswoman Yvette Clarke, a Brooklyn Democrat grabs the mike after Petah... saying she had 1 message for the crowd...and I paraphrase:
YC: In 2012 I received a request from (un-named Termite) requesting help with the IMF. It seems Jamaica could not get a deal from the IMF on good terms. I decided I could not face my Mom if our homeland Jamaica fell over the Fiscal Cliff. So I gathered a few of my good friends and went to see IMF head Christine Lagarde at their HQ. With me were Reps. Barbara Walters, Charlie Rangel and a few others from the Congressional Black Caucus
We spent some time with Christine and only left when we got assurances from her that she would address our concerns re Jamaica. We let her know that we would be watching closely and reminded her that IMF funding from Congress passed thru committees we sat on
A few weeks later an IMF agreement was announced...giving Jamaica the lifeline it needed... and I could finally go home and face Mom
The Lesson: Lorna Golding was correct .. there's an anti-JLP plot a foreign It seems the JLP could benefit from a few Democrat friends.
YC: In 2012 I received a request from (un-named Termite) requesting help with the IMF. It seems Jamaica could not get a deal from the IMF on good terms. I decided I could not face my Mom if our homeland Jamaica fell over the Fiscal Cliff. So I gathered a few of my good friends and went to see IMF head Christine Lagarde at their HQ. With me were Reps. Barbara Walters, Charlie Rangel and a few others from the Congressional Black Caucus
We spent some time with Christine and only left when we got assurances from her that she would address our concerns re Jamaica. We let her know that we would be watching closely and reminded her that IMF funding from Congress passed thru committees we sat on
A few weeks later an IMF agreement was announced...giving Jamaica the lifeline it needed... and I could finally go home and face Mom
The Lesson: Lorna Golding was correct .. there's an anti-JLP plot a foreign It seems the JLP could benefit from a few Democrat friends.