Lazie, my friend, in case you don’t realize it, the vast majority of these recent dancehall musical outpourings have become predictable and utterly tiresome! In the past, I made several posts about the problem of producers without any musical background emerging in the industry as creators of rhythms (and even worse, songs) on their computers. Now we see that they are running out of ideas.
Check out what has been going on in the soca world in recent years! In case you have not realized it, the recordings of soca stars like Machel Montano, Destra Garcia, Kerwin Dubois (check out his monster Caribbean hit, “Too Real”), and others comprise the stuff that is slowly emerging as THE Caribbean music force!
I am not trying to start any silly “soca vs. dancehall music” debate, but we need to wake up and smell the freaking roses! Dancehall has become a spent force outside of Jamaica, and for reasons which I could elaborate on, but won’t at this time.
Lazie, my friend, in case you don’t realize it, the vast majority of these recent dancehall musical outpourings have become predictable and utterly tiresome! In the past, I made several posts about the problem of producers without any musical background emerging in the industry as creators of rhythms (and even worse, songs) on their computers. Now we see that they are running out of ideas.
Check out what has been going on in the soca world in recent years! In case you have not realized it, the recordings of soca stars like Machel Montano, Destra Garcia, Kerwin Dubois (check out his monster Caribbean hit, “Too Real”), and others comprise the stuff that is slowly emerging as THE Caribbean music force!
I am not trying to start any silly “soca vs. dancehall music” debate, but we need to wake up and smell the freaking roses! Dancehall has become a spent force outside of Jamaica, and for reasons which I could elaborate on, but won’t at this time.
That's the beauty of the world we live in. Some like coffee, some like milo. I appreciate it. I do agree that a lot of crap is being produced and I do agree that the DJs are too eager to play the crap.
Regarding soca, I think I may be the biggest soca fan on this forum. I was called a mad man at a party recently when I stated that soca is putting out better stuff than dancehall and I said that "in a real life".
That's the beauty of the world we live in. Some like coffee, some like milo. I appreciate it. I do agree that a lot of crap is being produced and I do agree that the DJs are too eager to play the crap.
Regarding soca, I think I may be the biggest soca fan on this forum. I was called a mad man at a party recently when I stated that soca is putting out better stuff than dancehall and I said that "in a real life".
Like what? Dat Hooligan song?!? Talk about predictable and boring!
Please tell me which soca song out there can be considered quality? I know I like a few, one or two, but I also respect some of the dancehall out there.
Like what? Dat Hooligan song?!? Talk about predictable and boring!
Please tell me which soca song out there can be considered quality? I know I like a few, one or two, but I also respect some of the dancehall out there.
Mosiah, the fact that an artiste that is behind bars since when .... (2009? ) ... is still relevant in dancehall in 2015 is a clear indication about what is out there. Same man just have an album debut at #3 on the billboard charts. The hottest name in dancehall right now is a poppyshow artiste called gully bop? Isn't that a enough proof that there is a problem with dancehall?
Naming a soca song would not help as you've indicated it is not your cup of tea.
Boring riddim that lacks creativity. Well, that's the standard music coming out of Jamaica these days that is flopping worldwide. Lazie, why don't you buy a copy of it on Itunes, if you think the music is wonderful?
Hold on ... do you have an appreciation for My Day by Taurus Riley or Mi Alright by Chronixx and Kabaka? Isn't the rhythm the same concept? Are you turning up your nose at this one because he doesn't have name recognition? Or are you one of those that wait for it to get airplay before you can appreciate it?
Lazie, forget what the masses are listening to. There is good dancehall and reggae music out there. It's not all about Gaza (Vybz) and Gully (Bop).
Send come call mi Lazie when the soca themes have moved away from wine yuh bumpa, bruk out and behavin' bad. Even Kartel have more variety than that. Remember Clarks, with the double entendre? How clever was that?
The best soca chune in years is Wi Ready by Bunji Garlin. Every 5 years or so something good comes out of T&T. Then there was the classic by non Trini, Alison Hinds, Roll it Gal.
Lazie, forget what the masses are listening to. There is good dancehall and reggae music out there. It's not all about Gaza (Vybz) and Gully (Bop).
Send come call mi Lazie when the soca themes have moved away from wine yuh bumpa, bruk out and behavin' bad. Even Kartel have more variety than that. Remember Clarks, with the double entendre? How clever was that?
The best soca chune in years is Wi Ready by Bunji Garlin. Every 5 years or so something good comes out of T&T. Then there was the classic by non Trini, Alison Hinds, Roll it Gal.
So, try leave mi music alone!
Every 5 years? Too early to be drunk bredren!
Okay ... it's your choice. If you rather be vacuous ... it's your call.
Bwoy yuh can't just talk plain English. Me haffi a search Google everytime me a read yuh post Karl. Anyway, I agree with you. 20 -25 years ago we were all jumping up to Admiral "Bailey's Love me two year old", Ninja Man's "Border Clash", Shabba Ranks', "Love Punanny Bad" and many more foolishness. Soca music haven't changed their theme in what.....a 100 years?
Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015
Bwoy yuh can't just talk plain English. Me haffi a search Google everytime me a read yuh post Karl. Anyway, I agree with you. 20 -25 years ago we were all jumping up to Admiral "Bailey's Love me two year old", Ninja Man's "Border Clash", Shabba Ranks', "Love Punanny Bad" and many more foolishness. Soca music haven't changed their theme in what.....a 100 years?
... and dem still sound better than what dancehall putting out now. At least we brag how Gully Bop fly out.