More reasons to hang on to defunct education models..

The best argument I have seen from you in a very long time.

The idea (key operative) is good.
    easy nuh Big Man

In the words of a pal of mineā€¦

Mi 'ear yuh pawdie.

LoL

Message well received.

easy Big Man

Willi's contribution can be incorporated too. The thing with Willi's idea (and I'm not being political) is that it's not new. Joshua tried the same thing in the 70s via crash program. The crash program was essentially to give the unskilled some form of work. We now know this goes all the way back to Roosevelt and the new deal. Hey, there is no problem in borrowing someone's idea and make it work for yourself.

There is a harsh truth about this region (with Ja included) but I will leave it for another thread.

No it is not the same. The so-called crash program , in theory, was about giving unskilled people work which required only unskilled labor. In practice of course, it was about paying people to do mostly nothing.

Willi is talking about teaching people a permanent skill which can potentially be upgraded over time and put them in a place to earn their own way. It is much closer to what the HEART program is supposed to be about than the so-called crash program of the 70s.

The crash program as the name suggests, and similar programs, are not supposed to be permanent things, they are stop gap govt programs to prevent riots, etc it times of high unemployment. Only a part of the New Deal was about this kind of relief work. The New Deal was much more than that.

Iman didn't Joshua have other things going on? When Joshua came in Ja had a 55% illiteracy rate. Could Joshua implement Willi's plan when one in two of the population was illiterate? Joshua had Jamal, he had job training program, he had farming the list is too long here. It's clear that Joshua was taking pages from Roosevelt book (which had roots in Pre WWII Germany). Structually, the above mentioned are the same with some variances here and there.

Look at the thing objectively boss and not in a partisan manner.

Boss, you were talking about the crash program, no? Now you gone onto JAMAL and farming.

Everybody has jobs program, even Portia. I am talking about successes. We have not been successful in upgrading our labor force and skill level.

The HEART Academies work. They keep the students in where they train them not only in the field but how to be professionals. They bring in industry people.

Runaway Bay pretty much sustain itself with the hotel and is now providing Associate Degrees. Portmore construction academy provide a lot a trained people. Stony Hill was one of the first place in Jamaica to provide really structured computer classes. I remember visting Mrs Stimpson(the former principal) and she showed me her vision with her the computer dept. Pity she passed.

What i am not sure about is the other training where students are placed solely in businesses to learn.

HEART is the logical vehicle to do what Willi is suggesting.

Okay now you are on something different. The success. Joshua's crash program turned out not very successful because of varied reasons.

Willi and D1's idea can also be unsuccessful. Yes?

Of course they can! That doesn't mean they are not workable ideas, but implementation is key and often the most difficult part to accomplish.

My primary point is that there is a difference between government created temporary work, which at times may be necessary to maintain social order, and a program created to upgrade skills for the long term.

Even with a good skills program though, Jamaica needs to give its young people a solid secondary education. The reason is that in this age the skills which are needed today become obsolete fairly rapidly. Hence we need people who are trainABLE and can learn new things fairly quickly! It is near impossible to do that with a significant portion of your labor force unable to read, write and speak fluently.

yep.. It is.