• 5 Quotes from the master: LKY

Real talk!
    -------------------------------------------
    Lee Kuan Yew, the founding prime minister of Singapore who died early Monday, was the master of the pithy quote, peppering his speeches and books with sharp insights and, sometimes, withering put-downs.

Here is a selection:

http://blogs.wsj.com/briefly/2015/03...-lee-kuan-yew/

i have long called for a benevolent dictator someon who has jamaica's best interest at heart.

btw i have never before seen that view of the downtown kingston, what angle was that taken from?

i have long called for a benevolent dictator someon who has jamaica's best interest at heart.

btw i have never before seen that view of the downtown kingston, what angle was that taken from?
      Mi si Pegasus inna di background doh

Sigh....must be from Tivarli or Jungle....our version of public housing.

Meanwhile.....

The majority of the residential housing developments in Singapore are publicly governed and developed. As of 2013, 81.9% of the resident population live in such accommodation.

Public housing in Singapore is generally not considered as a sign of poverty or lower standards of living, as compared to public housing in other countries. Although they are cheaper than privately built homes in Singapore, they are also built in a variety of quality and finishes to cater to middle and upper middle income groups.

How benevolent was LKY though?

Could Jamaica have put up with someone like him? We tried the One Don ting ourselves, with disastrous results.

we usually get what we deserve.... PLUS ... how benevolent was he?

One thing he realize early, he was in a part of the world where he had to be strong. Without his strength, where would his nation be today?

Well, a friend of mine had this to say:

without detracting from mr lee's awesome achievements in any way, while not accepting his approach.

had mr lee not had china's help, in return for signapore serving as a model for what china would later become, it is doubtful that signapore would have succeded as it did.

what was the price in child abuse, human trafficking and other social ills that are so elaborately covered up in 'developed' societies' and which is a part of jamaican history and current reality?

as jamaican history has shown, we have already been through the 'one don' period of development and it has not helped, to make an understatement.

kudos to mr lee and singapore for submitting to one donmanship...
                after all, these people have no memory or experience of slavery as we do in jamaica

the 'one don' style of government of signapore is just another form of political gangsterism, familiar to us in jamaica and as our experience has shown, is all about money.

here, despite all our problems we have:
                • multi party elections
                • a free-ish press ( b/c of ownership partisan issues)
                • a free-ish society
                • and we dont have police beating adults with sticks (they shoot them instead or they go to church to get stropped)...
                • but jamaicans can assert their rights in a way that not many countries in the world can contemplate...

money is not all... being human is.

LKY or a Jamaican clone of him could not have governed in Jamaica the same way that he did in Singapore. I think that much is clear.

However COUNTLESS autocrats in modern history have governed with far worse results than he had. His success cannot be attributed primarily
                  to that.

Whatever his faults were, the man was clearly a visionary.

What price did they pay in child abuse? Huh? What price are we continuing to pay in child abuse to this day for our failures?

Money is not all, being human is.
                  Sounds profound but is mostly meaningless in practice. I am yet to know of a poor society or community that is treated with the respect they deserve as humans.

Question for your friend, what going to work for us? and don't tell me status quo. I don't know if it will take dictator, One Don, Manley or whoever, I just know it is going to take strong and skill leader who can influence and educate the massive like never before.

You think Singapore was a easy discipline society before him? You have to start somewhere.

No water, no electricity, child abuse (we are killing our children) poor economy. I recall when that American yute was to be caned for writing graffiti....look at ours.

Btw when did it become of choice between being human and being able to live I humane conditions? Why can't we have both?

yuh call dem man deh friend ?

mi woulda walk wide..

yuh call dem man deh friend ?

mi woulda walk wide..

LOL Had to laff!

As mi friend one said to me, "you can't lic yu pickney but police a shoot them" so pick your poison if you rather the state cane them or shoot them.

Editorial: Lee Kuan Yew And The Budget Debate

When Prime Minister Portia Simpson Miller speaks in the Budget Debate today, she will, hopefully, keep at the back of her mind Lee Kuan Yew, the architect of modern Singapore, who died on Sunday, aged 91, and to whom she will likely pay tribute during her introductory remarks.

The timing of Mr Lee's death should provide the PM, and Jamaica, with a reference to what might have been, what may still be possible, and the raison d'Ítre for maintaining the economic course upon which her Government is embarked. In that regard, she will, hopefully, resist any temptation to populist wavering he might have entertained.
                              http://www.jamaicagleaner.com/articl...-budget-debate