• I just don't like the black kids

Vice principal who said, 'I just don't like the black kids,' put on leave

The 18-second video shows Joe DiFilippo, who’s been working at Scandinavian Middle School for nearly five years, leaning against a pole outside the cafeteria next to a student.

video
    http://www.latimes.com/local/lanow/l...319-story.html

------------
    When will black people take their schools back from these "educators" and the teachers' unions?

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
    Vice principal who said, 'I just don't like the black kids,' put on leave

The 18-second video shows Joe DiFilippo, who’s been working at Scandinavian Middle School for nearly five years, leaning against a pole outside the cafeteria next to a student.

video
    http://www.latimes.com/local/lanow/l...319-story.html

------------
    When will black people take their schools back from these "educators" and the teachers' unions?
    Hortical, I am curious, what does the teachers' union have to do with this? Before you put your foot any further in your mouth, understand that administrators are not members of the teachers' union.

Lazie, the largest impediment to the success of kids in the hood are the teachers' unions. In most cities you can't fire incompetent teachers with tenure.

The point you are attempting to make has nothing to do with the original post. Largest impediment, so what about the idiots elected who think they have the solution for the problems in education and only make things worse? ; No let's just constantly attack the underpaid teachers who dip into their own pocket to provide supplies for the kids in the hood whose parents don't give a fornication. The same teachers who bring kids stuff home to wash, who dig through to find clothes to give these kids. When you leave work that's it. Teachers at home marking paper preparing lessons figuring out how to reach a student not getting the lesson. You all listen to these politicians how about talking to a teacher ?

You're off the wall here

By far the biggest problem is poor parenting/broken homes in our communities

Failure is largely on us...and for us to fix

This is the same old tired defense we keep hearing for the ludicrous policy of giving teachers tenure after a few years service.

NOBODY has a problem with good and dedicated teachers, most people want more of them and for them to be paid better than they are. However a number of bad teachers exist, the damage they do to children can be significant and THEY SHOULD NOT BE PROTECTED!

The problems in public education are much more than bad teachers protected by tenure, many of them are on the side of the governments that run them, but that backward policy is a one reason public education reform is so difficult to achieve.

This is the same old tired defense we keep hearing for the ludicrous policy of giving teachers tenure after a few years service.

NOBODY has a problem with good and dedicated teachers, most people want more of them and for them to be paid better than they are. However a number of bad teachers exist, the damage they do to children can be significant and THEY SHOULD NOT BE PROTECTED!

The problems in public education are much more than bad teachers protected by tenure, many of them are on the side of the governments that run them, but that backward policy is a one reason public education reform is so difficult to achieve.
              Ladies and gentlemen, in comes Islandman, the man that ridiculously used the line, "....these failure factories pretending to be schools."

Really bredren, if they are failure factories how you going to all of a sudden get good and dedicated teachers in mix? Those elected officials that people like you, Sass and Hortical are so eager to support come up with some retarded policies that have driven "good and dedicated" teachers out of the classroom, so don't bother with the crocodile tears now.

How can the content being used in an elementary classroom be changed for 3 consecutive years? At one point the change took place in the middle of the year. Yet the policy makers and their supporters .... like you, have a problem with the teachers when the students fail to keep up with the constant change? What do you all expect? For them to make blood out of stone? My daughter had to do her common core exams earlier this month and during her practice there was content she had never seen before, we had to work with her to understand? Oh wait, does that mean her teacher is a bad teacher? Does that mean her school is .... using your words, "a failure factory pretending to be a school"

What is this? Because one idiot politician talk bull you all gonna take it up? Again .... TALK TO A TEACHER. In your job and mine, we don't have the ridiculous expectations that teachers have to meet .... then again, how many of us love the profession that much that we would put up with bull crap from politicians, administrators, parents who think they know more than teachers .... and students who aren't afraid to beat the crap out of their teachers .... knowing the teacher cannot touch them?

As for your tenure argument, if as you claim there are good and dedicated teachers, shouldn't they have the security of tenure? If there are good and dedicated teachers, shouldn't there be a union to fight on their behalf as they stuck in a classroom educating a set of people who once they've made it .... are quick to turn around and cuss them?

Sigh...Lazie, none of what you have said justifies giving tenure to someone who has served very few years in the classroom. It is a retarded policy that could only survive in a failing system. Getting rid of the policy by itself will not fix the system but it most certainly should be an issue on the table in any serious reform of public education.

There are some good teachers at bad schools. Always has been. Failure factories are that way for reasons bigger than just bad teachers, although bad teachers will feel more comfortable in failure factories. Similarly there are bad and mediocre teachers in good schools,but they will often feel less comfortable there.

I have spoken to and had discussions with various teachers including principals, sir, in both public schools and charter schools. I don't know any of the good ones that like policies which prevent bad teachers from being fired.