To me this is less about her inability to be articulate and more about the attitude about public officials taking responsibility.
Sad situation.
Exactly!I couldn't care how she sound, it's her action plan that concerns me. First, she looks like she has no clue about the gravity of the situation. Does she need Deika Morrison, bachelor and master of all things environmental from the ivy leagues of Penn and Harvard, to give her a briefing?
I know with the smallest fires from Riverton, my car windows are wound up tightly. The fumes seem toxic, this coming from someone who never wrote an environmental paper in his life! I can't imagine what the entire corporate area is going thru at this time. Yet Portia seems so casual about it. Suppose it was something that was more evidently debilitating, like a trailer transporting chlorine had overturned and exploded on Beeston Street. A suh she woulda gwaan like wi talking about bad roads in her constituency? In fact, I'm not sure if a chlorine gas crisis worse than a Riverton one because Lord knows we have no idea what kind of fumes people have inhaled over the last few days. Not even Deika know, so you know it must bad!
I would like to think Portia 30 years ago would have been more effective, at least in her community, than the speaky spokey one on this video.
Portia has been a colossal failure as prime minister. I know classy Obama will tek time wid har.
It has been revealed that there are major financial irregularities at the state run National Solid Waste Management Authority.
Chairman of the Board, Steve Ashley says they are now faced with a mammoth task of rectifying the problems which includes mismanagement of funds and poor accounting practices.
In an interview with RJR News Friday morning, Mr. Ashley says the Board is now in the process of advertising for auditors to come in to examine the books and bring the accounts up to date.
He has laid the blame for the financial state of the entity at the feet of embattled Executive Director, Jennifer Edwards.
“Life is a system of half-truths and lies, opportunistic, convenient evasion.” - Langston Hughes
Okay this is my response to Iman, Gamma, Mo, Sass and Shola.
I'm yet to hear you guys say anything about the reporter insistence on repeating his question even when the PM gave him answers in terms of governance. In so many words she was saying my decision has to be measured and not hasty (based on the position I hold). Obviously Mr. reproter didn't want to hear that, he wanted to hear that Ms.Edwards should be fired immidiately. My question to the reporter. Would the termination resolve the cause of the fire and ensure that it won't happen the following year? No. Now where does that leaves us? Now you do see the weight of leadership and making a call.
I can understand many wanting to see hasty decisions being made (seeing that's the norm these days on the other side). What I hate is the hypocrisy and bigotry. What if Nanny P had violated Ja's constitution by giving pre signed letters to her senators only to have it overturned when she hastily made a decision to terminate the senators' positions? If Nanny P appealed it , you would hear how dunce she is and that her comprehension skills are very low (lawd have mercy look what Ja come to). Imagine those who are versed in the constitution says her action is wrong yet she still appealing, dis woman have sense or what? Instead sillence, nothing it's okay for Prince Andrew to go ahead and make a fool of himself.
Now back to the Riverton fire. Was the fire lit by Ms Edwards? (This would be the only reason for an immediate termination) No. Okay so let the fact finding mission begin and then a decision can be made.
At this point I dont care if she speaks in broken Mandarin, if she shows she is on top of the issues. It seems like she is spending time in Pygmalian classes instead of attending to affairs of STATE.
Jawge stop talk foolishness. These questions are asked of leaders everyday and when last you see a democratic leader behave that way??
There is no excuse for that behavior and it seems like everytime a report ask Portia a question off the cuss it is the same treatment. How the hell can a prime minister asking "if Edwards light the fire"?
Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
I believe that what is bothering Portia is that she knows that the fires were deliberately set. What she should have said is that I don't want Jennifer fired until I know for sure that the fires were not set in order to force her out.