Ethiopia grows economy by limiting foreign ownership

• Ethiopia grows economy by limiting foreign ownership

It seems as if the state is playing a major part in this process...very interesting.

You won't find these stories in Babylon newspapers

-------------------------------------------
    At first glance, Ethiopia would seem like a tough place for business owners to make it big.
    The strength of the state stands in contrast to the fledgling private sector, where foreign competition is barred in key industries and big sectors are entrusted to state-owned companies.

But a curious statistic surfaced in December 2013, when New World Wealth, a research and consulting firm based in South Africa, reported that the number of US-dollar millionaires in Ethiopia rose by 108% between 2007 and 2013 – faster than in any other country on the African continent.
    http://www.theafricareport.com/East-...ires-club.html

Good post, will read later.

This is the kind of story I want to read. Thanks for your post sir.

What a novel idea:

"From the government side, policy is always changing because they support us, especially exporters," says Ali.
        "They discuss things with us, and then they change immediately. They call us all the time."
        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

This is an alien concept to most Third, Second and First World governments:

"In this government, at the top levels, there is no corruption. That's rare. In other African countries like Kenya or Uganda, you'll find corruption at the top. But here the government has a strategic plan, and that's important."

Read the original article on Theafricareport.com : Ethiopia: The Addis millionaire's club | East & Horn Africa
          Follow us: @theafricareport on Twitter | theafricareport on Facebook
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

The corruption Index in Ethiopia is low,landlocked country growing because of chinese and intercontinental expansion.I believe they did 10 % growth over 10 years, mostly in construction and telecommunications.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Oiiee Sah, me notice how yuh a avoid the football forum like some ebola virus dash whey over deh.

It seems as if the state is playing a major part in this process...very interesting.

You won't find these stories in Babylon newspapers

-------------------------------------------

http://www.theafricareport.com/East-...ires-club.html
                LOL

Oiiee Sah, me notice how yuh a avoid the football forum like some ebola virus dash whey over deh.
                  LOL

Interesting story.

However it's somewhat shallow for my tastes. I really dislike when in describing an economy there's an overemphasis on stats like # of millionaires, skyscrapers and multinational brands operating there

My preference goes to info on growth in real incomes, HDI trends, education availability, health outcomes, new indigenous industries, amt of local value add in production, upskilling of the labor force, indigenous tech capability or absorption level of foreign tech etc.. Basically the things that impact everyday life & real development

No doubt some of those indices have improved significantly.... but the article doesn't shine any light there
                    Last edited by Don1; March 19, 2015, 11:41 AM.

Dis bredda a stalk mi ?....phone nuh stop ring off, Paul say mi ave goat mouth , suh mi caaan talk., till after di match .No phone naah ansa, put it like dis, i wish ........lol

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.