• Underdevelopment Fills St Thomas With Gloom

Published:Friday | February 27, 2015

Nearly 150 years after the historic Morant Bay Rebellion, there are concerns that a feeling of hopelessness has taken root among residents in the eastern parish of St Thomas.

Lorian Peart-Roberts, parish manager for the St Thomas branch of the Social Development Commission (SDC), believes this feeling of gloom is being fuelled by the underdevelopment of the parish and decades of neglect by successive administrations.

http://www.jamaicagleaner.com/articl...t-thomas-gloom

Maybe its time for a repeat?

Trust me, a nuh only St. Thomas but all of the Eastern parishes. Every now and then Port Antonio have a little hope only to die. St.Mary from Port Maria to Junction and Portland, nothing nah gwaan.

Sad situation. Every time I visit Morant Bay and pass the old Goodyear factory tears come to my eyes. That plant was the foundation of so much enterprise in the parish. No more, and nothing even close to a replacement.

I remember when cane sugar use to run South East St.Mary and part of St. Thomas and they use to compete in Cricket and football against each other. I know Grays Inn use to be the life line of South East St.Mary and some a West Portland, along with Blue Mountain Coffee/coconut and Banana. It is sad for me to pass a town like Annotto Bay and Port Maria. Buff Bay is only a little better because you have a lot of educated people there and community oriented people.

January 27th, 2008, 05:42 PM
            J
            "The horse races and lotto games pale in comparison to casinos regarding people giving away their money. You will lose all of your pay cheque on the latter, not so with regard to Lotto or horse races."

Rockman, that argument about "poor" Jamaicans losing/gambling their hard earned pay has been branded for years. Truthfully, that is a very ridiculous argument. Think about it, how many Jamaicans are really going to be walking into a casino to gamble away their money? Are you saying that Jamaicans are all stupid enough not to know the risks involved? All the arguments put forward against the "formal" introduction of casino is not enough to counter the greater impact that it will have on the economy. All the other Caribbean destinations that already have casinos continue to watch and hope that we continue with this silly debate about the good and the bad of casino gambling. They continue to rake in the money at our expense. Jamaica is already a brand name in world tourism. Imagine if we add casino to our brand.

I have said it before on this forum that I think that not only should the Jamaican government introduce casinos, but at the same time they should legalise ganja and prostitution. I believe they should create a Red-Light district in one of our poorer parishes - say St. Thomas, Portland or St. Mary, but it should be strictly monitored and regulated with an iron fist.
            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

January 29th, 2008, 07:22 AM

Quote:
              Originally Posted by Assasin View Post
              dem nuh see we not even have stop lights? Mi nuh know what red light him a talk bout.

Unuh stay deh. Me just read inna de Observer seh Vaz a put aerodrome inna Portland. There goes your tranquility. But seriously though, we have to look on these proposals from a business angle. We don't have to re-invent the wheel everytime. Other countries have a Red-light district that works. Let's study them to see why. I see St. Thomas as being an ideal location to construct large hotels ala Atlantic City/Jersey Shores. All we need is about 3 - 4 of those very large hotels. The economic and physical benefits to St. Thomas and adjoining parishes will be inevitable.

I noticed you guys didn't oppose my other proposal of legalising ganja.....hmmmm!
              Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

I see St. Thomas as being an ideal location to construct large hotels ala Atlantic City/Jersey Shores. All we need is about 3 - 4 of those very large hotels.
                Not sure that is what we need in those parishes.

St. Thomas is ideal for exactly that type of development because of its close proximity to the Norman Manley International Airport.

Islandman, I was hoping you would not post this kind of story about Jamaicas' underdevelopment .

It hurts me to the core when i see and read about the myriads of missed opportunities for development.

Lots of Jamaicans [I find] are very EGO driven. They know everything! Lack of education leads to discipline. Indiscipline is also fund rampant in the political leadership too.

I think I have been to St. Thomas 2 or 3 times. I had family living in St Thomas. My early memories is of the Goodyear factory and another factory that made cordage type bags.

Underdevelopment is widespread in Jamaica.

H.L is right we need to hide from our uncomfortable truths and hope they go away,instead highlight our odd success stories, or institutionally corrupted ones.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

...'oping you found the sarcasm in my first sentence--as i found in your post.

BTW: Jamaica gane clear with weed....

Yes sir , your sarcasm .....ahhh sah ...yuh need practice , the ganja ting,i hope you are advocating a standard board(system) for quality,those that produce bush weed,need to be sanctioned, we have a special organic niche market that must be protected, i expect you wall street ganja advocates to push for it .

The X standard.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.