... today is the anniversary of the birth

• ... today is the anniversary of the birth

of Jamaica's first Prime Minister ...William Alexander Clarke Bustamante.

I guess happy anniversary is the appropriate response.

Such a pity that he like Norman Manley, Michael Manley & Eddie Siago et al, were not real forward thinking Jamaican visionaries.

I was not old enough to remember BustaMante. But I recall hearing my Father repeating one of Busta's many quotes: "education can't nyam.......".

As I stated above; happy anniversary is still appropriate.

HL, did Bustamante himself actually say that?

There is much about Jamaican oral history that I find myself questioning recently. We Jamaicans generally don't need much evidence to claim we "know as a fac'!"

This quote from PJ Patterson does come close to pointing the finger directly at Busta.

http://m.jamaicaobserver.com/mobile/...erson_13887704

"It happened before the 1959 campaign, when I was then in the field, and I will never forget that in some constituencies the Opposition was saying 'down with scholarships, give us sugarship'.
      "It was taken to the extreme by some who were saying 'education cyaan nyam, salt fish can. I am deliberately not attributing that to any political person, but it existed. The People's National Party has always stood for, and has never compromised equality of opportunity," stated Patterson, retired member of parliament for Westmoreland East.

Thanks for the heads-up on this piece I'man.

I guess over the years...repeating the quote--has made it stuck to Busta.

Appreciate your usual level-headedness on this and other topics.

Busta speaking at a rally:

"Vote fi me and me will put bread pon yuh table!" The crowd goes wild.

"Unuh hear me? Vote fi me and me will put B-R-E-D pon unuh table!"

Busta's aide whispers in his ear. "Boss, yuh lef out the 'a'"

Busta shouts to the crowd, "Vote fi me and me will put B-R-E-D-A pon unuh table!"
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

LOL!!!!!

you hear the one that when JDF have one helicopter, sombody tell him Cuba a go invade and him say "Let he come, we will blow them out of skies".

my favourite is

busta was seen in the airport and asked where was going to which he responded "san jewan, puerto rico." the person corrected hin and said "no busta, in san juan the "j' is silent so it is pronounced "san wan".

"ok" says busta. the person went on ask, "so when are you coming back?"

"oh, late yune or early yuly" said busta.

PJ ah eediat ...mi cyan tek nutten dat seh pon practice

Oh lawd...

You ever saw this clip from Family Feud .

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Tcy614ogms

Oh lawd...

You ever saw this clip from Family Feud .

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3Tcy614ogms
                    sham wow!!!

rumour has it that he concocted the stroy that haile selassie gave michael manley a "rod of correction" when it was actually given to him by either kenyatta or nyrere...

well you can always provide evidence to the contrary.. simple..

rumour has it that he concocted the stroy that haile selassie gave michael manley a "rod of correction" when it was actually given to him by either kenyatta or nyrere...
                          I've heard that