Sad what happened to our Haitian cousins...

• Sad what happened to our Haitian cousins...

• Haiti cancels last day of carnival after 16 deaths in float accident

PORT-AU-PRINCE, Feb 17 (Reuters) - At least 16 people were killed and 78 injured early on Tuesday when a singer on a Carnival float hit an overhead power line in Port-au-Prince, setting off a stampede by bystanders, officials said.

The tragedy in Haiti's capital prompted the government to cancel the last day of Carnival - the raucous celebrations preceding the start of Lent - and to declare three days of national mourning.

Amateur video of the 2:48 a.m. (0748 GMT) accident posted on YouTube showed a large flash as the high-voltage power line caught a popular singer known as Fantom atop the float as it passed near the presidential stand, which was packed with spectators.

Most of the victims were trampled to death in the ensuing panic after the singer struck the power cable, witnesses said.

Fantom, part of the hip-hop band Barikad Crew, was among the injured and was in stable but serious condition in a hospital, according to one of his friends.

Prime Minister Evans Paul held a news conference to announce the cancellation of Carnival and three days of mourning.

"We are telling the people of Haiti that we must be in solidarity," said Paul, who was accompanied by government ministers, artists and first lady Sophia Martelly.

"We are all Haiti."

Very sad indeed; out having a good time and "brap"! Trouble tek yuh!
    What is sadder is that these "accidents" are preventable, but in these parts we get complacent about safety measures... Anyway, my condolences to the bereaved...