Lazie, what yuh think about fingerprint ID cards?

• Lazie, what yuh think about fingerprint ID cards?

Fingerprint ID card, death penalty central to JLP's anti-crime plan
    Garfield Myers, Editor-at-Large South/Central Bureau
    Saturday, June 09, 2007

Jamaica Labour Party leader Bruce Golding (second right) speaks to a supporter during a tour of Duncans Pen in South Central St Catherine yesterday. At right is Devon McDaniel, the party's caretaker for the constituency. (Photo: Karl McLarty) Mandeville, Manchester - A compulsory national registration system incorporating a swipe card with fingerprint data for every Jamaican and the resumption of the death penalty will be central to the Jamaica Labour Party's (JLP's) anti-crime plan should they form the next Government, Opposition Leader Bruce Golding said Thursday night.
    Addressing thousands of supporters at Grey Ground, just outside Mandeville in Manchester, Golding said his party would utilise modern technology to the fullest extent to deal with crime, which is routinely identified by Jamaicans as the biggest problem afflicting their country.
    "I want to get to a stage where the police, if they are looking for somebody and somebody come up that (could be the one), they must be able to determine in a split second who that person is," said the opposition leader.
    Golding, who occasionally in the past has been opposed to or at least ambivalent on the death penalty despite a strong pro-hanging stance by party spokesman on crime Derrick Smith, insisted that a government run by him would "reinstitute the death penalty and we make no apology about it".
    Though capital punishment remains the ultimate penalty for murder on the Jamaican law books, there have been no court-sanctioned hangings in Jamaica since the late 1980s.
    On Thursday night, Golding blamed the People's National Party (PNP) governments of the last 18 years for being tardy in the issuing of death warrants, which he suggested had invariably led to the commuting of death sentences after five years on death row for condemned men.
    Under a ruling by the Privy Council - Jamaica's highest court - in 1993, condemned men who have been on death row for five years automatically escape the hangman's noose.
    Golding said ridding the police force of corrupt individuals and social intervention to provide training and economic opportunities for young people in depressed communities would also be important planks in the drive against criminals.
    Reigniting a decades-old debate about a compulsory national registration and fingerprinting system which, like the death penalty, has triggered unease and opposition among human rights advocates, Golding recalled that in the 1970s he was part of a parliamentary group that advocated such a system.
    "I was a member of the committee that worked on it along with Keble Munn (PNP)," said Golding. ". a national registration system where we going to require everybody to have a national ID card. I am not talking 'bout voting card now, but a national ID card. From you reach 14 you have to have one. We are going to assign a unique number to everybody from the day they born. And when you reach 14 you are going to have to have that national ID card, you are going to be required to carry it with you, and if you don't have it with you, we still going to be able to test you because we going tek yu fingerprint. And it is going to enable us to put on a kind of surveillance system where if you are a gunman and you driving along the road and the police stop you, they will require your ID card . and they go into the police car and swipe in the machine . once they swipe that ID card and once they tek your finger and push it on a thing, within a matter of a few seconds, it must say 'yes, this is the man wanted for 'bout six murder'," Golding told the large, enthusiastic crowd.
    Elaborating on what he said was the Government's role in the failure to implement the death penalty, Golding said: "The murderer goes to court, they find him guilty. They sentence him to death. But the Government has to advise the governor-general to issue the death warrant, for until you issue the warrant nothing can begin. They don't issue the death warrant and sometimes when . they get to the stage when they issue the death warrant, by that time four years have elapsed and the man start to make his appeal. Before you know what happen, five years pass and the appeal still don't come through and you can't hang him again, because the Privy Council says everything must be done in five years."
    Golding said strong action was needed to combat violent crime, which accounted for 414 murders in the JLP's last "full year" of political power in 1988 but had worsened to the point where there were close to "four times" that number annually.

The first time I heard of it, was sometime last year when some dude from Mobay asked for it and I saw nothing wrong with it. Why? In this country they have your fingerprint on file.

Today, I'm against it. Worse with how some of the JCF members cannot be trusted. The police need to improve their method of investigating.

Regarding hanging! As everybody know .. I was all for it. I heard the IJJ interviewed a man that was convicted for murder during a robbery and is when his Appeal reached the LAw Lords it was discovered that there was a video tape of the scene. The man was innocent all along. The PNP's incompetence did some good in this man's case, because if hanging was in ... the innocent man may have been executed.

Suh .. based on this fingerprint thingy and the hanging, mi nuh agree with the JLP on this.

It seems like the JLp a tun the communist party will the PNP has become the Liberal Party of Jamaica.

There is hope for you. Not often do you critically analyse their actions and come up with some intelligent view of your own. And I say that with all due respect, Lazie!

Mosiah, I've vote PNP and JLP how many round here do that? Lazie keep it real bredren. There are other issues to which I disagree with the JLP

Totally agree with unno bredrin.

Mi part company with Bruce pon dis one...way out of line.

You know, if we had a half decent police force, I would support Bruce on this. But we are far from that.

Maybe we are going to have to deny our citizens of some rights to rein in this crime monster. But there are so many things that we could do before we resort to those drastic methods.

The death penalty thing is just Bruce trying to get votes. He will not do one thing about it when he is PM.

Now I am confused; wasn't the JLP the
                ones parliament opposing the finger printing of criminal offenders?( saying it's not an exact science) Now they are going to use it to ID the whole nation. Ahhh well; I can nw see Audley using all of Omar's policy and yada yading the people.

Stop the partisanship G. Yuh can do betta dan dat. You have to use your intellect to critique ANY policty proposed and now come from a pre-conceived notion.

Dont you see that in some ways the JLP is now the NDM and the PNP is a Seaga Labourite alliance with manley Comrades? This is one way of looking at it. PJ comradeship is out in the cold. The hangers on are there for poilitical expediency.

In summary, thinking people will NOT agree with every policy of either party. Feel free to bash both as appropriate.

No sah, if USA want fingerprints and such for their sham war on terror, mek dem pay for it. That Trini/Guyanese story is fishy to me. Good thing they nuh try draw us in it, as we know Jakans not doing no work without a payoff. LoL

Any such ID scheme opens us up for manipulation. Big countries with hi-tech will just steal the info and our private business will jsut be manipuleatd for all kinds of wrongs. Dont forget recently de-classified info on Operation Northwoods showed that US Admiral Lemnitzer suggested doing some street bombings in Kingston or P.O.Spain in early 1962 and blaming Cuban operatives. This would force the UK into the conflict as we were still colonies then. When I read that it sent chills down the spine. I recall posting the link at the old RBoyz site. Talk about putting cockroach in fowl fight!

Lucky for us Kennedy vetoed this.

No sah, there are better ways to solve our issue rather than succumbing to this Hegelian dialectic! Neither the police, civil servants nor the politicians can yet be trusted with our data. Too much endemic corruption. Last point, how would this be practically done, given our large diaspora??? Di man dem cant even deal with the passport issue efficiently!

Stop the partisanship G. Yuh can do betta dan dat. You have to use your intellect to critique ANY policty proposed and now come from a pre-conceived notion.

Dont you see that in some ways the JLP is now the NDM and the PNP is a Seaga Labourite alliance with manley Comrades? This is one way of looking at it. PJ comradeship is out in the cold. The hangers on are there for poilitical expediency.

In summary, thinking people will NOT agree with every policy of either party. Feel free to bash both as appropriate.
                      Willi a Jawge yuh a talk tuh! Worse yuh say something bout "thinking people." Why yuh must insult Jawge?

How the man a insult the Eternal Learner?

Jawge ah mi bredrin.

Would never insult him. Argue, yes, but him cool in my books. Karl too.

Willi yuh done know say mi
                            did call out the JLP on that (remember my post about the JLP morphing in NDM?) the alliance you mention won't be bad thing in the long term, Ja can finally concentrate on building itself as a nation. Instead of us wasting our minds on violence , we can finally use our minds to take our place in the info age. Boss this should have been done a long time ago. Time to beat our weapons into ploughshares. It sad that it took a woman to unite Ja though. The JLP in time should be reined in by the people so that JA can truly have a two party system.

Which woman unite Jamaica? Unuh nuh bitch when Dr. Gomes stand up fi poor people?