The Ballad of 65 - The story of the Morant Bay Rebellion

• The Ballad of 65 - The story of the Morant Bay Rebellion

As a child going to school in St Thomas you HAD to know this poem. It was performed in almost every school during Heroes Week. It still has an impact on me when I read it or watch it performed well.

I wish more was known about Bogle. I heard that his family got a hard time in the parish after the Brits crushed the rebellion and destroyed Stony Gut .

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Ballad of Sixty-Five
    by Alma Norman

The roads are rocky and the hills are steep,
    The macca scratches and the gully's deep.
    The town is far, news travels slow.
    And the mountain men have far to go.
    Bogle took his cutlass at Stony Gut
    And looked at the small heap of food he'd got
    And he shook his head, and his thoughts were sad,
    You can wuk like a mule but de crop still bad.

Bogle got his men and he led them down
    Over the hills to Spanish Town,
    They chopped their way and they made a track
    To the Governor's house. But he sent them back.

As they trudged back home to Stony Gut
    Paul's spirit sank with each bush he cut,
    For the thought of the hungry St Thomas men
    Who were waiting for the message he'd bring to them.

They couldn't believe that he would fail
    And their anger rose when they heard his tale.
    Then they told Paul Bogle of Morant Bay
    And the poor man fined there yesterday.

Then Bogle thundered, This thing is wrong!
    They think we weak, but we hill men strong.
    Rouse up yourself. We'll march all night
    To the Vestry house, and we'll claim our right!

The Monday morning was tropic clear
    As the men from Stony Gut drew near,
    Clenching their sticks in their farmer's hand
    To claim their rights in their native land.

Oh many mourned and many were dead
    That day when the vestry flames rose red.
    There was chopping and shooting and when it done
    Paul Bogle and the men knew they had to run.

They ran for the bush were they hoped to hide
    But the soldiers poured in from Kingston side.
    They took their prisoners to Morant Bay
    Where they hanged them high in the early day.

Paul Bogle died but his spirit talks
    Anywhere in Jamaica that freedom walks
    Where brave men gather and courage thrills
    As it did in those days in St Thomas hills.
    Last edited by Islandman; February 11, 2015, 04:46 PM.

96 degrees in the shade

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E0kmVKfN-0o

Seeit deh.... wikid chune... wikid group

Mi tink wi agguh honor dem dis year

http://www.branchcollective.org/?ps_...oversy-1865-70

Very nice, thanks I man.
        Check this website for some excellent detail on the Morant Bay rebellion, I think the Jamaican government should issue a never ending warrant for the arrest of Eyre for the murder of five hundred souls and the false trial and execution/murder of Bogle and Gordon.let Eyre's name truly live in official infamy in Jamaica forever.

Very good reading!

Yes I agree with you on Eyre. While I knew he was recalled I wasn't aware that there was such a sustained movement to have him convicted for murder in Britain. That rebellion and its aftermath must really have had an impact on colonial governance all over the British Empire.

Hey question for you Islandman. Did you know that Simon Taylor was buried somewhere out at Lyssons. Just in case you have not heard of him, he was the wealthiest man in jamaica for donkey's years and the largest slave owner on the island as well as you can imagine. I have heard that he is buried on the lyssons old property and was interested in knowing where exactly. Since you are from the area I wondered if you knew or heard about this. Btw I have seen somewhere that many years ago in the early 20th century that people found out about this and tried to dig up the grave thinking there was money there, I heard they were disappointed.

I used to spend a lot of time out at the Lyssons old windmill tower as a youth and don't remember seeing anything there, but in the back of my mind I think I remember old graves close to the road by the Princess Margaret Hospital???? It has been a while so don't know if brain getting old on the memory.

Unfortunately I don't have any knowledge about this one Stoni, but I will ask my Lyssons peeps and see if they do.

Cool, thanks, look forward to see what you hear.