• Understanding Education

Deconstructing Education Chronicles CCCX111

So D1 has noticed many ites yappin in a vacuum about education. The fact of interest in the subject is great
    Unfortunately much of the yappin is uninformed and superficial....and lacking a factual or data-driven framework

There is a lot of chatter about flawed "ranking of schools" when indeed the education system itself is a rank failure. Consequently the conclusions drawn from the flawed and inadequate information which informs the yappin ...are misdirected or downright FALSE.

Fortunately D1 is here to provide an appropriate framework for more intelligent discussion on this, my #1 concern...education

Let's begin in the middle... the secondary school system and the critical transition from the primary level

The following data are from the latest MOE report (2013) on GSAT outcomes
    For those most interested go to Page 145

GSAT EXAM PROFILE - OVERALL MEDIOCRITY BUT AN ABSOLUTE CRISIS WITH BOYS

A. ~43K students sat GSAT IN 2013
    ~ 20 K Boys and ~23 K Girls ...

So ~15% MORE Girls than Boys even sat GSAT!

B. Girls OUTSCORE boys in ALL subjects (except some fluff subject called Communication Arts where they're equal):

...The differences range from ~7% in Science to a whopping 20+% in Language Arts!

C. The overall scoring scoring for Girls is MEDIOCRE and POOR for boys

D. Stats indicate the GSAT cohort with very good to acceptable results..which show good prep for HS work:

~20 of the Girls (~4500) and ~16% of the Boys (~3200)...

If this is correct... Almost 50% MORE Girls are properly prepared for HS work than Boys!

E. Boys' schools have a MUCH SMALLER pool of quality 1st formers to attract as opposed to Girls' and Co-Ed schools. This issue is particularly acute for large boys' schools with ~2K students...

The 1st form intake of large boys' schools is 250+ ... or 8% - 10% of the ENTIRE cohort of academically acceptable boys!

E. Clearly unless the basic & primary systems are fixed... Most High Schools will continue to be remediation centers managing social problems moreso than preparing kids for a modern economy. This is particularly true for BOYS!

FLIGHT TO QUALITY ISSUES

It's a well known fact that the biggest influence on HS academic performance is the quality of intake. There is a fierce battle among schools for the best quality GSAT performers since this is such a big factor in success. So called traditional schools manage the "intake academic quality" issue in various ways....a few:

A. Establish a fee-paying Prep School as a feeder to increase chances of a quality intake.

B. Admit girls who are generally higher performers than boys

C. Boarding on campus for large fees...

D. Spend substantially on the best teachers, enrichment programs and best infrastructure available to them to create an appealing environment for parents and kids

E. Remain small or moderately sized

The schools most successful at this "quality intake game" practice most if not all of these above... then compete for a colonial era "good school" title as if they exist in the 1960s.

Most of the nation's schools do not have the resources to compete at this elitist game and are permanently excluded from the "good school club".
    The above is why it is RIDICULOUS for the unthinking to state that poor performing schools should just buckle down and "be like" the higher performing traditional schools This is a structural IMPOSSIBILITY!

Considering all the yappin about this education subject, virtually none of the yappers know the real issues nor realize this education model is broken and CANNOT MOVE JAMAICA FORWARD

Time unnu get real wid THE REAL ISSUES and support an agenda of comprehensive REFORM
    Last edited by Don1; February 6, 2015, 05:42 PM.

U fall in the same trap.

Clearly from what you present the pre-HS and perhaps even more precisely the basic schools are the problems…in addition to a tiny pool of quality teachers. Why do we even talk about HS?? What gone bad a mawning cant fix ah evening.

We sat on our asses and milked the vestiges of colonial time and did crap all for ourselves and now dem retired and dead/dying off (teachers/civil servants/technicians, etc), we left to box schitt outta hog mouth and suck salt outta hog mouth.

Manny Chin still a laff after wi!!!! Serve dem right fi boo Manny Chin.
    Last edited by Willi; February 6, 2015, 08:58 PM.

U fall in the same trap.

Clearly from what you present the pre-HS and perhaps even the more precisely the basic schools are the problems…in addition to a tiny pool of quality teachers. Why do we even talk about HS?? What gone bad a mawning cant fix ah evening.

We sat on our asses and milked the vestiges of colonial time and did crap all for ourselves and now dem retired and dead/dying off (teachers/civil servants/technicians, etc), we left to box schitt outta hog mouth and suck salt outta hog mouth.

Manny Chin still a laff after wi!!!! Serve dem right fi boo Manny Chin.
      Not sure from this what trap I fell in....considering the brilliant analysis I presented. I clearly stated that we're going nowhere til the Basic & Primary systems function well

Unnu need fi start pay mi fi dem kinda works mi perform

The trap of discussing HS at all.

The relative position will not change in a hurry.

I suspect if the stats are broken down more specifically,it might just reveal one or two of those failing schools boasting leading passes in a particular subject,if so then that has everything to do with the teacher of that subject.
          Don1,sorry I have no data..,but then none is needed for hypothetical argument.

Good passes maybe, leading? Unlikely.

Look,in some subjects(accounting etc),high schoolers first contact is fourth form,and it has nothing to do with lessons learnt in junior forms,ergo,it is possible for the best teacher to have the best results with any given batch..

The trap of discussing HS at all.

The relative position will not change in a hurry.
                LOL.... suh mi nuh fi talk bout HS???

Is dat level mi know inside out since mi ah deal wid supporting it fi 2 decades

Mi start di analysis wid deconstructing the abominable GSAT results out of the Primary system

GSAT EXAM PROFILE - OVERALL MEDIOCRITY BUT AN ABSOLUTE CRISIS WITH BOYS

A. ~43K students sat GSAT IN 2013
                ~ 20 K Boys and ~23 K Girls ...

So ~15% MORE Girls than Boys even sat GSAT!

B. Girls OUTSCORE boys in ALL subjects (except some fluff subject called Communication Arts where they're equal):

...The differences range from ~7% in Science to a whopping 20+% in Language Arts!

C. The overall scoring scoring for Girls is MEDIOCRE and POOR for boys

D. Stats indicate the GSAT cohort with very good to acceptable results..which show good prep for HS work:

~20 of the Girls (~4500) and ~16% of the Boys (~3200)...

If this is correct... Almost 50% MORE Girls are properly prepared for HS work than Boys!

E. Boys' schools have a MUCH SMALLER pool of quality 1st formers to attract as opposed to Girls' and Co-Ed schools. This issue is particularly acute for large boys' schools with ~2K students...

The 1st form intake of large boys' schools is 250+ ... or 8% - 10% of the ENTIRE cohort of academically acceptable boys!

E. Clearly unless the basic & primary systems are fixed... Most High Schools will continue to be remediation centers managing social problems moreso than preparing kids for a modern economy. This is particularly true for BOYS!

Mi nuh know wich odda Rum Bar yuh agguh find dem kinda quality analysis dere

Still and all,I find one thing a bit disturbing.

Why is JC so low ranked? JC does D and used to do C, and does C for teachers now. I can accept that they are indeed getting better with the Raby Danvers sourced funds, but I still think its low.

No bad mind here (as fun an games aside, we need ALL the trad schools to be doing the best they can in our shatty state) but if you compare to StGC and Wolmers, they are quite a distance behind. I can tell you that Jawges has many challenges and is located downtown, which is a lot more challenging than Hope Road. If I recall the transformation tables that showed the differential between entering and exiting cohort scores, StGC did very well there too, among the best IIRC. No sure I understand why. Maybe more consistent alumni attention over the years?

Analysis paralysis?

Basic math and Language skills needed for excelling in Acoounting.

Maybe ART, music, and Industrial arts are the only subjects where I could see people excelling with a foundation in the 3 Rs.

Primary school math and english will suffice in Accounting me boss.

Analysis paralysis?
                          LOL... Nope

After incisive analysis wi... develop winning plans, inform & energize critical stakeholders, gather required resources....then execute

Wi nuh inna di yappin in a vacuum ting

But as D1 seh, de chances of a non-trad getting properly founded pre-skools is slim to none!

You are the MoE whose job it is to dweet?

Dat is the problem right were.
                              It left up to alumni well wishers to carry the heavy load, so small incremental rather than revolutionary change.