Booker T's soft Message to Babylon Slave Masters

Well to be fair to WEB DuBois he was a fierce critic of that speech and the suggestions made by Washington in it.

I always found it interesting that Garvey had little good to say about DuBois , but always spoke of the influence of Washingtons Up From Slavery on him. I guess he identified with more of Washingtons overall approach to lifting up the race even though like DuBois he must have dismissed his idea of submission.
    Garvey appreciated the good in Booker T's philosophy but ultimately rejected his genuflection to the White power structure. He was also beholden to Booker T for helping him settle in the States..

As to DuBois apart from their philosophical differences it seems some of the animosity had to do with class prejudice and the fact that Garvey was dark and also an immigrant. We see those same issues even in the 21st century

I got that impression as well. He was a part of the intellectual black elite of that era, what would later be called "The Black Bourgeoisie" .
      Last edited by Islandman; February 6, 2015, 08:05 AM.

Thank yuh ...yuh seeit......Hi ....H.L,its littered through his writings, being an assest to the white race.Bookers' brightest spot was his advocacy for black education,nothing else in my book.It is the foundation of the burgeoise era in black america,to the point of self hate,but in truth the mental scars of slavery bore his philosophy out, we see it today in the bleaching phenom, the speech phenom.

The educational pursuit i respect ,i believe Garvey too, being an assest to the master,was never in Garveys card.Being an assest to self and nation trumped that.Rasta say man is man.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Nuff man gwaan like radics live inna white house, drive the most expensive car, have the most luxury and a big socalites. Unnu just chat.

Sorry to tell you all but the influence I have had on black youths I have met and help and give a word of encourage speaks for itself, I will not debate these things and I continue to do my best.

Take away the keyboard and nuff man contribution done.

Yes Booker , educate dem to be an assest to the massta...Di yutes dem need yuh programming.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

In the best of us, there are dark areas...and in the worse of us, there are great lights!

Just like you are??? what is the difference, Living in Babylon, holding down a Babylon Job, an using the freedom to do what you choose.

All I can tell you, you have no clue "asset to master".

=Assasin;508205]Nuff man gwaan like radics live inna white house, drive the most expensive car, have the most luxury and a big socalites. Unnu just chat.
                  Who is this...Obama??

Aren't you a supporter???

Sorry to tell you all but the influence I have had on black youths I have met and help and give a word of encourage speaks for itself, I will not debate these things and I continue to do my best.
                  That's super!!!

This is EXACTLY the reason you're a credit to your race!

Take away the keyboard and nuff man contribution done
                  Leave the music issue for another time pls

I hold nothing against Booker T , I see his misguided goal to rise up the African as a necessary misstep,why ? We had to learn that higher education and loving master before self ,a slave or free ,doesnt get you equality.Martin Luthar King touched upon it in his birmingham letter,those negroes comfortable with a system because of higher education and class to the point where he accused them of making a profit off the system at the african expense(civil rights ).That was the legacy of Booker T up to the civil rights movement,King railed against them,they railed against him as a trouble maker.

Whats changed today ,where its still, class,education and money ,in the African race.The difference today is most now agree ,its not about being an assest to master,they have advanced to self(neo-liberal consumerism),which is just as dangerous, the ideal step is the cause for the race.

I would like to see your 1 bedroom apt without much consumer goods.

It is very easy to judge people who you may have relate to once or twice and place them in a group. You need to look at yourself before you judge others and but them in such catergory especially when you have no idea the work they do or don't. Not because everyone don't post as emotionally as you and some of your friends.

Selah on that topic.
                      Last edited by Assasin; February 6, 2015, 10:50 AM.

It was not,it was blatant subserveancey ,he thought achieving higher education would let africans be indespensible to his master,all about serving at a higher level,not self or race but the master.

Some man nuh get it , a reel off Tuskeege,read Kings birmingham letter.

brown man?

garvey say back to africa, sellasie tell him di whole world a fi wi