• Booker T's soft Message to Babylon Slave Masters

This is what some call "soft selling". No wonder we're so fcuked up

"To those of the white race who look to the incoming of those of foreign birth and strange tongue and habits for the prosperity of the South, were I permitted I would repeat what I say to my own race,“Cast down your bucket where you are.” Cast it down among the eight millions of Negroes whose habits you know, whose fidelity and love you have tested in days when to have proved treacherous meant the ruin of your firesides.

Cast down your bucket among these people who have, without strikes and labour wars, tilled your fields, cleared your forests, builded your railroads and cities, and brought forth treasures from the bowels of the earth, and helped make possible this magnificent representation of the progress of the South.

While doing this, you can be sure in the future, as in the past, that you and your families will be surrounded by the most patient, faithful, law-abiding, and unresentful people that the world has seen.

As we have proved our loyalty to you in the past, in nursing your children, watching by the sick-bed of your mothers and fathers, and often following them with tear-dimmed eyes to their graves, so in the future, in our humble way, we shall stand by you with a devotion that no foreigner can approach, ready to lay down our lives, if need be, in defense of yours, interlacing our industrial, commercial, civil, and religious life with yours in a way that shall make the interests of both races one."

LOL. The Atlanta Compromise or perhaps more accurately, the Atlanta Submission.

Me rate Booker T same way though. For a man born into slavery and totally self-educated he has some impressive accomplishments.

This speech is not one of them

Certain man can understand that, Hi H.L,Sass & Lazie, being an assest to the race..lol

Human progress never rolls in on wheels of inevitability; it comes through the tireless efforts of men willing to be co workers with God, and without this hard work, time itself becomes an ally of the forces of social stagnation. We must use time creatively, in the knowledge that the time is always ripe to do right. Now is the time to make real the promise of democracy and transform our pending national elegy into a creative psalm of brotherhood. Now is the time to lift our national policy from the quicksand of racial injustice to the solid rock of human dignity.

You speak of our activity in Birmingham as extreme. At first I was rather disappointed that fellow clergymen would see my nonviolent efforts as those of an extremist. I began thinking about the fact that I stand in the middle of two opposing forces in the Negro community. One is a force of complacency, made up in part of Negroes who, as a result of long years of oppression, are so drained of self respect and a sense of "somebodiness" that they have adjusted to segregation; and in part of a few middle-class Negroes who, because of a degree of academic and economic security and because in some ways they profit by segregation, have become insensitive to the problems of the masses. The other force is one of bitterness and hatred, and it comes perilously close to advocating violence. It is expressed in the various black nationalist groups that are springing up across the nation, the largest and best known being Elijah Muhammad's Muslim movement. Nourished by the Negro's frustration over the continued existence of racial discrimination, this movement is made up of people who have lost faith in America, who have absolutely repudiated Christianity, and who have concluded that the white man is an incorrigible "devil."

I have tried to stand between these two forces, saying that we need emulate neither the "do nothingism" of the complacent nor the hatred and despair of the black nationalist.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Me rate Booker T same way though. For a man born into slavery and totally self-educated he has some impressive accomplishments.

http://www.bing.com/videos/search?q=...C1019BC84F0D60

I largely agree. He has to be seen in the context of the time and being born a slave. His personal achievements are indeed impressive.

However to the extent that his quisling-like outlook shaped our strategic, post slavery approaches to Babylon.... much of his legacy of leadership is suspect or even negative.

His approach is echoed in that of the NAACP's integration model. That model has brought us to the desperate and ridiculously weak position in America we suffer today

30 years after this sellout speech ...Garvey's Black Nationalist "do for yourself" model was rejected. We've been led & ruined by Quislings ever since. The few notable exceptions like MLK are speedily eliminated by Babylon elements
          Last edited by Don1; February 5, 2015, 05:35 PM.

Certain man can understand that, Hi H.L,Sass & Lazie, being an assest to the race..lol

Yep they are indeed a credit to their race

Leave mi outa unnu argument.

Suh wait...credit nuh positive??????????? All when yuh ah get praise yuh bex

Did you know that garvey met with Grand wizard of the KKK and spoke at one of their conferences? Research and understand why the Debuoise et al were opposing Garvey. You keep trying to pass off your opinions as facts.

Well to be fair to WEB DuBois he was a fierce critic of that speech and the suggestions made by Washington in it.

I always found it interesting that Garvey had little good to say about DuBois , but always spoke of the influence of Washingtons Up From Slavery on him. I guess he identified with more of Washingtons overall approach to lifting up the race even though like DuBois he must have dismissed his idea of submission.

The black men of America have a duty to perform, a duty stern and delicate,—a forward movement to oppose a part of the work of their greatest leader. So far as Mr. Washington preaches Thrift, Patience, and Industrial Training for the masses, we must hold up his hands and strive with him, rejoicing in his honors and glorying in the strength of this Joshua called of God and of man to lead the headless host. But so far as Mr. Washington apologizes for injustice, North or South, does not rightly value the privilege and duty of voting, belittles the emasculating effects of caste distinctions, and opposes the higher training and ambition of our brighter minds,—so far as he, the South, or the Nation, does this,—we must unceasingly and firmly oppose them.

- WEB Dubois

Wonder if dissected it was a su tle call to arms of blacks? ...crudely put: Luk weh unnuh/wi deh ebry weh nex tuh di white man an wi hout numba dem? Fling dun yuh servitude mind han ***** dem wid henny ting hat annd!

Jawge,Du Bois opinion... would have been different if he was a separatist.
                        Fact is Marcus was more alarmed by covert activities than overt ones.
                        In hindsight he was rightnit was not the KKK that halted the movement,it was the state.

I'm sorry, but did I miss the syphylis experiment part or it wasn't there?

HL,do you know what a house negro is?
                            Would one act the way Booker T did?
                            Ever wonder why Tuskegee was the choice for the infamous experiment?

That KKK meeting is common knowledge. Your contribution is noted but sadly is of little value.

Now feel free to return to your regularly scheduled Babylon worship.

You're excused