Obama admits to US role in overthrow of elected Ukraine Govt

• Obama admits to US role in overthrow of elected Ukraine Govt

..and of course this stunning admission is not highlighted by the corporate media. So of course the Lab Rats neither know of nor understand the significance

Obama Admits U.S. Role in 2014 Ukraine Coup
    Image Credits: Steve Jurvetson / Flickr

And George Soros funded the coup through his front groups

by SPUTNIK | FEBRUARY 2, 2015

The United States took an active part in the February 2014 coup in Ukraine, which installed pro-Western authorities, US President Obama told CNN Sunday.

“And since Mr. Putin made this decision around Crimea and Ukraine — not because of some grand strategy, but essentially because he was caught off-balance by the protests in the Maidan and [Ukraine's then-President Viktor] Yanukovych then fleeing after we had brokered a deal to transition power in Ukraine,” Obama said in an interview.

Odd that he would admit this at this point in time. What is the upside for him?

That statement is open to interpretation I think. Not that it would surprise me in the least if the US was behind the coup.

http://www.rferl.org/content/obama-r.../26826632.html

A senior administration official told RFE/RL that Obama’s remarks referred to U.S. efforts to help resolve the crisis in the run-up to a February 21, 2014 deal signed by Yanukovych and what was then Ukraine's opposition.

The agreement, brokered by three EU diplomats, called for the creation of a national unity government, a presidential election by December 2014, and a return to an earlier Ukrainian constitution that would have curtailed Yanukovych’s powers.

That statement is open to interpretation I think. Not that it would surprise me in the least if the US was behind the coup.

The interpretation of these remarks must be seen in the context of what is known about US activity in Ukraine...and also US history. As far as the latter is concerned the US has a long and sordid history of overthrowing elected governments and also forcing "regime change" of governments they are against.

It's well established that the 1970s Manley government falls in the latter category.

With Ukraine we also know the following:

The US has spent $5 Billion there for unspecified "democracy support". This is a euphemism for "funding political elements" it supports

State Dept officials were taped actually organizing the positions in the post-coup government..Actually naming people and deciding what their post should or should not be

State Dept officials participated in the demonstrations which sparked the coup

Most Americans are unaware of the US inspired coup...and even if made aware would not care one iota. They do not understand foreign policy (not even basic geography!) and cannot comprehend the outcomes or significance of bad policy. This profound ignorance supports bad policy.

In this case the bad policy sparked by the neo-cons who control the State Dept (Obama doesn't!) leads us closer to yet another major war.

Conflict is clearly in the interest of some.... and inquiring minds know who

Odd that he would admit this at this point in time. What is the upside for him?
          It was a slip of the tongue I believe

But the media spin doctors will be at work

I wouldn't dispute most of that, just saying that it is not clear from that statement that Obama was admitting to anything or even that he had a slip of the tongue.

Do we know for sure that the conversations of State Dept officials was in reference specifically to a post-coup government or a post-Yanukovych govt?

I wouldn't dispute most of that, just saying that it is not clear from that statement that Obama was admitting to anything or even that he had a slip of the tongue.

Do we know for sure that the conversations of State Dept officials was in reference specifically to a post-coup government or a post-Yanukovych govt?
              Ok..I see

As to the term "coup" I prefer to be blunt in describing reality. In analysing the US-supported uprising and subsequent ouster of the elected president...that fits the description of a coup for me. Had the Russians done such an act...that's precisely how the Govt and the corporate media would describe it. What's good for the goose...

The US will reject that "coup" description...for obvious reasons

The discussions (by the US ambassador to Ukraine and his boss Victoria Nuland, Asst Sec of State) about who should be in the post coup Govt took place when the elected president was still in office...and as they wanted ...Yatsenyuk became Prime Minister

Just another day in the life of "democracy"

I hear you. Sounds like business as usual for US foriegn policy. Kissinger would certainly approve

Just standard operating procedure ...nutten nuh funny

Nothing surprising about this. How long has Ukraine been having this problem. Wasn't it not long ago you had the Orange revolution???

The west and Russia has been interfering, Ukraine people need to see this for what it is and try and build their country.

So when you say it's "surprising"....are you saying you knew the events a year ago in Ukraine amounted to a US-backed overthrow of an elected government?

I didn't know but it is simple not surprising. Some people in the Ukraine want to be with the west while others are bent on staying with Russia. Interference from any of the sides is not far fetched.

Well not every interference is the same,geographicallynthe Ukraine is right next to Russianas Cuba was closer to the US,ergo the possibility of a US base in Russia's backyard as was the case with Cuba.Same reactions but totally different responses this time around.

I didn't know but it is simple not surprising. Some people in the Ukraine want to be with the west while others are bent on staying with Russia. Interference from any of the sides is not far fetched.
                            ok boss... quite so

Hear! Hear!
                              ...it is usual in those countries that the leader is jailed or worse. When allowed to live lingering resentment by his followers is usually tempered for at least some time.

Unfortunately, the unplanned for - (as it appears thus far) - big brother Russia stepped in!