What is Jamaica's greatest contribution to the world?

LoL

Mek mi draw fi di yardie Bookman!

Point taken Mo.

after mi notice that she did not say"gamma", mi chune out!

That goes without saying, no?

LoL

Trailblazers and original thinkers always deserve their due but many a trail has been left to be overgrown by weeds and bushes, when there was not a messenger to spread the message over the hills and valleys.

Without Apostle Paul, Christianity would probably have been nothing more than a footnote in the history of Judaism

Without Malcom X, Elijah Mohammed and the Nation of Islam would probably not have been known outside of a few Harlem mosques.

Without Bob, reggae, rasta and Jamaican culture in general would have been far less impactful on the world.

That is not a measure on the nature or value of the messages , just the impact of the messengers

I hear your eloquent statement.
            Respek!

...unique or tremendously impactful or both?
              Just.........?

Garvey ah di foundation to all tings jamaican but
                Di Gong stamp wi name an existence inna worl consciousness fi evah.

Trailblazers and original thinkers always deserve their due but many a trail has been left to be overgrown by weeds and bushes, when there was not a messenger to spread the message over the hills and valleys.

Without Apostle Paul, Christianity would probably have been nothing more than a footnote in the history of Judaism

Without Malcom X, Elijah Mohammed and the Nation of Islam would probably not have been known outside of a few Harlem mosques.

Without Bob, reggae, rasta and Jamaican culture in general would have been far less impactful on the world.

That is not a measure on the nature or value of the messages , just the impact of the messengers

either.

Bob Marley had a far bigger influence on the whole world.

Marcus was more on Black people, but he did influence MLK and Bob, so I guess you can count something for that.
                      Bob is better known by far.... but I don't confuse popularity with influence. The 2 constructs are related but not the same.

Without Marcus there is no Bob...and no Black Nationalism, no philosophy of African liberation, no Harlem Renaissance and no consciousness of who or what we are. That's what I call profound influence...Bedrock

Bob as one of Garvey's disciples, spread much of that message around the world through music... but Bob had zero organizational presence or organizational philosophy. Bob was/is a spiritual presence only....available readily to consumers on various media.

Spiritual influence is vital...but humanity actually grows through organization. Marcus established the correct organizational approach of Black people coming out of slavery. Had we followed his approach and supported his organizational practice today we would be a successful people. Unfortunately today we're a people who spend much time yappin, playin the fool, dancin & listenin to music...while our nation burns

Today many know of musical acts...that's easy. That can be attractively packaged and sold to generate revenue. Garvey's development practices cannot be packaged & sold that way....This is why so many know so much about Bob's popular music but NOTHING about Garvey's organizational brilliance and impact.

So many know nothing about practical organizational approaches to our development except what is fed to them by Babylon Media. That devil media has no interest in promoting the correct organizational development of Black people. They don't want to destabilize their own order.

This is why most can so misinterpret or disavow the VALUE of Garvey...or are intimidated by his message. But all are "comfortable" singing or yappin about the songs of Bob...who is just one of Garvey's many disciples. Yappin about music is "safe".

Man all ah tell mi seh dem like "some" of Garvey's ideas...but dem fraid fi seh what they "don't like"... Dat ah strait up Babylon Cognitive Programming at work.

Time to wake up and smell di coco.... Marcus run tings. All else is secondary as far as our progress is concerned...including the vast numbers of other people who play Bob's music and dance away

Our development through CORRECT ORGANIZATION is JOB #1
                      Last edited by Don1; January 27, 2015, 01:54 PM.

Originally posted by Time View Post
                        Excellent. Now question 2. What would be the best answer for the judges in a 'white look Miss Universe' contest Black Nationalism/Marcus Garvey or Reggae Music/Bob Marley'?
                        mi nuh bizniz wid nuh Miss Universe ansa... dat nuh important

Hold on deh, mi paint you a wicked picture of a gradual development, not just slave rebellion but the emanation into multiple strands of new creation, garveyism, Rastafarian, reggae, food culture unparalleled in the Western Hemisphere from ital/ natural youd to goat curry to jerk, a wicked diversity blending multiple jamaican cultural flavors, great athletic programs.

all right show me one country in the Western Hemisphere that can boast that kind of cultural world impact, it is no one man or woman dat do that and any one man or Hooman is merely representative of the Jamaican pie. Garveyism and the rasta movement are probably the most authentic emanations of the Western Hemisphere, I cannot think of many others, maybe jazz and blues, the civil rights movement but they don't have the width of scope from where I sit. Brazilian culture also has a world flavor to it but still missing the dispersal factor that both garveyism and rastafari had and still has.

So what is significant about garveyism and rastafari, it is about pride in self, pride of the struggle from which we were created, a raw cry to the sky of pure passion to be who we are!!! Cho yuh a kill me, how yuh name Mosiah and ah ask them kind a question.

Jamaican played a very relevant role in the Haitian revolution btw as Willi say there, it was started by book man a Jamaican, the origin the starting point was a jamaican, John Perkins otherwise known as jack punch was a gun runner and supplier for the Haitian revolution, those things are significant. What has Haiti done since 1805, they have struggled to survive but very little has come out of Haiti in the way jamaica has influenced on so many levels.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                              Hold on deh, mi paint you a wicked picture of a gradual development, not just slave rebellion but the emanation into multiple strands of new creation, garveyism, Rastafarian, reggae, food culture unparalleled in the Western Hemisphere from ital/ natural youd to goat curry to jerk, a wicked diversity blending multiple jamaican cultural flavors, great athletic programs.

all right show me one country in the Western Hemisphere that can boast that kind of cultural world impact, it is no one man or woman dat do that and any one man or Hooman is merely representative of the Jamaican pie. Garveyism and the rasta movement are probably the most authentic emanations of the Western Hemisphere, I cannot think of many others, maybe jazz and blues, the civil rights movement but they don't have the width of scope from where I sit. Brazilian culture also has a world flavor to it but still missing the dispersal factor that both garveyism and rastafari had and still has.

So what is significant about garveyism and rastafari, it is about pride in self, pride of the struggle from which we were created, a raw cry to the sky of pure passion to be who we are!!! Cho yuh a kill me, how yuh name Mosiah and ah ask them kind a question.
                              Let us not lose the plot - it is a question in a frikkin beauty kantest!!! Dispersal factor?!?!? LOL! A wah dis?!?!?

Haha are you kidding, let us not really lose the plot, it took a beauty contest for us to think about Jamaica's real and fundamental contribution to the world. Truth is we would all be stuttering on the stage as we have no clue of the essence of what we bring to the world table.