What is Jamaica's greatest contribution to the world?

• What is Jamaica's greatest contribution to the world?

Usain Bolt?
    Bob Marley
    Marcus Garvey?

It's Marcus Garvey but in a Miss World environment I would say Reggae music that was made international by Bob Marley.

http://18karatreggae.com/2015/01/26/...nt-to-jamaica/

Debatable I think.

Bob has directly impacted more lives than Marcus, but Bob is also an offshoot of Marcus to an extent. Indeed one of his best known lines came from Marcus.

I would say the assembly line of outstanding and talented individuals...in addition to the 3 above ... claude mckay (poetry); world's youngest pilot to fly around the world; culture (rasta); ottey/vcb/saf; patrick robinson (the judiciary)

Bob has impacted more lives directly ,how, Marcus inspired Mandelas ANC , Malcom and Martin,Harlem civil rights movement and london ,bob didnt even break into the american market ,his name in the states had more to do with hippy loving ganja in the states ,rebel music , cant compare with direct activism...hence the neuvo term smoke some bob marley...yess ,ganja spread Bobs name in the states, i forgot all the pan african leaders.

We try to make Bob into more than he is ,like they try to water him and Martin down to sell them.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

DIRECTLY adverb,
          with nothing or no one in between.

Far more people know who Bob is than who Marcus is. Hence he impacted more people directly.

As simple as that.

I had no problem with her answers,Jamaica is home to the fastest man EVER on the planet,a race that is seen as the most widely watched..
            In Bob we have achievements of disproportionate levels.
            I think convening the first international human rights meeting and being at the forefront in implementing sanctions against Apartheid South Africa are worth noting.
            Last edited by Rockman; January 26, 2015, 03:22 PM.

Also,the advancement of woman liberation too,women are the majority and no where is that more obvious than in Jamaica;the gender breakdown of managerial positions ..

So impact is based on knowing about ,not the works ? so the man who started the internet has less value/impact than myspace ?....Garvey's works impact everyday,yuh breathing it,as Bob,Martin ,Kwame ,Malcom did.

People need to do a Marley impact revisted, much of it is hollywood "one love"..not "road block"

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

She get watered down...Bob Marley ,put him on a list with the others you mentioned, we cant be sold as only Bob and Usain making international impressions.

DIRECT, X, you still missing that concept.

Apple and Microsoft have had more DIRECT impact on the world of computer technology than Xerox even though Xerox invented most of what they commercialized and popularized.

Google has had more DIRECT impact on the world than the people who invented the first internet search engine.

Marcus's teachings have reached a wider global audience largely through the teachings of those that came after him and not directly from Garvey-ism,so to speak.

Added to that, Bobs message was by its very nature more universal than Marcus's was.

Understand yuh , i hope you understand me , where would they be without the guy who built it in terms of impact ?.....that simple.

If Bob is relevant today then the message in his music is being heard.
                        When did Rasta become acceptable,it speaks volumes of his impact on a sect that continues to grow because of him.
                        Bolt is not just any champion,figuring out who is the best footballer is hindered by it not being an exact science,Bolt is the best ever in the most coveted event.Miss Universe(where are the aliens?) Is just an event,its importance is also questioned if the Bolt answer isn't given the credence it deserves.She could have started by asking where to begin,then..
                        Last edited by Rockman; January 26, 2015, 03:52 PM.

Good point.

I totally agree with you on that. Its all about how you intepret the term "contribution to the world" I guess

All now our peeps dont understand who Bob was...