Champs is schools' sport but its importance to the nation

• Champs is schools' sport but its importance to the nation

makes it much more than "schools' sport". It is a national asset. In that context of its growing importance here below is a thought-provoking article: -

ISSA caught on the back foot
    Published: Tuesday | January 20, 2015

Laurie Foster, Contributor

A call to the offices of the Inter-Secondary Schools Sports Association (ISSA) seeking tickets for Champs 2015 elicited the response: "Window closed, talk to Mr Corcho and Mrs Montague."

Any sane and rational person alert to the demands of a well-run institution would have thought that the buck stops somewhere. So, to be told that in the context of this globally acclaimed high-school classic Mr What's his name and Mrs What's her name equally hold the reins is ludicrous, as it is downright lacking in good sense. But, wake up to typical ISSA bungling.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2.../sports82.html

Sounds to me like the event has outgrown the capacity of ISSAs management competence.

Yup! ...and it could all be down to laziness.
      It has had a dream run of successes and ISSA has decided not to do the hard work to continually improve management of the product...but to coast!!!

You sure about that?

Sounds to me like the event has outgrown the capacity of ISSAs management competence.
          LOL! Management capacity? Of the high school principals?! Wooiiee! Mi khaki suit!

Seems like Laurie is primarily concerned about the foreign patrons. ISSA needs to establish some regime where anyone and everyone has an opportunity to purchase, regardless of home country and if whether or not you are a privileged member of the ISSA/track & field fraternity.

Doesn't seem like something complicated to implement.

You need to have a block of tickets for the schools, a block of tickets for T&F VIPs, a block of tickets for the rest of us. If the demand from the rest of us far outstrips supply then raise the price of the tickets.

If there are established proven patrons, domestic or foreign, they should be given some sort of privilege, but you can't cut out the rank and file, the family members and classmates of the participants either. How does the IOC do it? a lottery? Might have to be something like that... or expand the Stadium? I doubt additional revenues would be enough to pay for that though; Stadium empty the rest of the year...

On that note, is the cycle track still used for cycling?

What cycle track?

Oh, yuh mean that concrete thing? I thought it was for water runoff!

Kmt!

use to have a lot of cycle racing there back in the days.

LOL! Management capacity? Of the high school principals?! Wooiiee! Mi khaki suit!
                    ... an ting!

LOL!

If it not being used, Take it out and install seating...or a grass embankment ...

I wonder if that is more difficult and expensive to do than it sounds? I have no idea.

If it not being used, Take it out and install seating...or a grass embankment ...
                          ...install more seating....

Mussi fi watch cricket or when oral roberts comes to town wit him BIG TENT church.

.....sarry PR, could not help it.

Ticket innah January fi ah competition inna a March or April? di response shouldah been diffran like ticket sales nuh start yet. But fi di writah ah come bawl bout organisation and growth an basically di incompetence ah ISSA. Jus cool writah dat not eben neccessary. Wi love criticize sah, nutten in life nuh perfect but wi nuh gi credit jus criticize likkah ah ole lady all di while

Doesn't seem like something complicated to implement.

You need to have a block of tickets for the schools, a block of tickets for T&F VIPs, a block of tickets for the rest of us. If the demand from the rest of us far outstrips supply then raise the price of the tickets.
                              Yuh seit!