• Is this the Breakthrough that Finally Ends ‘Big Oil’

Nick Bernabe
    on 16 September, 2014 at 01:17

http://themindunleashed.org/wp-conte...orgaopanel.jpg

The days of bulky, expensive solar panels that were heavy and required harsh chemicals to produce and a lot of labor to install may be coming to an end. Scientists in Australia have been able to produce the largest ever printed solar cells using a newly developed solar cell printer. Yes, they are printing solar cells.

The cells are flexible, cheap, and made from organic plastics and materials.

According to scientist Dr Scott Watkins, printing cells on such a large scale opens up a huge range of possibilities for pilot applications:

“There are so many things we can do with cells this size[...]We can set them into advertising signage, powering lights and other interactive elements. We can even embed them into laptop cases to provide backup power for the machine inside.”

Dr. David Jones has a few more uses in mind:

“Eventually we see these being laminated to windows that line skyscrapers. By printing directly to materials like steel, we’ll also be able to embed cells onto roofing materials.”

http://themindunleashed.org/2014/09/...akthrough.html
    Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Looks impressive. Don't know if this is a breakthrough but it will eventually come from somewhere.

We will be using hydrocarbons for a long time to come but if there are alternatives at an affordable price it will put a cap on how high prices can go before it loses marketshare. That is a good thing unless you are heavily invested in the oil industry.