Jlp (?)

• Jlp (?)

ok lazie ,can you tell us the jlp intended policies with the IMF if they should get into power ?.Jamaica now barrows internally,IDB,world bank and other overseas banks.PERSONALLY! I rather the U.S dominated world bank than the EURO led balance of payments bank,the IMF.

Originally posted by Pepsi View Post
    ok lazie ,can you tell us the jlp intended policies with the IMF if they should get into power ?.Jamaica now barrows internally,IDB,world bank and other overseas banks.PERSONALLY! I rather the U.S dominated world bank than the EURO led balance of payments bank,the IMF.
    I haven't heard them say anything about the IMF. Personally, I'd have NO problem with them going to the IMF if the money can be obtained at a lower interest rate. The IMF isn't the problem, yuh nevah hear bout the PNP? Dem write the manual on how to hold back a country.

Lazie the IMF love to dictates and pressure(s) Governments.Some countries are eyeing jamaica on thi policy .I think that jamaica Government can get all they want from the world bank,IDB and even the world's biggest bank citibank rather than to deal with a instutution that dictate how ,where and when monies must be spent(only on balnce of payments) so hear wah,I hope someone can further this question to the jlp party them selves before mi tek side on this policy.

Pepsi again, they have said nothing about the IMF! They've said they would go to the other institutions you mentioned but the poppy shows aka spinners like Jawge believe that Mulilateral Agencies is just the IMF.

I don't care if the IMF dicates to the gov't? Last week on Real Business a rep from the World Bank stated that the IMF has been moving from that tactic as they've realized that it wasn't alway the best (or something to that effect).

On the same Real Business program, the WB rep indicated that the lending envelope that they have for Jamaica isn't enough to refinance the debt and if the debt is to be refinanced, the IMF would have to be involved.

Today, you know what %age of the budget goes to debt financing? I have no problem going to the IMF. Is Seaga alone have balls fi stand up to the IMF? I never hear him bitching bout IMF policies?

Most of the money Jamaica owed is floated bonds which are floated in Jamaica, Europe and the US at very high interest rate.

Leadership is important. Look at Argentina and see how they paid off IMF and have grown their economy leaps and bond in the last 5 years.

It nuh matter where we borrow from as IMF a tell we what to do meanwhile as our credit rating drop we are borrowing above market rate which is going to kill us soon.

Pepsi again, they have said nothing about the IMF! They've said they would go to the other institutions you mentioned but the poppy shows aka spinners like Jawge believe that Mulilateral Agencies is just the IMF.

I don't care if the IMF dicates to the gov't? Last week on Real Business a rep from the World Bank stated that the IMF has been moving from that tactic as they've realized that it wasn't alway the best (or something to that effect).

On the same Real Business program, the WB rep indicated that the lending envelope that they have for Jamaica isn't enough to refinance the debt and if the debt is to be refinanced, the IMF would have to be involved.

Today, you know what %age of the budget goes to debt financing? I have no problem going to the IMF. Is Seaga alone have balls fi stand up to the IMF? I never hear him bitching bout IMF policies?
            Told you in the 'earlies' that what debt can be re-negotiated has to be re-negotiated..but, we must borrow 'tons' more funds.

One approach I think me must take is - funding (borrowing)...specific loan funds for Health, ...specific loan funds for Education, ...specific loan funds for the Road System and the continued partnerships with private external enterprises (btw - why could not locals partner with the overseas interests...give some of the profits a chance to remain in the island and aid development of local expertise? I would bet my last dollar that the doner countries/companies would demand, if we went into their countries, joint venture with local entities) - ...Water supply system...

Leave tele-communications alone - we have a first rate system - give contracts to local firms to wire all our education institutions, - smart-boards (high speed intranet and high speed internet capability with all teachers being able to expertly use those smart-boards and the assessory gadgets and support staff MUST be part of the way forward in education institutions.

...and, all our libraries should have an inter-connected high speed intranet and internet services. What is so hard in doing that? What is so hard in having such in all our public service entities...and, links between the various entities such as would speed and enhance delivery of services to the public?

All the systems need emphasis on delivery of first rate services. The civil service needs modernisation. Each and every civil servant must have as top priority 'service'. Perform or leave...be fired! The creative thinking to improve service must be demanded. The actual improvement in delivery of services must be the order of the day. Perform or leave...be fired.

I think one of the greatest faults we have is from MP down to the sweeper in the office believes that giving 100% top performance on the job is not why they were hired. They think...and we have allowed them to get away with it...that we will put up with any half-arsed effort. We as fathers and mothers, brothers and sisters, friends and acquaintances of workers - private & public sector - do not...even as we should from in the homes/private off the job conversations...demand 100% effort at the workplace. Our mindset must change and that 'new mindset' must be noised abroad to all who supply us with service.

Let us face facts the police force is a failure. The criminals having in some cases outgunned the cops sent to apprehend them is not the reason for the failure. The reason for the failure lies in a belief that half-arsed service is A-OK! ...
            Last edited by Karl; June 6, 2007, 02:37 PM.

Mi notice yuh nuh say that the PNP is a failure! As Beenie Man say, dem set the trend ... when it comes to failure.

The approach yuh putting forward ... that was already put forward to fund the approach for education. When the JLP talk, yuh must listen.

Told you in the 'earlies' that what debt can be re-negotiated has to be re-negotiated..but, we must borrow 'tons' more funds.

One approach I think me must take is - funding (borrowing)...specific loan funds for Health, ...specific loan funds for Education, ...specific loan funds for the Road System and the continued partnerships with private external enterprises (btw - why could not locals partner with the overseas interests...give some of the profits a chance to remain in the island and aid development of local expertise? I would bet my last dollar that the doner countries/companies would demand, if we went into their countries, joint venture with local entities) - ...Water supply system...

Leave tele-communications alone - we have a first rate system - give contracts to local firms to wire all our education institutions, - smart-boards (high speed intranet and high speed internet capability with all teachers being able to expertly use those smart-boards and the assessory gadgets and support staff MUST be part of the way forward in education institutions.

...and, all our libraries should have an inter-connected high speed intranet and internet services. What is so hard in doing that? What is so hard in having such in all our public service entities...and, links between the various entities such as would speed and enhance delivery of services to the public?

All the systems need emphasis on delivery of first rate services. The civil service needs modernisation. Each and every civil servant must have as top priority 'service'. Perform or leave...be fired! The creative thinking to improve service must be demanded. The actual improvement in delivery of services must be the order of the day. Perform or leave...be fired.

I think one of the greatest faults we have is from MP down to the sweeper in the office believes that giving 100% top performance on the job is not why they were hired. They think...and we have allowed them to get away with it...that we will put up with any half-arsed effort. We as fathers and mothers, brothers and sisters, friends and acquaintances of workers - private & public sector - do not...even as we should from in the homes/private off the job conversations...demand 100% effort at the workplace. Our mindset must change and that 'new mindset' must be noised abroad to all who supply us with service.

Let us face facts the police force is a failure. The criminals having in some cases outgunned the cops sent to apprehend them is not the reason for the failure. The reason for the failure lies in a belief that half-arsed service is A-OK! ...
                I thought you said our Telecom system needed to be heavily subsidized ???

Now yuh seh wi must leave it alone it is First Rate...

Wire all our Education Institutions ? But hold on.. yuh mean yuh have First Rate and dat nuh done ahready ???

What about cheap internet access from Households.. dat dun ahready ?

Haffi start call yuh the Mad Hatter..

All the same defending the indefensible and trying to turn water into wine is not an easy task..

"Create of leave ? Be fired ???" Hold on.. yuh going to vote JLP ? I getting confused now.. I thought you were for a PNP Govt next term ?

I dont get Karl.

We are in a bootstrap mode. We have fallen far.

We haafi get the basics right BEFORE rushing to wire up like America.

Earth to some of you guys....technology by itself means nothing. We haffi get ourselves organized and get the basics in place and THEN start to use our heads to solve real problems. When we get to level 2, then we can start worring about techie amenities. U cant run before U learn to walk. THAT is our problem. Chest to high and we think there is such a thing as a free lunch. We haffi get disciplined and think and work our way out of the hole. We haffi humble ourselves so that we can truly face our dire situation head on.

Talk bout wireing up school, when pickney dem dont have running water or proper food. Cart before horse to blurtneet.

I dont get Karl.

We are in a bootstrap mode. We have fallen far.

We haafi get the basics right BEFORE rushing to wire up like America.

Earth to some of you guys....technology by itself means nothing. We haffi get ourselves organized and get the basics in place and THEN start to use our heads to solve real problems. When we get to level 2, then we can start worring about techie amenities. U cant run before U learn to walk. THAT is our problem. Chest to high and we think there is such a thing as a free lunch. We haffi get disciplined and think and work our way out of the hole. We haffi humble ourselves so that we can truly face our dire situation head on.

Talk bout wireing up school, when pickney dem dont have running water or proper food. Cart before horse to blurtneet.
                    Wheh yuh ah seh ?

Wi want wireless broadband to every pit latrine toilet...

lazie,maudib and all,what's the policy regarding jamaica Net international reserves to be honest the PNP had kept it at substantial levels US$2.1 billion to be exact,will they reduce this amout? or keep it where it is only to be converted to EUROs which ediat omar should have done long ago?

They've said nothing about it. As Rudi rightly pointed out, it needs to be put to use. Then again, the way mi see Balla brag bout NIR levels its clear unuh would throw a hissy fit if and when the JLP put it to use.

NOO!!! NOO!! Rudy the NIR must not be touch,must only used in a natural disaster , what they must do is what mi just stated above.Convert to euro's and keep there while growing interest.dem nuh affi deposit anymore to it,just safe guard it in a swiss or french bank.

What is the use of NIR when the country have no infrastructure. Portland and St.Mary right now is a natural diaster, no roads, no water, no fire brigade, no police station inna West Portland and most of the tourism industry shutting down. People have to travel to St.Ann for healthcare treatment. Bridges falling apart and not been repaired so what else is needed?

Is dat me waan know. It first class or it not first class?