Look what wi come to now...

I was talking about potential.

However, other things need to be in place. Nuff man try to run into the storm and get blown away.

You know you once asked me, if a country can ever become bankrupt? Perhaps, in another thread that question could be revisited.

Just a reminder - I answered as a practical matter - No!

...to get back to your point - Yes...terrible things are happening in the USA. ...and, as an aside - I wonder why Lazie is not saying anything on those problems you mentioned which may be considered even more horrible than Jamaica's?

...plus we also have an ass of a Federal Reserve Chairman....who thinks the current meltdown in the housing market is 'nothing' and requires no action on his part...

...then there is the debate in the Congress on what to do with the 12 - 20 million 'illegal' immigrants without a thought on activity in the economy that they drive -

...as an example, let us say there are only 12,000,000 - (Hell that number is as good as any as the US Governmenet through the Congress says it has not a clue) - in the workforce and they are all earning at the top of the poverty level as presently defined, $11,000.00 per annum...that would be a hell of a lot of money...and, what about the attendant persons they support within the US, business they purchase goods from e.g. housing industry, automobile industry...etc...

...even the funds spent to, as we are told, support them, if taken out of say the health services...would it affect employment in that sector and attendant sectors and or entities that 'live off' the health services sector? ...and, on and on, with their labour and or purchasing power removed from other sectors/areas...and the 'cottage industries' developed around providing welfare services for them???? ~ sigh ~ ...and, what of prices if the cheap labour they provide disappears?

Wouldn't it be great to hear comprehensive figures...?

...but, that is for another topic.
      I like where you are going with this.. in fact I think I figured out a solution.

You living in American seek to highlight the ills that need to be corrected there and fight for fundamental changes.. through the electoral process if needs be.

We living in Jamaica will do the same.

Now, how is that a bad plan ?.

Cant be more horrible than in Jam, as Jam is sooo dependent on the US.

Rockfort is owned by Carib Cement, the trinis, so it's not in a bad state, really. What is bad is the heap of dust being spewed by the factory, which means that going to Rockfort could actually kill yuh!

Karl seh is di Portland people dem fi fix it.

I share your sentiments for a better Jamaica Willi. It is painfully obvious though that there is no POLITICAL solution to our mess. I think that Jamaicans - on ALL sides of the political fence are culpable for the decay of the society - the decline in values, the lack of nationalism and the new glorification of self. While government must bear responsibility for setting the tone for decency, moral responsibility and national development - it will never happen in a vaccuum, or rather in a society which has sucked the energy of those who choose to live by the letter (or spirit) of the law, to be fair, just, principled...Jamaica has just become a totally indisciplined society, corrupt at all levels and with failed leadership in most spheres of the society...the church, Judiciary, private sector...
              Having said all that, we still live in hope - but there is no political Messiah to save us from ourselves - it's only us that have to do it.
              Regrettably, only a major catostrophe or serious calamity seems to get us to perform at our best...and yet even then, we see the dark side still coming out...

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                I share your sentiments for a better Jamaica Willi. It is painfully obvious though that there is no POLITICAL solution to our mess. I think that Jamaicans - on ALL sides of the political fence are culpable for the decay of the society - the decline in values, the lack of nationalism and the new glorification of self. While government must bear responsibility for setting the tone for decency, moral responsibility and national development - it will never happen in a vaccuum, or rather in a society which has sucked the energy of those who choose to live by the letter (or spirit) of the law, to be fair, just, principled...Jamaica has just become a totally indisciplined society, corrupt at all levels and with failed leadership in most spheres of the society...the church, Judiciary, private sector...
                Having said all that, we still live in hope - but there is no political Messiah to save us from ourselves - it's only us that have to do it.
                Regrettably, only a major catostrophe or serious calamity seems to get us to perform at our best...and yet even then, we see the dark side still coming out...
                Karl.. apparantly Exile has not gotten the memo.

Please update him on the new PNP Revolution under SISTAH P.. the annointed one.

Cant be more horrible than in Jam, as Jam is sooo dependent on the US.
                  You have a point...

but...when will our people step up on our own behalf?

Karl.. apparantly Exile has not gotten the memo.

Please update him on the new PNP Revolution under SISTAH P.. the annointed one.
                    Actually I am with Exile on this! ...have said, do many times.

...and, ofcourse... some of the hope I have is banking on Sistah P!

Did you read what Butch and the Premier of the Turks said? Yuh behaving like the husband that drive up to his house, se Joe Grinds vehicle park up and all yuh duh is drive pass .... afraid to face reality.

You living in American seek to highlight the ills
                        Don't kid yourself, I glorify in the good in the US...but, I do not shut my eyes to the not so good and the bad. The US is a great country!

...and, just on chance you may not be seeing what is right 'in front of your face' - (Hey the way you 'talk' suggests so), so is Jamaica!

Yuh mek Karl tun yuh inna eediat tuh? I AM NOT RESPONSIBLE FOR THE MESS WE FIND OURSELVES IN! Decline in values? Lack of nationalism? Glorification of self? How have I failed my country? Nuh boddah wid dat!

Excuse my ignorance but I cant understand the reaction against the Turks Premier.

Since we like to boast out our impact on the world despite our size and all and we boast about the Jamaicans who have occupied important global positions, why then are we behaving as if we cant learn from some one even smaller?

Is size an indication of worth?

Excuse my ignorance but I cant understand the reaction against the Turks Premier.

Since we like to boast out our impact on the world despite our size and all and we boast about the Jamaicans who have occupied important global positions, why then are we behaving as if we cant learn from some one even smaller?

Is size an indication of worth?
                              ... this is in response to who? Karl?

Don't kid yourself, I glorify in the good in the US...but, I do not shut my eyes to the not so good and the bad. The US is a great country!

...and, just on chance you may not be seeing what is right 'in front of your face' - (Hey the way you 'talk' suggests so), so is Jamaica!
                                Is who move back ??? Me or you ?

Yuh cyaan tell me nutting bout your yard 'nice'..

NICE FOR WHO THOUGH !!???

The Elite and the priviliged and the cashy ? That has always been .

The common man on the street ? I would leave this country faster than yuh can seh Reneto...