• Look what wi come to now...

All a beg advice from wi former dependency:

We shoulda heng wi head in shame, after all is Jamaica provided the backbone of the civil service and admin people fi all dem places and helped tremendously to make them successful, while we managed to mess up fi wi home.

PSOJ eager to hear success story from Turks and Caicos premier
    Desmond Allen
    Wednesday, June 06, 2007

One of the world's youngest leaders will come to Jamaica tomorrow, bringing a story of success that hopefully will inspire local businessmen who will attend the annually held PSOJ/Citigroup Economic Forum at the Hilton Kingston Hotel in New Kingston.

Michael Eugene Misick, the 41-year-old premier of the Turks and Caicos Islands, will have among his audience no less than the minister of finance, Dr Omar Davies and leader of the opposition, Bruce Golding, who will also address the event.

"We look forward to hearing from Premier Misick about the explosive growth which has occurred in the Turks and Caicos Islands under his leadership," said Christopher Zacca, the president of the Private Sector Organisation of Jamaica (PSOJ).

Peter Moses, country officer of co-sponsor, Citigroup, was also expecting "a stimulating and enlightening discussion" on the theme 'Equipping the Private Sector for Growth'.

Moses said Citigroup was pleased to partner with the PSOJ for the past two years to host this significant event for business leaders.

Misick, whose full job title is premier and minister of planning, tourism, development, and district administration of the Turks & Caicos Islands, will tell the Jamaican business community how his 30-island British dependency of 32,000 people managed to achieve per capita income of US$12,500, negligible unemployment, real GDP growth of 4.9 per cent, according to the latest figures, and hold inflation below 4 per cent.

The economy of the Turks and Caicos Islands is based on tourism, fishing, offshore financial services and customs receipts. Most capital goods and food for domestic consumption are imported. The United States and Canada are the leading source of tourists for its high-end industry, accounting for more than half of the approximately 200,000 visitors in 2006.

The Turks and Caicos Islands were under Jamaican jurisdiction until 1962, when they assumed the status of a British crown colony. The territory's legal system is based on English common law, with a small number of laws adopted from Jamaica and the Bahamas.

Said to represent an entirely new generation of political leaders in the Turks and Caicos Islands, Misick was born in Bottle Creek, North Caicos on February 2, 1966. He received his secondary education at Turks and Caicos High, Grand Turk, and read Law at the University of Buckingham, England where he received a Bachelor of Law degree in 2001.

Prior to entering politics, Misick spent several years in the real estate industry, beginning as a sales agent and rising to become sales manager of Prestigious Properties Ltd from 1984 to 1986, and managing director from 1986 to 1988. In that year, he founded The Paramount Group, a property and financial services company, which he served as chairman and CEO until 1991.

At the youthful age of 25 in 1991, he was elected to the Legislative Council and served as the minister of tourism, transportation and communications. He was re-elected in the 1995 general election, but sat it out on the opposition benches because his party had lost. In the 1997 general election, Misick was defeated in his bid for a third consecutive re-election to the Legislative Council by four votes. He used the time to pursue his law degree.

Five years later, he was elected leader of the then Opposition Progressive National Party (PNP). After the April 2003 general election, he was sworn in as chief minister of the Turks and Caicos Islands and three years later as the first premier of the Turks and Caicos Islands. His PNP controls 13 of the 15 seats in the legislature.

Premier Misick, a father and sports enthusiast who loves listening to music in his free time, made the international headlines when he married a top American beauty and actress.

He will be accompanied to Jamaica by a team from the Turks and Caicos Islands, including CEO of TCInvest, Conrad Higgs and Chief Economist Delton Jones.

The PSOJ forum is also sponsored by Capital and Credit Financial Group, Continental Baking Company, FirstCaribbean International Bank, Hilton Kingston, Jamaica National Building Society, Jamaica Public Service and Victoria Mutual Building Society.

who is next? Haitian Prime Minister?

We siddung pan assets like Port Royal, Palisados strip, Bath and Milk River and we dare to lament why we poor???

What more we coulda ask from Massa God?

We have some of the best agricultural land on the planet, scenery to die for, beaches galore, climate like no other, capable and talented people, a few minerals, potential bio-fuels, a diaspora that is exceptionally talented and experienced, a stunning history that should motivate us and perhaps most importantly: a spirit that endears us to other peoples all over the world and what we ah do with it but waste it???

What, I ask you all, WHAT???

You know ow many first time visitors I have seen meeking plans to move there permanently after a few hours upon arrival. Of course the plans mostly fizzle out when the enormity of the task hits home, but the point is the MAGIC is there and being wasted.

We should shame to blousecup.

We want a spiritual SEA bath. We salt to brown dog.

We siddung pan assets like Port Royal, Palisados strip, Bath and Milk River and we dare to lament why we poor???

We have some of the best agricultural land on the planet, scenery to die for, beaches galore, climate like no other, capable and talented people, a few minerals, potential bio-fuels, a diaspora that is exceptionally talented and experienced, a stunning history that should motivate us and perhaps most importantly: a spirit that endears us to other peoples all over the world and what we ah do with it but waste it???

You know ow many first time visitors I have seen meeking plans to move there permanently after a few hours upon arrival. Of course the plans mostly fizzle out when the enormity of the task hits home, but the point is the MAGIC is there and being wasted.

Willi, be very careful. Omar might just read your post and get the idea fi sell Milk River, Bath and all the odda places you mention.

Talk to Karl.. he will cheer you up with a dose of Sistah P.

Willi, you figet Rockfort Mineral Bath - or did that close down.

That is OK, but Milk river is the MOST radioactive bath in the world...the 9th wonder of the natural world and we ah siddung pan it.

Omar betta hope seh Bruce lose, cause nuff investigations into all those asset sales...I can predict that some man bettea run from jail, iffen dem palms greasy.

Thanks - didn't know that about Milk River. A MUST go the next time around.

Originally posted by MdmeX View Post
                  Thanks - didn't know that about Milk River. A MUST go the next time around.
                  If you do, try to be brave. I heard that some unmentionables were floating in the water one time when a friend of a friend visited.

Even our pearls we dont know how to treat.

Lord, why have U forsaken us? Ah so we displease yuh?

If you do, try to be brave. I heard that some unmentionables were floating in the water one time when a friend of a friend visited.

Even our pearls we dont know how to treat.

Lord, why have U forsaken us? Ah so we displease yuh?
                    Yuh think a the Lord forsake us? Check it, we pray to the Lord fi, "keep us free from evil power" yet fi the last 4 election wha we duh?

I was watching a piece on travel channel about some secret spots in Ja.
                      They showed Bath in St.Thomas but them say you have to brave to go there as the roads leading there are bad and the place is not really developed.

They also talk about our local Boston Jerk and they said it is great but you have to brave and take a chance as none of the vendors they spoke with had a food license.

ah bwoy.

Talk to Karl.. he will cheer you up with a dose of Sistah P.
                        ...ask yuhsef why the private sector neva si wah di private sector people a Cayman, Turk and Caicos Islands...an nuff-nuff more adda people si?

...Cho dem, cyaan look rite yah innah Jamaica an hask wah di people dem a "rick's cafe" innah Negril a duh mek people fram haulova di worl a run guh deh?

Dem cyaan look pan di ole eap-a illegal gambling/casino dem innah di hi-lan a duh...an mek hit legal fi tek vantage a dat dere gole mine dat a slumba?

dem cyaan look pan dem owna local people dem who a bank offshore an set up offshore designated areas fi mek people stan yah wid dem money and get nuff-nuff more people cum heen wid fi dem money???

dem cudda taget an set-up medical facilities dat service dem rich-rich people who want diss-creete medical services?

...no sah, wi nuh affi luk fur fi si wah wi cudda duh fi mek dis-yah country which poised fi tek -aff fram whicha-wen gellup innah prosperity!
                        nuff-nuff sin-tin han-da wi nose...rite yah a yaard, wah a wait fi wi duh!

karl government policy have nothing to do with this?

The high rate of light bill.
                          The devaluation of the Jamaican $$$$
                          The high interest rate of bond which encourge people to invest in bonds rather than business don't make a difference?

When no roads to go a Portland how does this affect the hotels and attraction there?

When no water supply how does that affect business?

Think again Karl.

"Think again Karl"

Sass, thats like asking KArl to walk pon wata. Bettah yuh asked him what if it was a JLP gov't that caused this to happen.

As BEAUTIFUL as Dragon Bay is it can't operate because of the BAD ARSE CONDITION OF THE ROADS.