Lazie you have to understand police will show more empathy if they know you parents, back and the fact that you have a few shilling to defend you from bad policing. If they think you don't they will do what they can. Same thing goes for the ghetto or country youth them a Jamaica. It so happen that many of the black youths and hispanic can't stand up for their rights. That is what makes a black-white issue. The back community has been affected more than any other. It is about bad policing, the police force against the Black community. It is a black and white issue because in general they don't treat the black community the way they treat the white ones. I know you are in Education, try treating the black kids better than the white ones unless you are Equal Oppourtunity(EOC) and see it is not seen as Black, White issue.
My take on these demonstrations with surprised white
Originally posted by Gamma View PostHow yuh know that the reason for the silence is not that he too has been a victim of police brutalityTIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
The problem with racism is the root cause was never indentified and therefore addressed.It is a mental desease,the racist needs help.Why is it that caucasians themselves had to be victims in order to acknowledge the problem if police abuse?
Why is it Blasio had to have vested interest(his offsprings ,NOT his wife) in fighting racism in order to acknowledge a glaring problem?
Originally posted by Gamma View PostAnd risk more abuse?!!TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
I borrowed the following from a post a relative of mine placed on FB. I haven't checked the sites out myself but will do so momentarily.
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Between 1988 and 1997, it was calculated that blacks are 3 times more likely to get shot by police.
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1447171/
If we look at all felonies from 2004, 59% of them were committed by whites, 38% by blacks. In 2006 it was 60% white, 30% black.
http://www.bjs.gov/content/pub/pdf/fssc04.pdf
And yet there's plenty of data showing that blacks are disproportionately (compared to percent of population) incarcerated (25% of the black population have felonies. 25%):
https://www.americanprogress.org/…...st-startli…/
Here's some more data on measured discrimination against blacks by the general (American) population.
http://www.apa.org/…/press/re…/2...oys-older.aspx
http://www.plosone.org/…/info:…/...l.pone.0048546Peter R
Originally posted by Peter R View PostI borrowed the following from a post a relative of mine placed on FB. I haven't checked the sites out myself but will do so momentarily.
+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
Between 1988 and 1997, it was calculated that blacks are 3 times more likely to get shot by police.
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC1447171/
If we look at all felonies from 2004, 59% of them were committed by whites, 38% by blacks. In 2006 it was 60% white, 30% black.
http://www.bjs.gov/content/pub/pdf/fssc04.pdf
And yet there's plenty of data showing that blacks are disproportionately (compared to percent of population) incarcerated (25% of the black population have felonies. 25%):
https://www.americanprogress.org/…...st-startli…/
Here's some more data on measured discrimination against blacks by the general (American) population.
http://www.apa.org/…/press/re…/2...oys-older.aspx
http://www.plosone.org/…/info:…/...l.pone.0048546
Babylon Shitstem is a VampiyaLast edited by Don1; December 6, 2014, 07:25 PM.TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
Originally posted by Mosiah View PostCan't remove the black/white issue from it. The racism is still evident within the nation's police departments. Just last night I saw police in some US city struggle with a knife-wielding white man literally for hours!
Eventually he was successfully tazed but he lived to talk about it."Jamaica's future reflects its past, having attained only one per cent annual growth over 30 years whilst neighbours have grown at five per cent." (Article)
Mosiah, I didn't say to remove the race issue, I just made an observation that the police is aggressive to every race.
Recently a woman here in KC was pulled over by a cop and he roughed her up as her vehicle registration sticker was not consistent with what he was finding in his database. He had her step out of the car and standing in the 20 odd degree temperature while he got in his vehicle and was talking with his base. He was accused her of driving a stolen vehicle and was even threatening to arrest her on the spot.
The crux of the mater is that the woman and her husband purchased two vehicles at the same time. They were registered at the same time and in the process of putting on the registration stickers to the plates, they got them mixed up. Anyway, the cop eventually decided to let her off with a warning when he realized what was the problem.
The sad part here is that the woman made the comment following this incident that if there was one time she was happy that she was a white woman and not black was on that morning.
I say that to say, whites get some mishandling by police too, but most know that it might be worse if they were of a different color."Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran