• Termites yappin about getting in the Fast Lane

...but the idea might be Gone in 60 Days

Gov't in car assembly plant talks, says Hylton
    BY STEVEN JACKSON Business reporter jacksons@jamaicaobserver.com

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

A car maker is in talks with the Government to set up an assembly plant within the conceptualised logistics hub, Industry Minister Anthony Hylton has said.

Hylton declined to name the company, but suggested that it would use the island to quickly fulfil orders to major markets.

This statement says it all....

The logistics hub has thus far defined Hylton's tenure in office. The Government continues to seek investors and companies to construct and rent space in the conceptualised hub .
    Don't know if I should or

This statement says it all....

Don't know if I should or
      lol

Well in fairness to the Termites it's a VERY complicated, long term project. But it's highly questionable whether they have the skill sets to execute well

Its a total nonsense.

There is no skill set density to do this in Jamaica.

Imagine why Switzerland don't have a car industry. Dem unnnerstan runnings.

Its a total nonsense.

There is no skill set density to do this in Jamaica.

Imagine why Switzerland don't have a car industry. Dem unnnerstan runnings.
          Well it doesn't really appear to be a "car industry" in the manufacturing sense

Looks like they would receive "knock down kits" of large car elements which can be bolted together in a few days. Car, truck and even warplane manufacturers sell kits like that to countries to assemble that have low skills and/or a low manufacturing base...but want some value add in-country

Basically a modern day screwdriver industry...It might be a good starter play for JA

The only thing Hylton did from him in office is Scrap Metal to rhatid. He has promised a lot and nothing yet, nothing yet

Even that takes skill and comparative advantage.

Right now you can hardly trust Jamaican companies to bolt together a drum pan, and U know dat is true...

Even that takes skill and comparative advantage.

Right now you can hardly trust Jamaican companies to bolt together a drum pan, and U know dat is true...
                lol ..ah choo

All the more reason why we MUST build a culture of makers based on STEM fundamentals

DWL, you ruff!

why is an announcement of something that may happen considered an accomplishment in Jamaican political circles. This always happens and they rarely get called out for it. When negotiations are concluded and something signed then knock yourself out. Constantly doing things this way only tells the other party how desperate the government's position. Not good for negotiating.

Both parties do this crap and get away with it.

Ah suh we fool?

Both parties do this crap and get away with it.

Ah suh we fool?
                        Aks Sass bout dat "announcement syndrome" sitten... im ah di Don fi dat

A certain erstwhile Ministah did ongly affi open im mout fi annouce some plan or is odda...an' wi used to get one trailerload ah GWAAN!!...intamede