Exactly time! I have seen a lot in my years, but this has crossed a serious line in the sand.
Carolyn Cooper's Sunday AM KC humor
Well they can certainly do what they want and they can also invite ridicule in the process.
For those of us who are not part of that type of cult, allowing non KC males to attend your dinner but putting a ban on even female teachers at the institution from attending, is well, a bit funny for want of a better word."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
She is a troublemaker and instigator. What would the world be without a few of those?
I don't really take here as a serious journalist but sometimes you need people like those to draw attention to discuss serious issues. Don't know if the Gleaner is the right paper but she draw out a lot of people on it. I think that was what she intended to do.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
Originally posted by Assasin View PostShe is a troublemaker and instigator. What would the world be without a few of those?
And what would a Rum Bar be??
Boring!!!!!!!TIVOLI: THE DESTRUCTION OF JAMAICA'S EVIL EMPIRE
I think despite been an Educator, street cred is very important to her, and this will just put another feather in her cap.- Don't let negative things break you, instead let it be your strength, your reason for growth. Life is for living and I won't spend my life feeling cheated and downtrodden.
When the GUEST SPEAKER (a non KC alum by the way) at your event uses the occasion to say what you are supporting is nonsense, then maybe you are losing the PR war.
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Be More Inclusive, Jarrett Tells KC
Earl Jarrett, general manager of the Jamaica National Building Society, says Kingston College needs to shed some of its old traditions and reshape the perceptions about its image.
Addressing the Kingston College Old Boys' Association (KCOBA) Annual Reunion Banquet at the Jamaica Pegasus hotel on Saturday, Jarrett said the institution should move away from what some view as an exclusionary culture to "one in which there can be no doubt about its inclusive nature".
http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ead/lead6.html"It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
To me if they say exclusively KC past students and no other they would have an argument that I could accept but from you say "one bag a man but no woman" then you are on shaky ground."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
who should be able to tell you who you should invite to yuh yard? AND having done so, it is mischievous for someone to ascribe a motive even if it is sour grapes.
Well Gamma, as I say nobody can tell you what to do but we can certainly have an opinion about it and act on it.
Careful how far you go with that argument though, it has been used by many a segregationist organization."It is easier to build strong children than to repair broken men" - Frederick Douglass
That's how I see it too.
I think she went too far with some of her references, but I am sure she is watching the maelstrom (or is it malestrom?), feeling quite contented for a work well done!
And the talk that I am seeing now, about how ugly she is, and that she can't get a man, and that some KC alumnus rejected her, don't think she didn't expect it all. She is a smart and beautiful woman who has done some dumb things sometimes. Is this one of them?
As Ms. Lou woulda say, Jack Man Dora, mi nuh choose none!