CA AG is a good choice, but she would get blocked by the GOP. Obama
    was drooling over her the other day, however she would not get
    confirmed. Similar situation to Obama's choice for Surgeon General who
    was blocked by the GOP.

Nothing he puts up for confirmation will pass,expect two years of gridlock and executive orders.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Apparently Kamala Harris said a few weeks ago she wasn't interested in the job at this time. Maybe she knew she would get blocked and didn't think it was worth the fight.

Eric Holder has been an unsung hero of the Obama administration. The definition of courage under fire. Dems could learn from him.

Man call it straight ...Holder said it didn't make sense to send people to jail on possession charges.

"Well, I'll tell you, as a former judge, I had to put in jail substantial numbers of young people for possessory drug offenses, and it was not from the perspective I had as a judge necessarily a good use of law enforcement resources," Holder said. "When I became U.S. attorney we put in place certain guidelines so that people would not end up, especially young people, with criminal records and all that then implies for them.

If only Jamaicans in Executive and constitutional power , could be so brave , alot sooner.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Holder is a good man with courage and was not afraid to speak his mind.

Originally posted by Hortical View Post
              Dems nuh have nuh one with fresh ideas?
              Tell dem fi mi! Nuff people going wild over Clinton.
              A dat me want to know too. I particularly would not cry if Hill/Bill never slept in the White House again!!

Economy improving but not reaching the most vulnerable yet,,which is a big part of the Democrats base. That is why many of them could not campaign on it. As you correctly said, politics is local, the figures alone won't make the case. The good news for Democrats is that if the economy keeps improving eventually everyone will get some relief.

---------------------------------------------------

Americans are deeply dissatisfied with President Obama's economy.
                According to CNN midterm election exit polling, seven in 10 voters said they were concerned about economic conditions.

Truth be told, the economy is actually chugging along if you look at the big picture data on GDP and unemployment. America is certainly better off than it was six years ago during the financial crisis.
                But that doesn't matter to most people. They look at their own financial situation, and for many Americans, it hasn't improved.

http://money.cnn.com/2014/11/05/news...iid=TL_Popular
                Would love to hear of that most Americans whose economic situation has not improved?

Did I hear somewhere, just because it is said does not make it true?

- Millions were ploughed back in the Economy in a direct way. Where did that money go?

- Has there been a easing of credit? ...even 'funny mortgage loans' have returned in a limited scale. The housing market that drives growth in many, many associated areas is on the rebound? Is there any area of the economy that is contracting? No?

- Has the growth of the local oil industry, world-wide fall in oil prices and the following lowering of prices at the pump have a ripple effect?

...and the list of improvements - 'rocketing' of 'good movement' in the stock market, lowering unemployment rates, etc., etc.

There are visible signs of an improving economy all around - who are they that are blind and do not see? ...no friend of or acquaintance or family member is better off today than in previous 4 years?

Well then? ...who are they who are not benefiting from an improved economy?

One explanation that it is said the Dems made that makes sense is - The failure to counter the Republicans message that 'there was doom and gloom' and it was a result of Dems policies/leadership.

The Republicans made their flawed case...and the Dems refused to point out that it was flawed. It would appear that enough persons were convinced the Republicans case was 'on the money' that they either did not vote or voted Republican. The Dems gave away their 'hand'.
                Last edited by Karl; November 7, 2014, 11:36 AM.

as i said elsewhere, the mid-terms introduced us to the tea party and what an experiment that was!!!!

similarly, the repubs will eff up in time to give the dems the whitehouse in 2 years time especially with the agenda that they are pursuing so vigorously regardless of utility of whatever initiative obama may have introduced.

You hear any new ideas out there??

No Democrats have really tried to cross over on the national stage, the way Christie, Ran Paul and others doing in the republican party. The Republicans realize that insulting women and blacks will get them no where so they shed themselves of the Vulgar tea party(didn't I say it would be dead in two years?).

It is not so much the ideas but the democrats are having a hard time expressing themselves right now in a confident voice when they shouldn't. Some of their policies have really helped to bring back the American economy, yet they give the bully pulprit to the republicans.

Karl, when you use those arguments you are crediting the voting public with way too much intelligence and knowledge.

In election season wether it is factually "true" or not is secondary. If they do not believe it has improved for them, then you will not get their approval.

Let us not forget that many of these same voters were led to believe that Obama was a Messiah and not a mortal six years ago. Now that reality has struck that he has been able to do a creditable but not superhuman job, they are sorely disapointed. Such is the nature of politricks.

It's a good thing I'm too dumb to analyse the situation like you guys. I see this unpopularity of Obama thing as based on racism. As simple as dat!

A lot bigger than Racism, without the Obamamania, where would the Democrats be today??? Obama still have 42 percent rating which is not great but not bad. Economy is good but foreign policy, immigration and even healthcare kind of murky. Dems need a few good people who can explain the thing, instead they are running from their record.

So you mean the same people who voted him in by a wide margin twice are suddenly all racists?

A black man was elected as senator of South Carolina by mostly white people. How do you explain that?

a black president was elected in a country where he is a minority ..... all is well!