Karl hasn't a clue. I guess he is content that people are being forced to use mobile phones that they really can't afford because landlines are still the hardest things to get installed at your home. In 2007, it still takes two weeks, if you lucky, for C&W to give you a landline. And I am talking about the decent sensible and cheap landline, not the rip-off "homefone" that they have pushed onto unsuspecting consumers.
In REAL countries there are more land lines than cell-phones.
In Poppy-Show countries it is the reverse...
Rich people smiling all the way to the Bank.. meanwhile Karl thinks it is a renaissance.. black man can use cell-phone while white man haffi use archaic land line..
"In 'real' countries there are more mobile communication devices than land lines." - Of course, Karl! Why would your household need one landline for each family member!?!?! But at least you have a landline that affords you Internet and cheap telephone calls!
In Jamaica, those things are still privileges.
Let me bow to your 'on the ground' proximity and actual use of the system.
Tell me a little more? Let's go back a little to the earlier post on availability of telephones.
Why the matter of getting a landline prevents access? ...and, what is the difference in receiving telephone service in every nook and cranny of the island as opposed to say in every nook and cranny of the US?
Secondly: How long do you wait to receive new telephone service in homes in our major towns? ...and, large villages?
...and, in the boom-docks like - Cold Spring, Hanover where I am from?
Tell me a little more? Let's go back a little to the earlier post on availability of telephones.
Why the matter of getting a landline prevents access? ...and, what is the difference in receiving telephone service in every nook and cranny of the island as opposed to say in every nook and cranny of the US?
Secondly: How long do you wait to receive new telephone service in homes in our major towns? ...and, large villages?
...and, in the boom-docks like - Cold Spring, Hanover where I am from?
Bredrin.. WTF is wrong with you ?
HOW IS JAMAICA TELECOM FIRST RATE ???????
FIRST RATE FOR WHAT ?? LOWEST VALUE ADD HIGHEST COST CONSUMPTION OR PRODUCTIVITY ????
You tell me, Karl - how long did it take you to get a phone in your home in Florida?
I can speak for Kingston, it takes 2 weeks if you lucky for a landline. Cold Spring? They'd probably tell you it's not available there, and if it is, you'd probably wait months for a new landline!
I've been trying to get a phone line in my village in St. Ann for DECADES!!! Still don't have none!
You tell me, Karl - how long did it take you to get a phone in your home in Florida?
I can speak for Kingston, it takes 2 weeks if you lucky for a landline. Cold Spring? They'd probably tell you it's not available there, and if it is, you'd probably wait months for a new landline!
I've been trying to get a phone line in my village in St. Ann for DECADES!!! Still don't have none!
I waited 2 months! ...and, it is VOIP!
Cold Spring - We have our telephones! The home based is cellular transmission....however you can travel around with the telephone. There is a also a public telephone in the village square (Do not remember mode of transmission).
IN WHAT WAY IS TELECOM IN JAMAICA FIRST RATE ???!!