• KC ah tek dis man business too far puppa

Anger as KC Old Boys’ Assn bars women from annual dinner
    Sunday, October 26, 2014

DALLAS ... dinner will facilitate the social and intellectual enhancement of KC old boys

The Kingston College Old Boys’ Association (KCOBA) has reverted to the practice of not allowing women to its annual dinner usually held in November.

The decision was reversed by the new executive of the association which took office last December, but was only told to the general membership days ago, something which is causing anger within the fraternity.

The association has long held onto the practice of barring women from its annual dinner, except for 1975 when then Prime Minister Michael Manley was invited by old boy Howard Aris to speak and Manley insisted that he would only do so if his wife, Beverley, would be allowed in.

Old problems resurfacing ......
    We live in a misogynistic society,Portia had her battle with tge all boys club.
    What else is tradition with KC,no headmistresses(really should have said female principals)?
    I wonder what the founding father would say,forget that,would he disagree with STGC having a female principal and females in six form?

I dont agree with boys school going coed when the girls schools dont. There are faaaar more alll girls schools and boys are the ones in danger of being left behind.

i don't get it ... let a boys school be a boys school and a girls school be a girls school and leave well enough alone.

I dont agree with boys school going coed when the girls schools dont. There are faaaar more alll girls schools and boys are the ones in danger of being left behind.
          Boys are ALREADY being left behind... A Clear & Present Danger that must be addressed

Something is strange here. I have been to the annual dinner many times in Toronto and sometimes the women outnumber the men. This must be a Jamaican alumni thing. This years dinner is this Saturday and if them talk to the empress du jour I will be forced to do my Josie Wales impression:

Leggo mi hand gateman mek di fortis come in.

Foolishness.

Originally posted by Rudi View Post
              Something is strange here. I have been to the annual dinner many times in Toronto and sometimes the women outnumber the men. This must be a Jamaican alumni thing. This years dinner is this Saturday and if them talk to the empress du jour I will be forced to do my Josie Wales impression:

Leggo mi hand gateman mek di fortis come in.

Foolishness.
              yuhseeit

That is why I am concerned with the way things are going..Boys schools going co-ed means LESS boy places!

Agree, must be a local thing. Doesn't make sense.
                  I went to a Old Boys dinner in Jamaica once, and didn't pay attention
                  to the nonsense.
                  Last edited by Hortical; October 28, 2014, 08:38 AM.

are girls schools going co-ed? do you see immaculate having boy's dorms?

nothing is wrong with the decision to have boy schools, girl schools and co-ed schools. that being the case if they want to restrict attendance at one of their old boys' fustions they should be allowed to do so.

are girls schools going co-ed? do you see immaculate having boy's dorms?

nothing is wrong with the decision to have boy schools, girl schools and co-ed schools. that being the case if they want to restrict attendance at one of their old boys' fustions they should be allowed to do so.
                      That is one of the things we fought for...freedom to make our decisions and that includes the Freedom to make foolish decisions!

true but i don't see it as foolish....

Why change the boys only schools. Instead talking bout the quality and bringing other up to date, the ego gets in the way.

Them school been catering to boys from how long, why change it???? As Gamma ask, which man a rush Immaculate and Holy Childhood??? But them fi let in the man dem wife, Leggo offa the Old boy culture. Nobody can't tell mi mi can't bring my wife and kids to my former school function? That a foolishness. What them want re live their days? Well they may as well ban all guest who weren't student at that school then and make a social club.

Mea Culpa (a bit). After further review (talking to the elders) I have been informed that since the inception of the alumni association in Jamaica the annual dinner was always an all male affair. This has been so for probably seventy plus years. Last year was the first year that females were allowed to attend. For some reason they have decided to revert to the original format. As an aside, the founder of the alumni association was the legendary math teacher Mr. Burgess who thought that the dinner should be a place where men should get together to exchange thoughts and comraderies. Sadly he passed away over a year ago. It is thought that out of respect to him the format was not changed as long as he was alive. It is also thought that some influential members agreed with Mr. Burgess' philosophy hence the return to the original format. So mi get it, so mi give it.

Well they may as well ban all guest who weren't student at that school then and make a social club.
                              An alumni association is actually a private, social club

Consequently they're free to make up whatever rule they please ...regardless of how silly it is