• John Holt...RIP.....Giant

That was my singer.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Veteran reggae singer John Holt dies aged 69

Jamaican star and songwriter behind The Tide Is High died in hospital on 19 October

http://www.theguardian.com/music/201...ged-69-veteran

RIP Legend...

John Holt: five great performances
        One of reggae’s great singers has left us – here are five classic tracks to remember him by

http://www.theguardian.com/music/mus...t-performances

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Was listening to 10,000 Volts of Holt in my car just last week.

RIP

One of the few singers who sounded exactly the same live as he did on record. He didn't really need a band. He couldn't dance a lick but love to see him live.

Love me some John Holt from back in the days and then some "sweetie come brush me" and his lovely delivery in "Police in Helicopter".

RIP John Holt, one of my favorite.

Touch wi wid some wicked chune. Jah guidance singah.

Sad. This man brought so many a lot of happiness. Beautiful memories by the score:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wxaCurnK_Rw

One of the few singers who sounded exactly the same live as he did on record. He didn't really need a band. He couldn't dance a lick but love to see him live.

Love me some John Holt from back in the days and then some "sweetie come brush me" and his lovely delivery in "Police in Helicopter".

RIP John Holt, one of my favorite.
                  Never could relate to the "Police in Helicopter" song.....

My favorite artist! Have to go play my DVD with him - great performance with the London Philarmonic Orchestra, wid my bredrin Arnold (Willy) Brackenridge on trumpet.

Rest well my brother. Everytime I hear On the Beach with the Paragons, I think of my old stomping ground -- Boston Beach!

not a advocate but it is a protest song, that was well done.
                      I like the song itself but the words are not the friendliest and John know this as he never do the whole song live, always a few lines.

Nothing wrong with that song. Appropriate response to the plantation mentality.

We can not think for ourselves and waited for US states
                          to start the decriminalization process.

RIP Mr. Holt. Loved your singing and always will!

Holt remembered

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/enter...bered_17772965

John Holt...long live his music

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/colum...music_17773189