Peter R will be discharged tomorrow!

• Peter R will be discharged tomorrow!

Yeah!! He put up a good fight and badup the strep! He had a skin graft last week and today, they told his wife it had taken 100% so he will be discharged tomorrow. So no more hospital!!! He's been there for over 3 weeks now. So good riddance to the sh!t food etc. etc. Blessings to the Almighty, I was frighten for a while as it was very serious. Hope to see him back on the forum soon.

PM

great news

Good to hear. The forum has been quiet for a few weeks.
      Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

One correction there... this hospital food has been very very good.

While I'll be home, I still have to be vigilant to not do anything that might hinder the growth of the skin graft.

If you can imagine your calf with no skin from the back of the knee to the ankle, that's what my leg was like before the graft. My leg now looks like a chicken wing that's been overcooked... It is now heavily bandaged as is my right thigh which is the donor area.

One thing I must say is the doctors who looked after me are first class and the nurses and support staff have been wonderful. Coincidentally, one of the plastic surgeons who is about 80 yrs young, was at UWI with my father, who was a year or two ahead of him, in the 50s. My father sent a picture he had of himself and said doctor taken about 1955. Small world we live in.

Now, it's a matter of now trying to regain weight, eating right to help the healing process and doing the right kind of exercises to get my legs going again. My right leg will take some time as the docs want to see the skin grow in before I begin doing anything strenuous that would affect the calf muscle and the new skin covering it. I will be using crutches and a wheelchair and will probably be home for the rest of the year.

But thanks and praises to the most high, I don't pray much but prayers help keep you strong.

Thanks everyone for the support!
        Last edited by Peter R; October 14, 2014, 09:23 PM.

Good news! All the best mi bredda

Blessings Peter,need you back quick to be the voice of calm and reason, as it pertains to Paul.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

......no more sponge bath from the young nurses.....

Wishing you the very best my forum friend!!!

And the prayers will continue .... Welcome back!

Wonderful news.

So good to hear in this time of mostly gloomy news.

Great!
                    Wish him continued swift recovery!

...There was one really beautiful one....only saw her once though..

Like many here, I suppose, I don't pray as much as I used to. Over the last few weeks, I did.

Here's wishing you a complete and speedy recovery, PR! Your illness was not one to mess around with.

YNWA!

Originally posted by Exile View Post
                          ...There was one really beautiful one....only saw her once though..
                          ...maybe PR can give you an intro

Good to hear you are much better and even better to have you back on the forum, your input was missed.

My treatment and recovery is really a three stage process. The first has past, surgeries and getting rid of the infection. The next, which I am now currently undergoing, is skin grafting, and healing. I am still heavily bandaged and pretty much immobile, though I can move around on crutches. They do not want me to move around too much so my leg will heal and to allow for skin regrowth.

The next step will be rehab, probably not for a few weeks yet. I lost muscle mass and my right leg is pretty weak.... I can see the bones of my upper right thigh... anyway, I'm hanging in there and with the support of my superwoman wife, and others, I will be up and (running) riding I hope by Christmas if not before.