Singer, songwriter Eddy Grant

• Singer, songwriter Eddy Grant

So we in the US know Eddy Grant for 2 songs. Electric Ave. and Living on the Frontline. (At least those are the 2 songs I knew from Eddy Grant in the 80's ).

From discussions, Eddy Grant is much bigger in the UK, Europe and Africa than he is in this part of the world. {One of his songs was banned in South Africa}

Grant had a #1 hit (in europe) called I Dont Wanna Dance, that I heard for the first time last week. The irony is that his two popular songs here were somewhat unknown in the UK and europe.

Historian, Assasin et al, care to comment?

War Party and Gimme Hope Joanna are also fairly well known this side of the world. Gimme Hope Joanna is about apartheid and so is probably the one that was banned.

Good writer.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qFcmNu4KdGI

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9dRnIWByjn0

Would you believe that i am hearing both songs just recently...(only after the conversation about Eddy Grant last week).

Thanks!

Very deep writer and when he hit he was a hit but had some bad ones too. I can remember "let me go to the moon" he wrote for Musical Youth. Eddie was ahead in how he sees the modern world and when it was combined good it made you take notice. A very good example is "Electric Avenue".

Havern't heard anything from him for a while. It would interesting to see what he is doing now and a release or two.

he had 2 or 3 other songs that seemed popular that i was aware ...

* romancing the stone
          * killer on the rampage and one with a girls name like "lou anna or susannah ..." will check.

oh yes ...gi mi hope joanna also "walking on sunshine" and "do you feel my love".

my favourite is do you feel my love.

and he's guyanese. i think he has a studio ( a very busy studio i might add) either in antigua, montserrat or mustique

Your second asterisk had me thinking the same--until I saw it was about Johannesburg. He was quite witty for making it sound as if it was about a female.

That's the song i mentioned that was banned in South Africa.

yup that were di one....

Barbados.

i stand corrected

Gamma you are correct. Eddy Grant was born in Guyana. HL, Eddy Grant was well known to many Jamaicans during the 80's. You left the Rock too long.
                        Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

his STUDIO is in barbados.