Who knew this..Jam had largest stud farm in world..

• Who knew this..Jam had largest stud farm in world..

In the 19th century.

http://www.bbc.com/news/world-latin-america-28157865

Found this on a Webpage

http://www.familytreecircles.com/loo...ury-31586.html

I knew we had horses but here on this websites says we have a stud industry!!!!!

http://tobajamaica.com/at-stud/stud-farms/

This article/website is unbelievably good!!!

http://glimpsesofracinginjamaica.yolasite.com

Check the image of a "browning" at a race in the early 20th century while two well dressed non-English men look on. Fantastic image and snapshot of that time (1906)

Thank you for these, Stoni. Will read them during my Sunday reading period.

I knew people in the business,My uncle was in it, still have my cousin, cousin in it,t used to be big up to the 80s ,where we exported horses all over the carribbean and florida, from what he tells me ,those days are over.Every bady a struggle.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Isn't CUFFE the family name of Tessanne Chin's husband? Though the person is looking for CUFF without an E... but you never know. Link dem nuh!

Not sure, I am not interested in the family link, just the information on the existence of a large stud farm in St Elizabeth, I knew that the area from gutters all the way down the valley to alligator pond side was. Prime horse raising area both in Spanish times and all the way through to the early part of the 20th century, that is pretty much all gone now.

All the horses for Cortez's conquest of Mexico came from horse farms in Jamaica, I read in a few books where after the Spanish left jamaica horses, cattle and hogs were so numerous that their carcasses in some places were literally like a carpet laid out upon the field, I probably am exaggerating a little on that one, but something like that.

Thank you for these, Stoni. Will read them during my Sunday reading period.
                  how much yuh cyan guh thru inna 3 minutes??

Ok, so looking at that list I notice quite a few farms that only have one stallion, all things being relatively equal, no sickness etc and you have an above average stallion, how much money could one expect to make on average in a year. How many tines would the farmer expect to work the stallion and what would be the average price per encounter, also would there be a extra fee expected if the mare 'foaled'

Good work Stoni, one of your links confirm about Hanover having Horse Racing Track, there was one at Copperwood, Lucea, and the other at Point, I am not sure if it is where the Palladium is or on the a joining Prospect. There was one track in Westmoreland called Kings Valley. I do recall read about Jamaican horses were sent to South America. I will forward info on horse racing, and Chester Watson is from Lucea who is in that business from a boy.

Yeah it is amazing what has happened in the past, the detail when you can find it is just like you can see and feel it.

Did you see the watercolor style painting I mentioned above, you should take a look.

Yes I saw the watercolor style painting.

Did you know that the late Willie Delisser, Custos of Hanover, front yard was the Blue Hole Polo Club at Sandy Bay? a number of the players there made the Jamaica team, and they also breed Race and Polo horses?
                          That property now is set up for horse back riding and Terrain vehicles in the surrounding hills, also the Polo field is now operating.

That is good stuff, I truly believe the major task of the tourism industry is to get the tourists to dip heavily into their pocket and really spend and enjoy themselves in jamaican life and culture, set ups like that encourage that greatly. The Massive all inclusive a and Spanish hotels really kill that and the spend from those tourists is minimal.

We used to have horse racing in Boston, Portland!