Words that are often misspelled on this site

Not the biggest deal...well, sometimes it just hits you like chalk screeching on a blackboard!

Best when yuh just chat patwa. Yuh see anybody a mek fun a myYout lingo?

The worst part of that word is the bad pronunciation - "mi injue."

I guess it's patwa so...

Some people take them language serious papa. I was talking to friend who tell me that when she was in UWI, she would write her parents and they would answer and highlight the spelling and grammatical errors in their response. LOL!!!!

Like I said earlier, i find Jamaicans make the biggest deal when people say something wrong, even when it's a slip of the tongue, giggling and repeating the mistake like fools. Yes, I may pick it up, but so what?! Afterall, English is our second language!

Maybe that's why we speak so haltingly, pronouncing every letter of a word as if we were in grade school. Even our tv and radio personalities do this and it irritates the hell out of me!

Some persons (the use of the word "persons" is another major peeve") took the education minister to task a few weeks ago when he pronounced "principal" as "principle". Dem aks if him nuh know di difference, and how di edumacation minister shoulda know better! Of course, the minister's pronunciation was correct. If we don't realise by now that English words are not pronounced the way they are spelt necessarily, then we really should just stick to patwa and done!