Bricktop? Please help?

• Bricktop? Please help?

Jamaica spent USD 2.2 billion on petroleum imports in 2011, equivalent to 15% of GDP

Is the above accurate?
    Please tell on JA's total annual energy costs? Oil imports? %age dependence on oil for energy generation?

Thanks!

btw -... High electricity costs are a leading cause of business failure in Jamaica....true?

Source: http://www.worldwatch.org/system/fil...map-112013.pdf

Aside: Took a look...casual look at the report as a result of a search for Pathway Technologies. Lead to so doing by:
    Provided employment for over three hundred in Jamaica at Pathway Technologies, Kgn, Jamaica.
    ...from post by FB friend and HL's brother Victor.

Do not know enough to be sure this entity has anything to do with the Pathway Technologies referenced by Victor...but I was intrigued by the report. -

Incidentally - Tilla! - Victor is another wonderful Mannings Alumnus! Has had great accomplishments and constantly on the go in attempts to accomplish 'more'.

High electricity costs are a leading cause of business failure in Jamaica....true
    Not just business failure, it contributes to underperformance in almost every facet of national development. Projects which should be doable become unviable when our energy costs are factored in.

Sounds like you had a project on the drawing board that prohibitive energy costs scuttled? True?

What do you think should be done about reigning in our energy costs? Any ideas? Just curious!

Not personally no, but I am aware of a few small business owners that are constantly under pressure to make a good profit because of energy costs. It is a major expense that you cannot do a whole lot about controlling. From small hotels to gyms to restaurants, it affects their input costs greatly.

Then when you consider potential infrastructure projects, for example solving our water supply problems using desalination, our high energy costs would make the end product more expensive than most would be willing to pay.

The building of new power plants have to be a big part of the solution, coal, natural gas or whatever. The Wigton Windfarm and other such renewable energy projects are worth expanding on but renewables alone will not solve our chronic energy problems in the short term. We need action like yesterday.

As usual our biggest problem is less about what we do and more about us taking way too long to do anything at all.

more about what we do. We continue to make consumption a priority over business and production. Currently look at the status. Yes we are importing less than a year ago but we are also exporting less and more than 60 percent of loans are for cars etc. One of the big problems we had in the 90s is influx of personal motor car at the expense of a public transportation system. One is going to talk about JUTC but if government can't regulate a system, then how are they going run a government owned system???

Same thing with Energy, when JPS was sold, why are we now talking about new capacity to get cheaper energy? Shouldn't that have been a part o the package then?????

When I say about what we do and don't do, I mean at the macro level when it comes to correcting a problem or issue that exists. We talk about the issue ad nauseam as years and years go by, hardly ever doing anything.

That is why with all its problems I still consider the highway/toll road projects a success. At least it is getting done and will continue to bring societal benefits for a long time to come.

It is a success but if we don't keep the dollar stable then it becomes oppressive. But as you say we talk and we excuse failure. Over the past few years, there has been so many grand pronouncement and we fail to even ask or follow up on them. When election time you hear them go dust out the old paper. We need to follow through with our political leaders and make them know when them a bull.....

We need a new set of politicians to drive change in Jamaica. The same old people with no new ideas still running the country after all these years. Maybe we should consider term limits, but then, you wonder if that would create a void.

A few years ago an old schoolmate contacted me and while we were talking, he asked if I had any plans to return to Jamaica. He was telling me that it is our age group's time to "run things" in the country now. I do not see that happening however, as leaders/politicians typically die first before they retire and allow the younger generation to take over.

A change is needed though. Islandman, wha' yuh seh? You sound as if you would make a good politician.
                "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

The saddest thing is most of the young ones are taking shortcut. They will listen to you but then they will tell you "A suh the thing run". The problem with our group running things is even though we are more educated than our parents and the generation before, they find it hard to pass on the baton and this is in all walk of life, not only politics. Until the people hold all politician responsible then we will not be in any better position. Make some have to retire and some have to run way.

I-man for Eastern or Western St. Thomas. LOL

I don't really think I would make a good politician but I can certainly contribute to national development in many ways, including supporting those that I think will make good leaders.

It is difficult to break through the existing party machinery even if you have a desire to contribute. Fortunately there are ways to influence policy and public opinion outside of representative politics.

They die first and then they retire???

...smiled when I read it. Sure we all know what Tilla meant on politicians being replaced...

Guess dying brings about forced retirement! ...and for some of our politicians, those who have become "old dogs", unfortunately the dying does not come 'soon' enough.

these are the energy stats for Jamaica:

http://www.nationmaster.com/country-...Jamaica/Energy

high electricity costs are one of the main factors relating to business failure...i would agree...

Pathway was a call center that folded after Netserv...i doubt that had to do with energy costs howeer...

...Karl, some nice work from Victor...