Jamaica's drought condition

• Jamaica's drought condition

upgraded to severe. BT and co., no more than two minutes in the shower!
    http://jamaica-gleaner.com/latest/ar...0wpFQ.facebook

We are surrounded by water, we need to do something to address the problem. They can produce fresh water from salt water through reverse osmosis. This is less energy intensive and more cost effective than regular desalination process. We may also have to treat and reuse waste water to add to our source.

Short term, seed the clouds to produce rain. Hopefully we can get rain to fall in the catchment areas, so the water can be stored.

Another source is underground water. We can drill wells if underground sources are identified. These underground sources could be used for farm irrigation or be treated for consumption.

I worked with D&G shortly before leaving Jamaica. They had about 10 wells which were used for different things. They used the city water which was further treated for use in product. Well water was treated for use in process equipment (boilers, pasturizers, bottle washers etc.). Some untreated wells were used for truck washdown and things like that.

I have not been there in severe drought as they are having now. It is possinle that the drought could impact the water levels in the wells and could affect supply.

Water shortage has been a problem long enough in the Kingston and St Andrew areas for a long time. Also rural areas have suffered for a long time too. it is full time governmend do something to address the problem.
    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

However, ice bucket challenges may continue until further notice.

We are surrounded by water, we need to do something to address the problem. They can produce fresh water from salt water through reverse osmosis. This is less energy intensive and more cost effective than regular desalination process. We may also have to treat and reuse waste water to add to our source.

Short term, seed the clouds to produce rain. Hopefully we can get rain to fall in the catchment areas, so the water can be stored.

Another source is underground water. We can drill wells if underground sources are identified. These underground sources could be used for farm irrigation or be treated for consumption.

I worked with D&G shortly before leaving Jamaica. They had about 10 wells which were used for different things. They used the city water which was further treated for use in product. Well water was treated for use in process equipment (boilers, pasturizers, bottle washers etc.). Some untreated wells were used for truck washdown and things like that.

I have not been there in severe drought as they are having now. It is possinle that the drought could impact the water levels in the wells and could affect supply.

Water shortage has been a problem long enough in the Kingston and St Andrew areas for a long time. Also rural areas have suffered for a long time too. it is full time governmend do something to address the problem.
        Excellent post:

Looks like tropical storm Cristobal will bring some rain...

We do not have a shortage of water...the hydrological cycle provides us with the same amount of precipitation, with slight deviations, for the past 40 years...problem is that 40% of NWC water is lost to leakage...the dams are full of silt...and the GOJ refuses to install water harvesting systems at all government institutions

Rich people get rich from the amount they save, not how much they earn...

The water authority and GOJ should be doing everything to preserve the precious resource. How much does it cost to filter and purify a litre/gallon of water? only to see it wash down the drain from leakage...

rained all day yesterday...even in Portmore...

Heh heh! Wah yuh say, even di Gaza pick up some blessings?!?