What's happening to American music?

• What's happening to American music?

I’m surprised that no one is talking about the new British (foreign) invasion and the subsequent demise of American music, black music in particular. All the good songs out there are British or foreign. Artistes like Ed Sheeran, Sam Smith, Nico & Vinz ( Norway ), Sia (Australian) and Magic! ( Canada ) have the hottest songs out there.

Even my current favourite song, Rather Be by Clean Bandit, is out of Britain! http://youtu.be/m-M1AtrxztU

And by the way, the last 3 winners of Grammy’s coveted Record of the Year prize have been non-American – Daft Punk (French), Gotye (Belgian-Australian) and Adele (British). That should tell you something!

Lol, Mo

I’m surprised that no one is talking about the new British (foreign) invasion and the subsequent demise of American music, black music in particular. All the good songs out there are British or foreign. Artistes like Ed Sheeran, Sam Smith, Nico & Vinz ( Norway ), Sia (Australian) and Magic! ( Canada ) have the hottest songs out there.

Even my current favourite song, Rather Be by Clean Bandit, is out of Britain! http://youtu.be/m-M1AtrxztU

And by the way, the last 3 winners of Grammy’s coveted Record of the Year prize have been non-American – Daft Punk (French), Gotye (Belgian-Australian) and Adele (British). That should tell you something!
    I thought your current favorite song was “Rude” by the Canadian group Magic!

I love “Rude” very much as well, and I feel particularly pleased by the obvious fact that those four guys obviously spent quality time listening carefully to Jamaican reggae! You don’t play reggae with that feel from merely a cursory exposure (lol)!

Now to your point: There was a previous “British Invasion” in the early 1960s, led by possibly the greatest group in history, the Beatles. Others, such as the Rolling Stones, Herman’s Hermits, Cream, the Who, etc. followed albeit with much lesser impact (although the success of the Stones’ “Satisfaction” cannot be minimized).

But you are right about the “demise of American music, black music in particular”. In fact, African American music at the moment, in my opinion, is at possibly its lowest point in the past fifty years, and this is no surprise as hip hop and rap, like dancehall music, tends in many cases to be an avenue of employment for too many people who should really be involved in other careers (outside of music).

Every month or so you will get a current favourite from me!

Bruno Mars and Pharrell Williams are trying their darndest to save black music, but it is not enough.

i don't see gage on that list:

http://youtu.be/BDrh565NpLQ

WARNING EXPLICIT CONTENT

Those kids that make up Clean Bandit are some bright kids (Cambridge University students). Good to see.

6,500 views since January... him a give Tessanne competition!

Send Gage this TedX video please...
              https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gRJ_QfP2mhU

I love a good slack chune. This is not one.

I like how you put it... a "slack" tune! LOL The musician for lack of a better word has no art, there is nothing left for the listener, nothing. These lyrics are like a billy club on your head; it's like those gory horror films that just cut to the chase and show bodies being dismembered left right and centre...

Interesting! Maybe that explains the classical music parts in their chunes. I wonder what they were studying there?

biggest chune a road now...but yes...i agree...him kitty kat chune is better...but still disposable

Biggest chune a road? Makes one miss Vybz Kartel!

i don't see gage on that list:

http://youtu.be/BDrh565NpLQ

WARNING EXPLICIT CONTENT

wtf wrong wid yuh dude?

bring back "rampin shop"... pleeeaaassseeee!!!!!

Music?? just my wild guess... because