Jamaica has produced some excellent songwriters

• Jamaica has produced some excellent songwriters

who never really made it big internationally. Historian frequently and accurately refers to Bob Andy as one of the best examples.

Not far behind Bob Andy in this category (in my opinion of course ) is this rastaman whose music I have always been a big fan of. I am not even sure how many forumites would recognize him but as far as musical poets go we have not produced too many who have been better.

Tough Question!!

who never really made it big internationally. Historian frequently and accurately refers to Bob Andy as one of the best examples.

Not far behind Bob Andy in this category (in my opinion of course ) is this rastaman whose music I have always been a big fan of. I am not even sure how many forumites would recognize him but as far as musical poets go we have not produced too many who have been better.
    This is a tough question, as I really don’t recognize the person. Looking at his importance (you class him and Bob Andy in a similar category of poets), I’ll make a wild guess and say John Holt?

Like I said, this is a wild, wild guess, as this person does NOT resemble John Holt (I’m more thinking of the person’s importance as a poet)!

More recent than John Holt.

This is Billy Wilmot/ Mystic who was/is the leader of the Mystic Revealers band. I honestly believe that had that band come of age in the 1970s/early 1980s they could have been as big a group as Black Uhuru. Back in the 90's I would go and watch them wherever they played.

Billy is also a pioneer in surfing in Jamaica with his Jamnesia Surf Club and will probably be remembered more for his contributions in that area than his music.

Some of my favorite Mystic Revealers songs:

Religion

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Rhfr...c1uyR3nG1zArB3

Saw You Smiling

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_4wq_vBiTA4

Got to be a Better Way

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5SkncMKaUt0

I also like their version of the John Lennon classic Revolution more than the original

Lol, I Made Two Errors!

I’man, I was incorrect on TWO fronts: first in naming the wrong person (I did not realize it was Billy Mystic) and in crediting John Holt as a great poet.

After going to bed last night and thinking about my reply post above, I realized that I had confused John Holt’s greatness as a singer (with the Paragons and as a solo artist) by giving him credit as a “great poet”. In fact, much/most of his hits were written by others.

Unlike great Jamaican songwriters like Bob Marley, Ernie Smith, Bob Andy, Toots Hibbert, Jimmy Cliff, Renford Cogle, and many others, I cannot recall John Holt providing much in the way of songwriting.

This is not to say that John Holt hasn’t written great songs. The popular song, “The Tide Is High,” for example, was written by Holt and originally recorded by the Paragons. It became a worldwide smash in 1980 for the group Blondie.

Yes I was going to ask you about that, because most of the John Holt/Paragons songs I am familiar with were covers.

His version "I want a Love I can Feel" is an excellent cover, at least an equal of this early Temptations classic. In fact I was not aware that this was a Temptations original until I watched the movie about that group.

Do you know who wrote "On The Beach" ? That is my favorite Paragons song.

He must have got some good royalties from Tide is High. I didn't realise he wrote that one.

“On The Beach”

Yes I was going to ask you about that, because most of the John Holt/Paragons songs I am familiar with were covers.

His version "I want a Love I can Feel" is an excellent cover, at least an equal of this early Temptations classic. In fact I was not aware that this was a Temptations original until I watched the movie about that group.

Do you know who wrote "On The Beach" ? That is my favorite Paragons song.

He must have got some good royalties from Tide is High. I didn't realise he wrote that one.
            I’man, in addition to “The Tide Is High”, the Paragons’ hits “On the Beach” and “Wear You To The Ball” were also written by John Holt.

Although the Paragons and later John Holt as a solo artist did quite a number of covers, they also did some originals as well, with Holt writing several classics.

Big up Billy. Didn't particularly rate his voice, but I like the songs he wrote. He also played a major role in this live band movement you are now seeing with Chronixx, Raging Fyah, Protoje etc.

One of the best singers outta JA.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Big up John. He did a lot of cover but he can write, maybe a bit lazy at times but he could express himself inna song. "On the beach" and "wear you to the ball" are classic but I like the arrangement and music in "Sweetie come brush me" and his Rebel side in "Burn down the cane field".

Very good singer but can't dance to save his life. His voice on stage is as good as on the record.

True. In fact what prompted me to start this thread was a post that Chronixx made bigging up Billy as one of his influences and giving him credit for helping to develop his songwriting.

Many of these young youths got exposure playing over at Jamnesia.

Just came across this nice little video feature from SurferMag.com about his setup over in Bull Bay. Assasin you will like this, the kind of movement that could really develop tourism in areas of Jamaica that are not known for it.

http://www.surfermag.com/videos/jama...fits-bull-bay/

Noice!

yeah, on one of my trips to Kingston, I was surprised the amount of surfers on the plain, and I realize how big a thing it was in St. Thomas and it seems to be build not with much government support. I had to do a little reading up on it.

Big up Billy Mystic and his band contribution. Big contribution to the current Reggae band explosion. As I said to Historian that we may have more bands in Ja now but only that they don't have the exposure.

Throw in Ken Boothe into that list.
                          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Actually I loved Billy's singing voice. He sang effortless and sounded smooth.
                            Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

Would thom belll be considered a Jamaican songwriter? Jimmy cliff is also a great songwriter