Are tablets a prescription for 21st century education?

• Are tablets a prescription for 21st century education?

...or a headache?

Tablet programme to strengthen innovation among students - Robinson
    Tuesday, August 19, 2014

State Minister for Science, Technology, Energy, and Mining Julian Robinson said the ministry's Tablets in School programme will strengthen the culture of entrepreneurship and innovation in Jamaica, particularly among students.

Robinson contended that early exposure of students to technology will enable them to develop new approaches to problem solving by their engagement in more analytical thinking, which, he said, should unearth and enhance their creativity.

"We believe that technology will encourage them to experiment, think outside the box, and come up with solutions, which may, in the long term, enhance that culture of entrepreneurship and innovation. We want our young people... to build great Apps, and (create) solutions that... can (also) be applicable elsewhere in the world," he said

Apps are not built on Tablets, they are built on Laptops and desktops.

Tablets wont foster programming skills, CompSci curricula will.

Are these the Paulwell tablets that are supposed to cost USD$200 a piece (money haffi mek) and will be given free to 6 year olds? How many will end up for sale in Curry intermede?

Well, it's either tablets or Lego robots. Which one yuh rather?

Proper computer labs with desktops in secure rooms where dem wont get mash up or tiefed! LoL

For 6 year old, it all depends on how it is used. I don't see many schools in the US moving in that direction though.

It has to have very tight supervision to be effective. For Six year old you can find some Apps that help. 200 dollar tablets are far too expensive, You could get Laptops for nearly that price if you buy in Quantity. Shouldn't have been more than 100 dollars a piece for student tablets.

Dat mi a seh too, but money haffi mek.

Apps are not built on Tablets, they are built on Laptops and desktops.

Tablets wont foster programming skills, CompSci curricula will.

Are these the Paulwell tablets that are supposed to cost USD$200 a piece (money haffi mek) and will be given free to 6 year olds? How many will end up for sale in Curry intermede?
              Absolutely correct

1. Before a full roll out they should have had a 1-2 year pilot program with 10-20 schools to test what works...and what doesn't

2. The key apps on tablets should be downloadable text books with lesson aids to alleviate the book cost issue... plus enable support for the core curriculum.

Seems to be poorly thought out policy ...as usual

Yup, more thought needs to ge given to it. This is a luxury policy in terms of cost and we will have only 1 shot to get it right. No 2nd chance...

And if we choose wrong, there goes much hope for any future paradigm shift in high tech education in Jam.