Jangle (And Others): A Question....

You make some good points here Stoni.

Just this week I noticed a US Virgin Islands tourist ad, hard core reggae song and I would even suggest very Jamaican sounding singer. Should be we upset about this, or is it an indication how strong our brand is and that we should be doing even more to benefit from it?

This song used in the ad is this one. Anybody know this artiste, Pressure?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=54aPmBnAj00

Don't tell mi yuh nuh know Pressure!?!

He had the baddest chune about 8 years ago - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KHVQVVNmh1U

You probably thought it was done by a Jamaican, huh?

At the same time, 2Face from Nigeria came out with this. They both were the baddest chunes around for a long time, despite what Bricky says!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_A0fWBHu9pM

Yes I did!

Her response is more than silly, locks is probably the most natural hairstyle humans have ever had and locks have been worn on every continent for thousands of years before recorded history. We have clear connections that locks were a part of the culture in The Akan confederacy and amongst Twi speakers from the first consistent Euro contact by Bosman, we know the same amongst the Kikuyu tribesmen in Kenya a few thousand miles away and we definitely know about the Nagas in India who say they have been wearing them for thousands of years.

All of that is interesting but does not at all affect the jamaican locks story, where a movement of Rastafari started wearing locks and combined with reggae from the 60's and the golden age of the 70's put it on the map for the whole world to see and accept it and make it popular and a cool thing for some.

African Americans made the Afro cool in the 70's and maybe late 60's, not sure exactly on the start, but no one would say they invented it, but we would all say that they created a vibe around it which took on a new life and style after that time.

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
              African Americans made the Afro cool in the 70's and maybe late 60's, not sure exactly on the start, but no one would say they invented it, but we would all say that they created a vibe around it which took on a new life and style after that time.
              Exactly!

http://yearningforunity.tumblr.com/p...pua-new-guinea

They were probably wearing afros for centuries!

You Got It!

Stoni, I am very, very touchy when it comes to this matter of Jamaica’s contribution to the world! In fact, I wish more could be documented about EXACTLY why our name has, in several cases, created positive connotations. Bottom line is, I love the country in which I was born and raised!

This patriotism/nationalism is also I what I particularly like about Jangle’s posts and why, despite our occasional disagreements, I on most occasions agree with him.

Having said all of that, Stoni, I’m also now making this addition to the thread to say that you made a great deal of sense above (I placed your quote below in this post)! Your reasoning, as it always is, is logical and definitely on point!

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
                Her response is more than silly, locks is probably the most natural hairstyle humans have ever had and locks have been worn on every continent for thousands of years before recorded history. We have clear connections that locks were a part of the culture in The Akan confederacy and amongst Twi speakers from the first consistent Euro contact by Bosman, we know the same amongst the Kikuyu tribesmen in Kenya a few thousand miles away and we definitely know about the Nagas in India who say they have been wearing them for thousands of years.

All of that is interesting but does not at all affect the jamaican locks story, where a movement of Rastafari started wearing locks and combined with reggae from the 60's and the golden age of the 70's put it on the map for the whole world to see and accept it and make it popular and a cool thing for some.

I don't use anti perspirant deodorants. I only buy the ones advertised as deodorant ...

That is what I have been doing since that meeting too. I think some folks do not know that there is a difference.
                    "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

I didn't think her comment was silly at the time as I knew nothing about the origins of dreadlocks or on what continents it was worn thousands of years ago, apart from seeing it in Jamaica in recent times.

What a difference having an internet connection and google make today? Anyway, this discussion took place in the early 90s, before smartphone and internet access were commonplace. If the discussion were held today, I would be remiss not to be in better position to defend the comments of my countryman.
                      "Only when you drink from the river of silence shall you indeed sing. And when you have reached the mountain top, then you shall begin to climb. And when the earth shall claim your limbs, then shall you truly dance." ~ Kahlil Gibran

Nice...erm... afros , I think

Cho Tilla, what yuh dealing wid, every person that have a significant amount of curliness in them hair will locks after a few weeks of no combing!!! Anyway, I kinda know what you mean when you have a long held assumption directly challenged and for a moment you are in a state of double shock at the challenge and then at your inability to respond.

Yow check this, Ethiopians invented the Afro, check the pic.

https://images.search.yahoo.com/imag...01&fr2=piv-web

I see you understand me. That is exactly how it was then.

Yup, happened to me once in the middle of Cspring, I was the agitator and man me get a tracing in front of my brethrin them from a queens girl based on an assumption and statement that I made, I had no answer and had to find a hole to hide as my friends neatly dead wid Laff, probably still laughing.