Reflections on Janis, Jimi, Jacob....

• Reflections on Janis, Jimi, Jacob....

Listening to the late Amy Winehouse’s concert just now (thanks again, Peter), I began to reflect on the fact that quite a number of popular singers and musicians, like Amy Winehouse, died at the age of 27.

In fact, that age of 27 seems to take on another dimension when we consider the following: Amy Winehouse was 27 years old when she died, and so too were Janis Joplin, Jimi Hendrix, Jacob Miller, Jim Morrison, Kurt Cobain, blues guitarist Robert Johnson, and the Rolling Stone’s Brian Jones, and these are just the ones I know off the top of my head!

As far as I can recall, they died from either substance abuse (drugs or alcohol), suicide, homicide (in the case of Robert Johnson), and in the case of Jacob Miller, vehicular accident.

Some Who Stood The Test Of Time

Heavy use of “substances” does not always kill, of course, and we have “fast-lane” people such as Keith Richards and Mick Jagger as living testament to this truth (lol)!

I understand, (I'm open to correction) that Jacob Miller was high after smoking some herb and decided to take a drive down the road to get cane juice (or something like that) and then the accident occurred. I don't think another vehicle was involved. If this anecdote is true, one could attribute driving under the influence of weed as a major contributor to cause of death....

Can anyone corroborate this story? or rubbish it?

That's a helluva a lot of J's, you know that if you add 2 & 7 on the Puntic number scheme that iss equal to the corresponding letter J in the puntic alphabet. No lie, serious coincidence!!!!

Re: Jacob

I understand, (I'm open to correction) that Jacob Miller was high after smoking some herb and decided to take a drive down the road to get cane juice (or something like that) and then the accident occurred. I don't think another vehicle was involved. If this anecdote is true, one could attribute driving under the influence of weed as a major contributor to cause of death....

Can anyone corroborate this story? or rubbish it?
          Well, Peter, I can say this: No other vehicle was involved in that 1980 accident! Jacob crashed into a light pole on Hope Road (I was in Jamaica at the time).

Beyond that, I honestly cannot answer. You raised an interesting point though, and one which I had never thought about! Hopefully, other members of this forum can elaborate further.

What Can I Say?

Originally posted by Stonigut View Post
            That's a helluva a lot of J's, you know that if you add 2 & 7 on the Puntic number scheme that iss equal to the corresponding letter J in the puntic alphabet. No lie, serious coincidence!!!!
            Stoni, I am at a loss for words, as the topic you raised is completely new to me.

But let me quickly add that there surely have been more singers/musicians who died at age 27, and so I suspect the J’s might appear less than what I posted above. I just listed those I could recall

Histman you are killing me!!! "You are at a loss for words" :-) bdl - big dutty laugh!

The j's are off the chart that other stuff is something from a friend of mine who is always correlating numbers and reality which I always find funny, I just shut up and listen.