hehehe ,, like the time yuh come here bout how the road dem nice and no pot holes, then by the midday news there were news of taxi drivers demonstrating in Westmoreland(??) or Hanover (??) about the state of the roads.
Karl you is a good comrade. All if dem a dig out yuh eyes, you'll see it as being good for the party.
...and, I made sure you understood I was speaking of my limited experience. You did not think...and, you could not have got, that I was speaking of every section of the roadway!
...just as I am sure you understood that the taxi drivers were demonstrating about and calling attention to a particular section of the roadway.
Lazie...as you mentioned roads...and, 'Sass may like to hear
of work in his areas?
---------------------
Monitor the roads and expose damage by culprits
Dennis Morrison
Wednesday, May 30, 2007
Motorists and citizens who live in the communities along the Ocho Rios to Port Antonio segment of the North Coast Highway must feel discombobulated as the road construction work moves into high gear.
Dennis Morrison
As it was with segments 1 and 2 from Negril to MoBay and MoBay to Ocho Rios, the construction on this segment of the highway must proceed at the same time as motorists have to use the road, except where other minor roads can be used as detours. This is the difficulty associated with what is called "brownfield" as opposed to "greenfield" construction.
Were the existing roadway being replaced entirely by a new road on different terrain this would be "greenfield" construction, which could proceed uninterrupted by the need to accommodate traffic flow. This way, construction would be easier and quicker. On the other hand, "brownfield" construction involves rehabilitating, upgrading and widening the existing road, and is a far more complicated proposition which, though less costly for Jamaica's type of terrain, is more time-consuming, disruptive and frustrating for the travelling public.
That was my experience last week when I travelled to Port Antonio, and I can imagine the frustration of those who are frequent users of this road. But as I passed the major works that included drainage, replacement of bridges, changes in alignment to sections of the road, and experienced the frequent stops controlled by makeshift traffic wardens, my mind turned to what is now the comfortable driving conditions on the Montego Bay to Ocho Rios segment.
Not only has this opened up some of our picturesque landscape, but even a careful and slow driver like me can get from Montego Bay to Ocho Rios in just over an hour, less than half the time it took before the reconstruction works.
Hard as it is, motorists in St Mary and the western half of Portland, and visitors to these areas will have to continue to endure disruptive construction activity for the next 18 months or so. It is critical, however, that the governmental authorities keep a tight rein on the contractors and the consultants who are supervising the construction so that the time lines are achieved. A section of the North Coast Highway
And it is equally important that they insist that the work is so organised as to ease the frustrations of road users. Too often, contractors show no respect at all for motorists, as warning lights are missing and detour signs are obscure, or non-existent.
Not even the best organisation or the timely completion of the works can remove the mental pressures motorists and passengers will be experiencing over the coming months. But it will help if we look ahead and imagine the sheer joy of a trip from Montego Bay to Port Antonio when this segment is completed. Rather than a four- or five-hour treacherous ride, we can anticipate a scenic journey through what many consider to be the most beautiful parts of Jamaica.
The citizens of Portland and St Thomas have good cause, however, to be upset about the poor state of the main road from Port Antonio all the way to Harbour View. While motorists can be patient and forgiving about the road conditions from St Mary to Port Antonio because the highway reconstruction project is in front of their eyes and it is certain that it will be completed because financing is available, there is no sign that maintenance works will be undertaken on the main road to the east of Port Antonio.
No doubt, recent severe weather has inflicted damage, but the road cannot be left in its current state, especially considering what is taking place on the alternate route from Kingston to Port Antonio.
The most alarming aspect of the neglect of this section of the island's main road system is how overloaded trucks with construction material from the Yallahs River have been allowed to destroy the road surface from Pamphret to Harbour View. I have often written and spoken about the virtual criminal behaviour of the owners of these trucks and of the mining operators who are presiding over the destruction of the public roadway.
Less than 10 years ago, hundreds of millions of dollars of taxpayers' money were spent on major improvement works on this route, which have now gone down the drain.
Not only have the regulatory authorities turned a blind eye to what is happening, but the press, political leaders and community groups have shown little interest. For its part, the press could make a difference were it to expose the big people in the society who are the real culprits, and thereby put pressure on the regulators to take action.
A JLP govenment makes no bones of their corruption - the JLP motto should be "The genetically connected only...all others go to hell"!
It took a Norman Manley and a Michael Manley to open the schools, business possibilities, commanding heights of the economy to all families and remove the mind stigma - various stigma -that precluded the vast majority from opportunities to fully part-take in upward mobility in the Jamaica Society.
Portia is here to continue that opening of the opportunities to advance the welfare of all the people!
No to a party that would focus on the few. One of the amazing things is the "look down nose" attitude of so many of those who in a real sense are like the majority of us "jus come"????? Amazing???
Reminds me of the Mico phenonemon where graduates who 'made good' turned around and disowned their parents and those who were not as fortunate.
As to the nonsense put forth about persons who now reside outside of the island abandoning the island...I wonder if those who come up with that nonsense even consider a 'narrowing' of the landmass to consider the similarity of the movement of Jamaicans within the island to movement to other locales? A simple moving to a place where the individual sees/believes opportunity to advance is possible? A simple broadening of horizons?
Would the 'nonsense argument' extend to a St. Ann man abandoning St. Ann if he moves to Trelawny? Should the Trelawny local born resident "turn nose up" at these "sell outs"? Should the man who moves to an adjourning village be considered to have abandoned his village? ...and, such persons spoken of with derision?
The whole line of division of "wi a yaaard" and "dem abroad" just does not make sense!
Comment you have the JLP defender Lazie and the PNP Karl both living in the USA. So we both speak from, in your mind, "the safety of foreign".
...or, have I made a 'fatal error' and it is only those who do not agree with you who get your "up turned nose"?
Stop the drivel. Do you think before you write?
I keep telling you that Manley's persuasions only work on mindless minions like yourself. Stop talking rubbish about opening up this and opening up that. What was said and what was done was totally different.
How did the suppression of crimes act, which was the single most oppressive piece of legislation EVER enacted in this country since slavery, help the vast majority to "commanding heights of the economy" !? and how did this "help remove the mind stigma - various stigma -that precluded the vast majority from opportunities to fully part-take in upward mobility in the Jamaica Society."
Mr. Manley fooled you with emotive issues and distracted you from real issues. To this day you haven't got over yourself and your blind devotion to that failure of leadership, which is why you refuse to hold the government accountable for the terrible state of the economy now.
Stop the drivel. Do you think before you write?
I keep telling you that Manley's persuasions only work on mindless minions like yourself. Stop talking rubbish about opening up this and opening up that. What was said and what was done was totally different.
How did the suppression of crimes act, which was the single most oppressive piece of legislation EVER enacted in this country since slavery, help the vast majority to "commanding heights of the economy" !? and how did this "help remove the mind stigma - various stigma -that precluded the vast majority from opportunities to fully part-take in upward mobility in the Jamaica Society."
Mr. Manley fooled you with emotive issues and distracted you from real issues. To this day you haven't got over yourself and your blind devotion to that failure of leadership, which is why you refuse to hold the government accountable for the terrible state of the economy now.
In short, you have no sense.
Is'nt it a pity there are so many like me!
...anyway, I am wishing you do not have a heart attack!
btw - ...as to holding the government accountable for any mis-steps made, read my posts -carefully!
Yeap!! A pity. Bcuz a unuh kept these clowns in office mek dem put we in this hole. Pity you and Jawge nuh affi live under dem!!
It is actually a pity that there are many like you.. that is a burden this country has had to bear for almost 3 decades.. dead weight... and still not the majority of the electorate.. not even close.. about 25% of the Electorate.. not even those of voting age.. those that choose to enumerate.. and yet unnuh talk like unnu have some sort of blessing from the people to carry on with atrocities.. all the while simply benefitting from the formation of the NDM..
How did the suppression of crimes act, which was the single most oppressive piece of legislation EVER enacted in this country since slavery, help the vast majority to "commanding heights of the economy" !? and how did this "help remove the mind stigma - various stigma -that precluded the vast majority from opportunities to fully part-take in upward mobility in the Jamaica Society."?
How does the suppression of crimes act square with your foolish views of Manley?
Only a despot would enact legislation so inimical to the rights of people.
Your hero was responsible for legislating human rights abuses. But you can't or won't see that. All you want to talk about is some phantom upward mobility, as if decimating the economy and causing people to flee and boasting about it in parliament helps the vast majority to "commanding heights of the economy."
You are not intelligent. You have been duped, fooled, hoodwinked........
As the only 'rational labourite' on the forum per Jawge I suggest you concentrate on the mistakes on the last eighteen years. You might not like where the comparison of human rights leads,
Well other than losing elections, the PNP has been a failure. Show the human rights violations under the JLP nuh?
I will not defend the indefensible whether JLP or PNP and there is no defense for the cleptocracy which has taken part under this government. But dont go overboard. The JLP discovered human rights while in opposition. For Jamaica's sake I hope they actually mean what they say.
We had the Eradication squad under Trinity. Nuff youths dead simply because Police want them girl. Check under which administration the Jamaica police force killed the most Jamaicans, hint: it happened in the eighties. Curiously, we had no Jamaicans for Justice formed then go figure. Which party first declared a State of Emergency post independence and what was the reason?.
The comrades, Karl and Jawge cannot be basing their devotion to the PNP upon the performance the past 18 years.. it HAS to be rooted in some warped god worship emanating from the years under Michael Manley.. only a certifiable lunatic could look at the PNP record since 1989 and offer devotion to them.. not even Jawge and Karl are that far gone..
I will not defend the indefensible whether JLP or PNP and there is no defense for the cleptocracy which has taken part under this government. But dont go overboard. The JLP discovered human rights while in opposition. For Jamaica's sake I hope they actually mean what they say.
We had the Eradication squad under Trinity. Nuff youths dead simply because Police want them girl. Check under which administration the Jamaica police force killed the most Jamaicans, hint: it happened in the eighties. Curiously, we had no Jamaicans for Justice formed then go figure. Which party first declared a State of Emergency post independence and what was the reason?.
Mi ask yuh fi present the numerous violations and yuh a pull a 50 cent pon mi wid 21 questions. I didn't say there were no human rights violations under the JLP. According to what I've heard from the various Human Rights groups, the worse violations take place under this gov't. Suh ... come again!
You can't suck me in to defend bull crap remember I am a rational labourite. My point is the human right abuses was/is a way of governing in Jamaica from colonial times, whichever party was in power. The severity of the abuse sometime varied with how threatened the ruling party felt. The JLP felt threatened by the Black consciousness movement so they banned books and declared a state of emergency and deported a brilliant black historian because he use to reason/teach poor people in the gully something a sociologist name Edward Seaga use to do but I digress. The JLP's leader Hugh Lawson Shearer instucted the police to shoot first and ask questions later. I wonder what they would have done if the opposition said they would be removed by ' overthrow or underthrow"
Like I said for the last eighteen years the PNP should be judged because that's long enough to see what they actually are. I just hope the JLP is serious.
"I am a rational labourite" Yuh naah duh figet that eh? (Dats JAwge fi yuh!)
Mek Mosiah tell bout when a police run up pon him inna half way tree (??) If it was today ... different sankey. Banned books? Is that the new catch phrase round here? Again ... based on interviews I've heard, the WORST human rights violations occur under the PNP.
The sins of Shearer can be forgiven cause under his leadership we experienced double digit growth. A gov't of 18 years still a try figure out how fi achieve 3%.
The PNP must feel like the disciple that saw Jesus walking pon water and wanted to try it tuh!