Jamaica All Island Secondary School Rankings

While this is true given the overall poor performance, I would make the argument that they are the schools with access to the most resources and the ones with the most national prominence, the trend setters if you will. That is not a good situation in my view.
    So you're saying that rather than sport causing mediocre or poor academics in those schools.... its incidental association with high profile schools which also excel at sports sets a trend with others for sport emphasis??

Hmmm..That proposition and any impact it may have would need some study

But the fact that ~95% of the bottom 80 or so schools have very feeble sports programs puts the proper perspective on any so-called negative overall impact of sport on academics... It's a small issue at best, but sucks up a lot of oxygen re this debate

I don't believe sports itself causes mediocre performance. I think though that priorities do make a difference.

Our school co-curricular activities are generally skewed heavily towards sports. Not just the champion schools, they simply have the most resources and the best support system. I think that is unwise for our leading schools, academic and otherwise, to be doing that

However you are correct in saying that the real problem is not attention to sports, it is the lack of attention to all the other areas of personal development.

Are they correlated in any way though? Do we focus on sports and entertainment success because we don't have much to show in other areas of development, or do we not have much to show because we focus too much on excellence in sports and entertainment?

I don't believe sports itself causes mediocre performance. I think though that priorities do make a difference.

Our school co-curricular activities are generally skewed heavily towards sports. Not just the champion schools, they simply have the most resources and the best support system. I think that is unwise for our leading schools, academic and otherwise, to be doing that
        I would 1000% agree that Jamaicans place too much emphasis on sport, entertainment...and yappin'. Co-curricular activities must be more skewed to academic apps... every school needs a STEM apps program

As far as school sports go that's mostly street and mass media hype people get caught up in...but that can affect funding for more valuable activities than sports.
        However I don't see a fundamental impact of sports on academic performance (i.e. standardized tests) although it may have a marginal effect via the ~5% of students who may take sports seriously. It needs to be studied and data produced

Do we focus on sports and entertainment success because we don't have much to show in other areas of development,
        or do we not have much to show because we focus too much on excellence in sports and entertainment?
        To me both are true.... but it's waaayy beyond a "school problem".... it's a Jamaican cultural deficiency
        Last edited by Don1; August 15, 2014, 03:05 PM.

I-man, here's an article for you. During my days at CBar, 9 ones was the norm more than the exception. My class alone, which had at least 45 - 50 boys, had more than 70% of the class getting at least 7 subjects with ones and twos, this, while we were winning Champs and doing well in other sports. Calabar, JC and KC are the schools with the biggest student population which can skew those results. Though I am not saying that their academic focus cannot be improved.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ews/news4.html
          Hey .. look at the bright side .... at least you're not a Liverpool fan! - Lazie 2/24/10 Paul Marin -19 is one thing, 20 is a whole other matter. It gets even worse if they win the UCL. *groan*. 05/18/2011.MU fans naah cough, but all a unuh a vomit?-Lazie 1/11/2015

The so called school ranking is flawed even though somewhat useful because it sparks a debate.

1. Schools have different exam policies. To inflate pass numbers some force/encourage students to resit exams in 5th form they already passed in 4th... some don't. The ranking doesn't account for that ploy

2. To consign the worst GSAT performers to certain schools, starve them of resources... then be alarmed that those schools have bad results... that's plain stupid

As far as Jamaican education is concerned the policies are backward and the people hypocritical

Is Bronx science, Brooklyn Tech. et al creaming off the brightest in NYC? No the brightest ones in the city are flocking to these schools. The argument holds true for the top schools in Ja; the brightest flock to those schools with their top grades. Can a child with low scores do well at Bronx science? No because the students there are far more prepared for the curriculum than he/she.One could extend this argument to Ja's top schools.

Bronx science has a decent basketball team (as seen on News 12) they have soccer, baseball and other sports team but they are certainly not running anything close to a sports academy. In the end their focus is on academics where their graduating class is 100% college acceptance.

This can be extended to the schools below 28 on the exam list for Ja. The all boys schools in 50% and 40 % percent can be fixed.Place less emphasis on manning cup/dcup , stick with students that passed and came in from 7th grade. Those that wish to enter at nine grade MUST pass the same finals that the 8th graders sat at the desired school.

You like to blame the primary schools; how about exploring the idea that some high schools lack the quality teachers for math and science.

Your problem is that you talk too much and think that you should have a say in everything.
              Last edited by Jawge; August 19, 2014, 01:26 PM.

Whoa!

Calabar, JC and KC are the schools with the biggest student population which can skew those results.
                  How does a large student body skew results?

explain. Thanks.

"You like to blame the primary schools; how about exploring the idea that some high schools lack the quality teachers for math and science.

Your problem is that you talk too much and think that you should have a say in everything."

Mek we get some popcorn and watch how dis play out, LOL!

How Don1 star inna suh much movie? First a did with Muadib and a him same one a say Jamaicans love entertainment too much.

Congrats to the youth. I remember the DJ Reggie Stepper, the man has a brilliant son.

The boys schools have a more difficult challenge generally speaking. Keeping 2000 young men under control is no easy thing.

Demographics have drastically changed the intake of JC and KC compared to 25-30 years ago so I would expect CBar has had to deal with that as well.

Jawge;492186]Is Bronx science, Brooklyn Tech. et al creaming off the brightest in NYC? No the brightest ones in the city are flocking to these schools. The argument holds true for the top schools in Ja; the brightest flock to those schools with their top grades. Can a child with low scores do well at Bronx science? No because the students there are far more prepared for the curriculum than he/she.One could extend this argument to Ja's top schools.
                              The core argument is not about so called "top schools" ...it's about the structure and outcomes of education in Jamaica. That structure was warped in the past and is warped today... against the interests of the majority poor.
                              That's one thing your hero Joshua tried to change

Bronx science has a decent basketball team (as seen on News 12) they have soccer, baseball and other sports team but they are certainly not running anything close to a sports academy. In the end their focus is on academics where their graduating class is 100% college acceptance.

This can be extended to the schools below 28 on the exam list for Ja. The all boys schools in 50% and 40 % percent can be fixed.Place less emphasis on manning cup/dcup , stick with students that passed and came in from 7th grade. Those that wish to enter at nine grade MUST pass the same finals that the 8th graders sat at the desired school.
                              This is a ridiculous argument. The 20 boys on a football team have no material effect on overall exam passes

You like to blame the primary schools; how about exploring the idea that some high schools lack the quality teachers for math and science.
                              People in education know that the most critical failure point is at basic and primary levels. The skewed system there produces only ~15% of the GSAT cohort at a good or acceptable level. That means most secondary schools spend too much time on remediation and the performance skew is solidified

Your problem is that you talk too much and think that you should have a say in everything.
                              LOL.

I have a say in whatever I choose. If that's a problem for whoever..too bad

Instead of just yappin for donkey years about this subject ...if you want credibility try doing something to improve education
                              Last edited by Don1; August 19, 2014, 03:11 PM.

How Don1 star inna suh much movie? First a did with Muadib and a him same one a say Jamaicans love entertainment too much.
                                mi spleen!

then again... i'm multitasking while in the rum bar