Peter & Co what does this have to do with a spliff ?

• Peter & Co what does this have to do with a spliff ?

READERS COMMENT: Were the deaf and mentally challenged men instructed to beat Deane?
    Wednesday, August 13, 2014 | 11:11 AM

Print this page Email A Friend!

Mario Deane

Dear Editor,

The issue of the two men that the police have charged with the beating of Mario Deane, which ultimately caused his death, should not be lost in silence.

When a man that is deaf and a man of unsound mind are being charged with this crime, questions need to be asked.

1) Are there procedures in our jails and prisons to deal with the mentally challenged and the disabled?

2) Why would the police place a citizen charged for a spliff in a cell with a deaf man, and one that is crazy?

3) What would have caused a deaf man and a crazy man to beat Deane, did the crazy man tell the deaf man to beat him or did the deaf man tell the crazy man to beat him; or were they both instructed?

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...to-beat-Deane-

The human rights abuse is a cascade, where one leads to the other, as someone said the spliff was an opener.

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

Data needed for social change.

"Despite the fact that every year, many persons are detained in police lock-ups, and INDECOM has reported a number of deaths in police custody, little is known about who is detained, for what reasons, the circumstances in which they are held, and the treatment they experience. There are no statistics published on a regular basis," Anderson said.

http://jamaica-gleaner.com/gleaner/2...ead/lead4.html

"It therefore is useless and pointless, unless it is for share malice and victimisation to arrest and charge a 92-year-old man for such a simple offence. There is nothing morally wrong with this man smoking a spliff; the only thing wrong is that it is still on the law books," said Chevannes.

I don't understand your question... I refuse to speculate what people are getting at with open-ended questions such as your thread opener.

What I will say is that the second post that states the number of deaths in police custody is what we need to focus on. The spliff/ misdeameanour like stolen mango/ or even more serious crimes... regardless, are simply the "vehicle" that brings the citizen into the "clutches" of the police. Having said that, I in NO WAY MEAN to detract from the fact that throwing people in jail for a spliff is ridiculous, or that a man COULD BE BEATEN for weed possession. My take on THIS PARTICULAR issue is based on the news report posted here. Deane was not beaten when he was picked up nor at any time in between his ALMOST RELEASE. I won't rehash my point.

What is interesting and pointed is the number of deaths that have occurred while detainees have been in police custody. It's about time they investigate and put a stop to THAT PARTICULAR foolishness, regardless of the reason why a person ends up in the lockup!

Thank God for Carolyn Gomes!

As you pointed out the time of beating is irrelevant given the infraction ,spiff arrest it could have happened at ,during,after and release, the opener - instigating fact was/ is the criminalization of the individual for weed.Yes it could have been another instigator but the subject opener was weed.

Yes as I pointed out to Mo awhile ago, and I am glad you broached on it the numbers of deaths and abuse are alarming and given that these weed cases clog up our systems, only data can speak of the magnitude of human rights abuses as it pertains to the criminalization of the weed and of course other criminal instigators under Jamaican law e.g homosexuality.

I had to draw fi dat one..boss mi know Yuh nuh Inna di murda ting.Juss a show Yuh di link.
          Last edited by Sir X; August 14, 2014, 01:39 AM.

Umnuh a work pan Data yet?