If I were a betting man, I would say this shot is facing west, just after passing through tolls headed towards Portmore mall. I can't see it being anywhere else but there. I think you are looking at Juan De Bolas mountain peak to the left and to the right the range is the extension of the hills running parallel to the Spain town road from behind Duhaney park headed west towards Spain and beyond.
I agree with you on the direction we're looking, except your placement of Juan de Bolas is off , that peak would be even farther west and then to the north of that mountain on the right. There is no mountain to the left in that picture, unless my eyes are deceiving me.
Facing NW on the Portmore Toll Road, just after going under the overpass for traffic from Port Henderson.. picture was probably taken from on top of the overpass...
If you took Don1 Spatial Awareness and Photographic Analysis 101 class yuh can just make out the Cement factory and Beverly Hills..
Well, when I said facing west I was being more general, as the discussion was more on whether it was east facing or west facing, in truth it is facing northwest and even though that looks like a little hill from there that is actually many miles away, in looking at the picture again you are right, I think that little hill is way more north than I thought and not so far west at all and may actually 'be that first hill by the Spanish town road after passing Cremo, behind 'Ye olde Ferry Inn' really tough to tell.
Last edited by Stonigut; August 10, 2014, 12:26 AM.
I truly appreciate the efforts of everyone in this thread to accurately place this photograph!
Like I said above, I was genuinely confused, which is why I placed this appeal on the message board. It is a truly beautiful and impressive piece of highway, and brings to mind those found in so-called First World countries!
As far as road infrastructure is concerned, we are progressing albeit at a snail’s pace. But the bottom line is that people who have not been to Jamaica in, say, a decade or two, would be absolutely shocked! And I mean positively shocked at certain welcome infrastructural developments.
Here you go Historian.. the latest location of Beverly Hills...
Thanks very much, Muadib!
I just saw this after making my previous post. This photo you posted was obviously taken before that project was finished, but the resemblance to the photo I posted is certainly uncanny.
This definitely resembles the one in my thread-starter (three lanes and all). My problem is that I am not very familiar with the country of my birth (and this is sad)!
Thanks a million for the time and effort spent in researching this!