• Anti-HIV activity found in lignum vitae, say scientists

Anti-HIV activity found in lignum vitae, say scientists
    Friday, August 08, 2014

A file photo of a lignum vitae tree.

JAMAICAN scientist Dr Henry Lowe and his team of researchers say they have discovered potent bio-activity against the deadly HIV in Lignum Vitae, Jamaica's national flower.

The discovery, Dr Lowe said, was made last year, but because of its significance, the tests were repeated several times to ensure data accuracy.

"Since then, the findings were published in the April 2014 issue of the prestigious European Journal of Medicinal Plants under the title: 'Anti HIV-1 Activity of the Extracts of Guaiacum officinale L (Zygophyllaceae)'.

Following on that, a significant amount of additional data has been developed, Lowe said.

http://www.jamaicaobserver.com/news/...tists_17319162

HL, Dr. Lowe nuh ha nutten fi do?

Didn't I read where he was isolating an active from a saprophyte as an anti-cancer treatment? That plant that lives on light poles and wires.

Believe me, I understand your question.

Got to hand it to Henry though, he does not lack initiative.

All this discovery work may not get anywhere. Pre-cinical and clinical failure rates are extremely high. All this newspaper reporting is waaay too early and a get people excited for likely nothing. PR.

I think Henry is looking at the Nutraceutical market Willi.

I don't think there are any companies in Jamaica who have the funds to take a drug through clinical studies to market.

Plus as you correctly stated, the preclinical and clinical failure rates are extremely high.